Flow Internet Thread

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby S_2NR » March 6th, 2022, 10:28 pm

You guys need to manually change your dns in the router.
You can start with google dns: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Reliable and good pings with Trinidad

Postby The_Honourable » March 7th, 2022, 4:41 pm

Thanks! i'll see if i can change my DNS.

joshuarshah wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Anybody getting DNS errors after 6-7pm for the past few nights?

Yeah it's been happening since last year. Around 5-10 pm websites take forever to load and the browser spits out a dns error for every page I try to load. Apps like reddit take forever to load as well.

Bro! i thought it was the white modem giving trouble. It was switched to the new black arris brand. Better than the white but DNS issues persisted. Is it part of their speed throttling or something?

Zim

Postby Zim » March 7th, 2022, 9:13 pm

No net here since after 6pm. Charlieville East

Zim

Postby Zim » March 7th, 2022, 9:14 pm

S_2NR wrote:You guys need to manually change your dns in the router.

How?

Postby S_2NR » March 7th, 2022, 10:01 pm

Zim wrote:

How?

U using flow's router or your own?

Zim

Postby Zim » March 7th, 2022, 10:05 pm

Flow router

Postby S_2NR » March 7th, 2022, 10:15 pm

Zim wrote:Flow router

I dont use their router but I just checked and you can do it this way..

Log into modem - 192.168.100.1 (I think this ip different if the flow modem not in modem mode)
Wireless tab
user:admin
password: password

LAN Setup tab
DNS Override - check enable box
Primary - 8.8.8.8
Secondary - 8.8.4.4

Click apply at the bottom.
Let it do its thing and power cycle.

Zim

Postby Zim » March 13th, 2022, 2:11 am

Thank u, kind sir

Postby Dave » March 13th, 2022, 11:40 am

I got this when making the changes
408374238.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » March 13th, 2022, 12:20 pm

do it from your desktop/laptop instead.

Postby The_Honourable » March 13th, 2022, 12:34 pm

I can conform that S_2NR's dns solution is working so far... thanks buddy.

You can also try this to log in to the newer arris modems:

http://192.168.0.1/

Username: admin
Password: (the preshared key/wifi password)

Postby Dave » March 13th, 2022, 1:32 pm

Thanks Tom and Honour. Will try those and report back.

bgh

Postby bgh » March 13th, 2022, 9:30 pm

Made the DNS change about a week now and service from my phone seems to be better.
It was easy from the linksys app...
Screenshot_20220313-212558_Linksys.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2022, 9:38 pm

Decide to change the settings tonight. Reached this page but it isn't accepting the password word password nor the key/password that the modem came with. I never changed it to a unique one so it's the password under the box.

Edit ...now checked under the box and there's an all digit 8 character password for the modem. Also not working though.
IMG_20220314_213646.jpg

Postby Dave » March 14th, 2022, 9:56 pm

Got through guys. Thanks.
So far seems much better.

Postby The_Honourable » March 14th, 2022, 9:58 pm

^^^Well done 8-)

Dizzy28 wrote:Decide to change the settings tonight. Reached this page but it isn't accepting the password word password nor the key/password that the modem came with. I never changed it to a unique one so it's the password under the box. IMG_20220314_213646.jpg

On Windows 10:

Right click on wireless/lan icon on the taskbar, click "Open network & Internet settings", click "Network and Sharing Center (a window opens), click the name of the internet connection you are on, another window pops up, click "wireless properties", choose the "Security" tab to see your password.

If this matches with the password under the box, then you have to do a factory/hard reset.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2022, 8:15 am

^ Thanks.

I'll try back later. Did what you did but at the last step I couldn't go past as my laptop is a work one and I do not have admin privileges which needs to be entered to see the password.

I was feeling lazy to go get our personal laptop which is what my son uses for school. Same windows 10 so I assume steps would be the same.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2022, 1:07 pm

try
admin/admin
or
admin/password

Postby Rovin » March 18th, 2022, 11:30 am

anybody else net was down just after 12 last night in chaguanas area or was it jes mine alone ?

yes meh bill up to date , i was awake up to 2am & it didnt come back , when i wake up this morning it back on like normal ... strange rare occurrence since their service usually very reliable

Postby S_2NR » March 18th, 2022, 11:40 am

Happens sometimes to me too.
I assume it's maintenance because it happens around midnight every time and most times lasts less than an hr. I never beat up because it hardly happens and is normally very reliable.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 18th, 2022, 11:59 am

I realize they push updates around midnight. Usually comes back up in a couple mins.
Sometimes I gotta power cycle the box manually.

