Flow Internet Thread

jsm1985

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby jsm1985 » June 20th, 2021, 10:56 pm

Anyone seeing a slight bump in their upload speeds? Getting 20Mb Upload, where it used to be 15Mb up until a few days ago.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 21st, 2021, 5:54 pm

jsm1985 wrote:Anyone seeing a slight bump in their upload speeds? Getting 20Mb Upload, where it used to be 15Mb up until a few days ago.

nope

Postby gastly369 » June 21st, 2021, 5:57 pm

Still on the old 75meg package and I'm fine with it

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » June 21st, 2021, 6:18 pm

Had 150 Mb now getting 200 Mb. But upload was always around 18 Mb . Try restarting the modem!

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » June 21st, 2021, 6:24 pm

gastly369 wrote:Still on the old 75meg package and I'm fine with it

You lucky , the flow representative said I should try the new package for a month to see if I liked it and I could revert after , when I called to revert because there was no difference , they said that package no longer exists . Flow the MC WORST! I will forever be salty about that , if they call and hit you the same shot like me say no thanks. This was the 50mpbs at $245 or so .

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 22nd, 2021, 9:00 pm

KM_2NR wrote:

You lucky , the flow representative said I should try the new package for a month to see if I liked it and I could revert after , when I called to revert because there was no difference , they said that package no longer exists . Flow the MC WORST! I will forever be salty about that , if they call and hit you the same shot like me say no thanks. This was the 50mpbs at $245 or so .

damn that a beyotch move

Postby gastly369 » June 23rd, 2021, 9:19 am

Yeh they called and offered..while back I said nope I good with the 75 lol
KM_2NR wrote:

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 23rd, 2021, 3:42 pm

250mb bumped up to 300mb.

Postby redmanjp » June 23rd, 2021, 3:47 pm

lchan485 wrote:Had 150 Mb now getting 200 Mb. But upload was always around 18 Mb . Try restarting the modem!

That's on wifi or lan cable?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 26th, 2021, 8:02 am

So anyone here running some additional networking items besides the regular flow router/modem combo?

i used to use that in the beginning, barely getting 30mb download speed, horrible and the range was even worst. Decided to buy a router to work as an access point for my other section of the house, used to get around 50mb download thru this. gaming was horrible af. this was a wireless connection.

decided to run an ethernet cable from my flow unit straight to my pc, 100ft, coiled the excess. bumped from the 50mb with a poor ping to 160-190mb. Night and day difference, online gaming was exceptional, u cant believe the experience.

now for the wifi, used that same 100ft cable now and connected to a gigabit switch, connected a hardwire connection to the wifi access point, topping out at 100mb 2.4, 140mb 5ghz. but this access point is a wizz 250$ junk unit ac1200, worked good for the 2plus years im using it, but now im growing into a better system.

so if i had to do it again, disable everything on the flow unit, connect to a premium router via hardline and yuh bad. i making do with what hardware i have.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » June 26th, 2021, 9:17 am

redmanjp wrote:
lchan485 wrote:Had 150 Mb now getting 200 Mb. But upload was always around 18 Mb . Try restarting the modem!

That's on wifi or lan cable?
Lan cable. 5g wifi is 160mb

Postby gastly369 » June 26th, 2021, 9:23 am

Yeppp have the old non WiFi modem with a good dual band WiFi router.. Does get the max speed over that good and also have a hotspot router for the business when ppl visit etc but that limited to 20meg and 24hr access per connection
Ted_v2 wrote:So anyone here running some additional networking items besides the regular flow router/modem combo?

i used to use that in the beginning, barely getting 30mb download speed, horrible and the range was even worst. Decided to buy a router to work as an access point for my other section of the house, used to get around 50mb download thru this. gaming was horrible af. this was a wireless connection.

decided to run an ethernet cable from my flow unit straight to my pc, 100ft, coiled the excess. bumped from the 50mb with a poor ping to 160-190mb. Night and day difference, online gaming was exceptional, u cant believe the experience.

now for the wifi, used that same 100ft cable now and connected to a gigabit switch, connected a hardwire connection to the wifi access point, topping out at 100mb 2.4, 140mb 5ghz. but this access point is a wizz 250$ junk unit ac1200, worked good for the 2plus years im using it, but now im growing into a better system.

so if i had to do it again, disable everything on the flow unit, connect to a premium router via hardline and yuh bad. i making do with what hardware i have.

