USB port on iBook : help

wevolutions

USB port on iBook : help

Postby wevolutions » February 7th, 2011, 5:51 pm

My USB ports on my iBook G4 stopped loading my flash drives, my camera and any other USB device I plug in. Strange though, my mouse works on both ports. Any suggestions on how to get my devices to load?

Re: USB port on iBook : help

Postby K74T » February 7th, 2011, 5:56 pm

Update Drivers?

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » February 7th, 2011, 6:23 pm

Which drivers to update? All the USB devices that I tried are the ones that were working previously so it is not like I tried any new devices.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » February 7th, 2011, 7:49 pm

That's pretty odd...check with someone like Strauss - he may be able to help you

Postby gastly369 » February 7th, 2011, 9:30 pm

"iduno"

Postby cinco » February 8th, 2011, 6:43 am

pee on it

Postby Sky » February 8th, 2011, 9:43 am

plbkac

Postby cinco » February 8th, 2011, 9:47 am

Sky wrote:plbkac

it is PEBKAC n00b

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » February 8th, 2011, 9:57 am

the usb devices show up under disk utility and system profiler but even when i try to mount it from disk utility nothing happens

Postby Sky » February 8th, 2011, 10:22 am

cinco wrote:

it is PEBKAC n00b

I meant 'problem lies' n00bet

Postby cinco » February 8th, 2011, 10:32 am

Sky wrote:
cinco wrote:

it is PEBKAC n00b

but you cant pronounce plbkac
n00bturd

Postby Sky » February 8th, 2011, 1:58 pm

cinco wrote:
Sky wrote:
cinco wrote:

it is PEBKAC n00b

n00bturd

Tell that to the arabs and jews
n00bnugget

Postby cinco » February 8th, 2011, 2:14 pm

Sky wrote:
cinco wrote:
Sky wrote:
cinco wrote:

it is PEBKAC n00b

n00bturd

Tell that to the arabs and jews
n00bnugget

that's racist n00bnards

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 8th, 2011, 2:26 pm

Update your software and also repair disk permissions in Disk Utilities or by downloading and running Onyx.

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » February 9th, 2011, 9:41 pm

ok i upgraded my software and so far everything is back to normal. thanks for all the help.

TK!

Postby TK! » February 10th, 2011, 1:49 am

wow.. ah ibook G4 still wuking?

dats like 10yrs old !!

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » February 10th, 2011, 6:27 am

yes, proud to say it still going strong. i bought this in 2002. changed the hard drive once and the battery once.

TK!

Postby TK! » February 10th, 2011, 1:48 pm

wow.. try dat with a ten yr old dell nah

Postby cinco » February 10th, 2011, 3:15 pm

TK! wrote:wow.. try dat with a ten yr old dell nah

looking at one right now
never changed anything on it
original battery still gives over 2hrs use

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 10th, 2011, 4:19 pm

You should still verify and repair disk permissions through disk utility to ensure smooth and best running of your mac.

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » February 11th, 2011, 8:49 am

wevolutions wrote:yes, proud to say it still going strong. i bought this in 2002. changed the hard drive once and the battery once.

wait nah which os yuh runnin? 10.4 or 10.5? but yea disk utilities and repair disk permissions is the fix for the common mac :P i have seen it fix some weird stuff.

Aside from that. the dell i had bought for like 2100 back in 2002 or 2003 i think is still running. i did an hd update maxed out the memorys and put on xp pro with kaspersky internet security. and it still running good. i aint bodder with a battery becuz it too big to go portable :P

Postby cinco » February 11th, 2011, 9:01 am

i have a dell dimension desktop
i turned on this year after 2 years of sitting inactive
didnt even have xp sp1 installed
and it works perfectly
im sure the apple battery and harddrive costs as much as a new dell laptop

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » February 11th, 2011, 10:32 am

i was running 10.4 but now switched to 10.5 since i had to reinstall anyway.