Flow Internet Thread

dartzreunion

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby dartzreunion » March 4th, 2020, 12:31 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Yup I observed that a while now. Too bad Digicel offers like 0 competition and if you on Digicel you could be shooting yourself in the foot because 3 of my friends have Flow for gaming so Digicel to Flow is a complete NO NO even Digicel to AMplia us utter failure.

Digicel is the only ISP with this problem the packet of data goes to Miami and back to Trinidad making p2p gaming unplayable between friends who play fighting games etc

All the other ISPs getting 10ms between eachother locally, Digicel is the only one getting all kinda 120ms and sh!t because there is no local routing.

has your issues been resolved? I'm getting my full speeds now.

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 12:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Yup I observed that a while now. Too bad Digicel offers like 0 competition and if you on Digicel you could be shooting yourself in the foot because 3 of my friends have Flow for gaming so Digicel to Flow is a complete NO NO even Digicel to AMplia us utter failure.

Digicel is the only ISP with this problem the packet of data goes to Miami and back to Trinidad making p2p gaming unplayable between friends who play fighting games etc

All the other ISPs getting 10ms between eachother locally, Digicel is the only one getting all kinda 120ms and sh!t because there is no local routing.

Would a ipv4 static address solve the issue? From what I read earlier its ipv6 that doesn't have the local routes, while ipv4 has.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 4th, 2020, 8:10 pm

^^ Just a heads up my issue has NOT been resolved and likely never will, this is just part of their plan to force everybody to pay $300 a month for internet.

How do I setup a ipv4 static address? are you saying the person with Digicel has to setup a static ipv4 address to solve this issue?

I have 2 friends on Flow so while Flow is ideal for me right now, I am forced to switch to Digicel due to this unresolved very simple issue, but if I do I would like to get local routing between me and my flow gamers if I go digicel

ruskie

Postby ruskie » March 5th, 2020, 1:08 am

screwbash wrote:anyone internet giving trouble ? not getting the full speed and the dam ting only buffering video. streaming is only sticking. i trying on a 150mb flow link and a 75mb digicel link. is TATT starting to fuq with we IP tv and shiet now ?
I had a similar issue. After a few calls to tech support, I finally got a tech with a clue. They had not properly initiated the system. After it was done, I got a 5G signal from rheir router box that gave 75 mbps. I used to get about 30, even though I wS paying for 100. But after the upgrade to 150, it immediately dropped to 3mbps. Took about a month of frustration. They changed my phone number too, which really sucks.

Eventually I called to Downgrade both Internet and TV and phone as was so fed up, and was going to switch. Got a massive discount to not switch. So I now pay about 380, down from 553 per month. And no contract.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 5th, 2020, 10:25 pm

Right now is all kinda 500-700ms ping on Massy so consider yourself lucky.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 12th, 2020, 2:12 pm

Anybody got the gamers package issue mentioned above sorted out?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 12th, 2020, 7:53 pm

yeah they finally got it sorted out, but here is the funny thing Flow doesn't have anything to do with the gamers package, this is what Flow says. They say they have absolutely nothing to do with gamers package they do not set prices, adjust packages, installation or modem supply.

GATT apparently has full control of this, a bit weird but that is what the woman told me.

As for their facebook page the person on there who responds also has no control over anything with Flow, they just respond to you and try to get an agent to contact you, to be fair they do try their best to pass on the info.

Also Flow's rules have changed, the 24/7 tech support can't actually do anything anymore this is what I was told when I set my alarm to wake up 2 AM to get through (Had to do this after wasting $100 in bmobile phone cards trying to contact them during the day and still didn't get through) they cannot help with anything related to your flow account or issues you may be having they said you have to call back during the day Monday to Friday 8 - 4

So please take note of this.

I luckily got my package switched back to 150mbps, I was told this was their fault cause they mixed up my account number with someone else with a similar number unfortunately I have to pay the $300 for the 4 days of 250mbps package I received. I have chalked it up as a bad luck situation that while innocent I must be thankful I am not permanently on a useless 250mbps package for $300 a month for the rest of my life because it was turning out to be exactly that. So I will have to allow myself to be robbed $50 but the good news is the issue is sorted out which is all I care about in the end.

Postby redmanjp » March 12th, 2020, 8:48 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^^ Just a heads up my issue has NOT been resolved and likely never will, this is just part of their plan to force everybody to pay $300 a month for internet.

How do I setup a ipv4 static address? are you saying the person with Digicel has to setup a static ipv4 address to solve this issue?

I have 2 friends on Flow so while Flow is ideal for me right now, I am forced to switch to Digicel due to this unresolved very simple issue, but if I do I would like to get local routing between me and my flow gamers if I go digicel

if they offer static ipv4 addresses u can apply for one but will probably cost u just like other ISPs, or just ask if u can get a normal dynamic ipv4 address for free

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 14th, 2020, 9:01 am

hi every have a question on latency apparently when i playing fifa my latency is like 86ms, and apparently that not acceptable any way to lower it

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2020, 9:09 am

you have to buy a ping wing and hook it up before your router.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 9:12 am

86ms to where? USA? if so that is a very good latency pretty much world class.