Postby The_Honourable » June 26th, 2021, 9:45 am

I rarely had trouble with the old school arris modems where you used your own router. The built in router/wifi on these new modems is crap.

felix

Postby felix » June 26th, 2021, 10:07 am

i have the 200 mb package and get full speed or sometimes more using the 5 ghz band using a linksys ac 1200 router and flow modem set to modem mode

felix

Postby felix » June 26th, 2021, 10:13 am

5ghz wifi
Capture.PNG

death365

Postby death365 » June 26th, 2021, 11:27 am

WiFi 6 is vastly superior to 5 ... I bought a tp link wifi 6 and there are no dead or slow spots in or around my my house .... even on the far Eastern side , which is furtherest front the router.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 26th, 2021, 4:53 pm

yeah wifi 6 is the flick. https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-4-Stream ... JWRWJ?th=1
thats the best bang for the buck right now, i dont need it atm but i would purchase something soon, i need to host a drive on my network without machines being on.

ruskie

Postby ruskie » June 30th, 2021, 6:56 am

Had a dead spot in an upstairs room where I have a fire stick in a dumb TV. Wireless was iffy from the downstairs flow modem in all the upstairs area, and I have the np300 wireless extension in the staircase that worked OK, most times, but really bad in that firestick room. There was, however, also a coax outlet. Somehow, Flow left a MoCA bridge in my home. I did not even know what it was until I googled it. Found a couple moca recievers/wireless extender units online in a sale, now have wired or wireless Internet upstairs in two bedrooms. The units even allowed me to program them with the same ssid and password so that there is a seamless transition from downstairs to upstairs. So cool.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 14th, 2021, 11:04 am

Outage in Freeport area? Can anyone else confirm?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 14th, 2021, 11:07 am

Waterloo normal atm.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 14th, 2021, 11:26 am

Arima ok

Postby hover11 » July 14th, 2021, 11:28 am

Late to this thread but I recently got the new modem from flow and I see they included a moca don't have a clue what that is but it just there with the router....Is this moca required....only one person uses internet which is me

Postby paid_influencer » July 14th, 2021, 11:43 am

hover11 wrote:Late to this thread but I recently got the new modem from flow and I see they included a moca don't have a clue what that is but it just there with the router....Is this moca required....only one person uses internet which is me

moca is for providing a data connection over the coax wiring. The main use is getting data to Flow's cableTV boxes for things like replay TV, cloud recordings, TV guide, video on demand, etc.

If you find your cable box not showing the TV Guide etc, rebooting the modem and then rebooting the cable box usually solves it.

Postby hover11 » July 14th, 2021, 11:57 am

Oh thanks but I don't watch cable can I just unplug it and my router will work?
paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:Late to this thread but I recently got the new modem from flow and I see they included a moca don't have a clue what that is but it just there with the router....Is this moca required....only one person uses internet which is me

moca is for providing a data connection over the coax wiring. The main use is getting data to Flow's cableTV boxes for things like replay TV, cloud recordings, TV guide, video on demand, etc.

If you find your cable box not showing the TV Guide etc, rebooting the modem and then rebooting the cable box usually solves it.

Postby redmanjp » July 14th, 2021, 12:01 pm

death365 wrote:WiFi 6 is vastly superior to 5 ... I bought a tp link wifi 6 and there are no dead or slow spots in or around my my house .... even on the far Eastern side , which is furtherest front the router.

the real question is do u have to also have a wifi 6 client device to pick it up in those far areas? or will wifi 5 phones /laptops also benefit?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 14th, 2021, 12:17 pm

Flow's service has gotten pretty spotty. Service drops albeit for a few minutes but more frequently now and at random times. Last night at around 12 service fell. I switched off the modem/router till this morning and just switched on the data on my phone (my mobile billing cycle ends on Friday anyhows and with WFH I basically only use call minutes).

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 14th, 2021, 2:49 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Flow's service has gotten pretty spotty. Service drops albeit for a few minutes but more frequently now and at random times. Last night at around 12 service fell. I switched off the modem/router till this morning and just switched on the data on my phone (my mobile billing cycle ends on Friday anyhows and with WFH I basically only use call minutes).

I get random drops from time to time as well.
most of the time it auto resolves, but sometimes I just reboot the modem

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » July 14th, 2021, 2:55 pm

Flow is giving free HBO Max access from today!! Really good benefit! Signed up and works perfectly.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 14th, 2021, 4:09 pm

jsm1985 wrote:Flow is giving free HBO Max access from today!! Really good benefit! Signed up and works perfectly.

really? where you saw that

Postby bluefete » July 14th, 2021, 4:18 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
jsm1985 wrote:Flow is giving free HBO Max access from today!! Really good benefit! Signed up and works perfectly.

really? where you saw that

Sent by e-mail to their customers.