Postby gastly369 » March 18th, 2022, 12:13 pm

See my arris modem for over a year now does have this error few times a day in the event log
Touchstone SW Upgrade Failed Before Download Attempt: Provisioned upgrade, no match

Note this is their first old black arris modem non WiFi works flawless and getting my speeds as normal..

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 18th, 2022, 1:38 pm

gastly369 wrote:See my arris modem for over a year now does have this error few times a day in the event log
Touchstone SW Upgrade Failed Before Download Attempt: Provisioned upgrade, no match

Note this is their first old black arris modem non WiFi works flawless and getting my speeds as normal..

Call them and get the new one.
They were surprised that I still had my old black arris pumping before I requested a new one.

Start with calling in a complaint that your internet drops a few times per day and tell them you have an old modem. They'll send a tech with a new one.

Postby gastly369 » March 18th, 2022, 1:43 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
gastly369 wrote:See my arris modem for over a year now does have this error few times a day in the event log

They were surprised that I still had my old black arris pumping before I requested a new one.

Start with calling in a complaint that your internet drops a few times per day and tell them you have an old modem. They'll send a tech with a new one.
Thing is it working perfect and I seen many complaints with the new modem/router....reboot time is like 45 seconds on old unit and I see new ones is like what nearly 5 mins?

Any reason to get new modem?

Postby S_2NR » March 18th, 2022, 1:54 pm

If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 18th, 2022, 2:37 pm

gastly369 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Thing is it working perfect and I seen many complaints with the new modem/router....reboot time is like 45 seconds on old unit and I see new ones is like what nearly 5 mins?

Any reason to get new modem?

For me it was the other way around. Black box took 3-5 minutes to boot. Sometimes it would hang and refuse to get an IP.

Postby Rovin » March 18th, 2022, 5:58 pm

about 2yrs ago i changed from blackbox to white box for d main reason of wifi & d extra ports for cctv system, when i called them they sounded surprised that i was still had of d ancient boxes , they promptly came next morning changed it at no additional cost - i was skeptical they wud come so fast & to my shock d technician really come early & changed it in under half hr for d system to pick it up

honestly this is d 1st time any major service cutoff in 2yrs so i not complaining just found it strange ... seems like their service regularly drop & reconnect instantly but u really dont notice it unless u happen to refresh a page at d exact moment in time, it doesnt affect ur streaming

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2022, 7:06 pm

Rovin wrote:anybody else net was down just after 12 last night in chaguanas area or was it jes mine alone ?

yes meh bill up to date , i was awake up to 2am & it didnt come back , when i wake up this morning it back on like normal ... strange rare occurrence since their service usually very reliable

There was a major internet and cable outage from about 11:45 p.m. last night to well after 8:00 a.m. this morning, in some areas.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 18th, 2022, 7:42 pm

Rovin wrote:about 2yrs ago i changed from blackbox to white box for d main reason of wifi & d extra ports for cctv system, when i called them they sounded surprised that i was still had of d ancient boxes , they promptly came next morning changed it at no additional cost - i was skeptical they wud come so fast & to my shock d technician really come early & changed it in under half hr for d system to pick it up

honestly this is d 1st time any major service cutoff in 2yrs so i not complaining just found it strange ... seems like their service regularly drop & reconnect instantly but u really dont notice it unless u happen to refresh a page at d exact moment in time, it doesnt affect ur streaming

You find with the white box it working better? like less cutting on and off?

I still have the black box from like 15 years ago and I find since the blackout it cutting on and off many times during the day.

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2022, 8:13 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
Rovin wrote:about 2yrs ago i changed from blackbox to white box for d main reason of wifi & d extra ports for cctv system, when i called them they sounded surprised that i was still had of d ancient boxes , they promptly came next morning changed it at no additional cost - i was skeptical they wud come so fast & to my shock d technician really come early & changed it in under half hr for d system to pick it up

You find with the white box it working better? like less cutting on and off?

I still have the black box from like 15 years ago and I find since the blackout it cutting on and off many times during the day.

Both of them- same problem. FLOW has major problems with their internet network. Lousy internet service and real sticking with the white box.