If it is 86ms to Trinidad on p2p it is because you are playing against a sh!t ISP like Digicel where the data packets has to go Miami and back to Trinidad, if doing that then stop playing with people who use Digicel internet. Digicel is an anti gamer ISP in this country stop using them

If however you get 86ms to USA or whever the hell else in the world and your FIFA game is unplayable then stop using WIFI or stop playing people who use WIFI.

If all that fails, stop playing games with sh!tty netcode like the one you are playing

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2020, 9:16 am

Anybody else's Flow down?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 9:27 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Anybody else's Flow down?

working pretty perfect here in Piarco

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2020, 10:04 am

Just came back up. Cable and internet was down since 8am. Also coincided with several dips in power

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 10:09 am

San Juan good all morning.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 14th, 2020, 10:34 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:86ms to where? USA? if so that is a very good latency pretty much world class.

If it is 86ms to Trinidad on p2p it is because you are playing against a sh!t ISP like Digicel where the data packets has to go Miami and back to Trinidad, if doing that then stop playing with people who use Digicel internet. Digicel is an anti gamer ISP in this country stop using them

If however you get 86ms to USA or whever the hell else in the world and your FIFA game is unplayable then stop using WIFI or stop playing people who use WIFI.

If all that fails, stop playing games with sh!tty netcode like the one you are playing

86ms is wheni connect to the game server

am playing against other internet provide cause it online i mostly play

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 14th, 2020, 10:38 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:86ms to where? USA? if so that is a very good latency pretty much world class.

ok i always assume the delay was the internet fault so

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 14th, 2020, 10:42 am

Elon Musk: Starlink latency will be good enough for competitive gaming

https://arstechnica.com/information-tec ... to-telcos/

"Latency of less than 20ms would make Starlink comparable to wired broadband service. When SpaceX first began talking about its satellite plans in late 2016, it said latency would be 25ms to 35ms. But Musk has been predicting sub-20ms latency since at least May 2019, with the potential for sub-10ms latency sometime in the future"

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 11:57 am

^ Latency of starlink will be light years ahead of current ISP and there is a reason for that. Sure I mean if you live in the US it might just be comparable to broadband land line sure.

But when you live in a 3rd world country like Trinidad or Brazil all of Central and South America and Caribbean you are NO Longer talking about broadband land line and I will explain why. Yes technically it is broad band landline BUT it operates more like dial up latency because of p!ss poor peering agreements between ISP around this hemisphere, horrid international routing, incompatibility of ipv4 and other isp like digicel using ipv6 causing Amplia or Flow to have to go all the way to miami and back to Trinidad when playing against Digicel because the morons couldn't care less making gaming in this small island WORSE than 110ms.

So where am I going with this rant? it is simple StarLink as Elon Musk has stated will only require a couple hops to get data from the Caribbean to USA. Maybe just 1 hop from here to Brazil a country with a massive growing gaming population.

What does this mean? we will be playing at the speed of light if we play with starlink to starlink connection this means we could potentially be playing with 20ms latency from here to America as opposed to the current 85ms and 10ms latency from here to Brazil as opposed to the current 200ms.

The more people abandon the current ISP that exist in the world and switch over to Starlink the better it will be for every gamer out there as Elon Musk is a PC Gamer and a member of the PC Master Race sub reddit, unlike traditional ISP he is building starlink with gaming as a main focus.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 14th, 2020, 1:01 pm

ok thanks mate that clears a up a lot for me

brickman

Postby brickman » March 17th, 2020, 2:43 pm

Just doing some random speedtests today & getting 150-170 mbps on all of a sudden on my 100mbps account,like flow up to something,maybe new packages being added/tested?

Last edited by brickman on March 17th, 2020, 5:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » March 17th, 2020, 2:47 pm

brickman wrote:Just doing some random speedtests today & getting 150-170 mbps on all of a sudden on my 100mbps account,like flow up to something...

Hi
You have a Flame Bundle?
I still getting 110 Mbps on a Flame

brickman

Postby brickman » March 17th, 2020, 2:57 pm

Just internet only.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » March 17th, 2020, 3:00 pm

brickman wrote:Just internet only.
K. Thanks
I'm on Flame 100 Mbps and still getting 110 Mbps lol

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 17th, 2020, 7:06 pm

brickman wrote:Just doing some random speedtests today & getting 150-170 mbps on all of a sudden on my 100mbps account,like flow up to something,maybe new packages being added/tested?

yea got the same on saturday

brickman

Postby brickman » March 19th, 2020, 2:45 am

Gone up to this now,got no clue :wtf: is going on,anyone else notice a increase in speed?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 19th, 2020, 6:27 am

no speed upgrade here , whats your location ?

brickman

Postby brickman » March 19th, 2020, 1:18 pm

Pos.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 19th, 2020, 1:19 pm

Like ulyuh tief all the internets?? Flow down in Freeport area for like an hour now

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » March 20th, 2020, 8:02 am

take care allyuh gettin a nex forced upgrade to *steamline* services followed by a price increase in coming months, as per flow modus operandi