Why Japan is TRULY a DEVELOPED Nation

Postby bluefete » March 24th, 2011, 6:52 am

So, Uncle Colm or Uncle Jack, what about the collapsing San Fernando Bye-Pass Road?? How many years will it take to fix?? Or are we going to wait for it to totally collapse, perhaps taking some unfortunate bus or car with it?

The Japanese road repaired SIX days after it was destroyed by quake

By Mail Foreign Service
Last updated at 2:01 AM on 24th March 2011

The picture of gaping chasms in a Japanese highway demonstrated the power of the March 11 earthquake.

Now the astonishing speed of reconstruction is being used to highlight the nation’s ability to get back on its feet.

Work began on March 17 and six days later the cratered section of the Great Kanto Highway in Naka was as good as new. It was ready to re-open to traffic last night.

Many workers returned to their jobs the day after the quake and subsequent tsunami and some businesses in the worst-hit regions have already reopened.

The Japanese recovery has prompted some investors, including American Warren Buffett, one of the world’s richest men, to declare that the disaster which has left 23,000 dead or missing represents a ‘buying opportunity’ in the money markets.

Meanwhile, mothers in Tokyo were warned yesterday not to give tap water to their babies.

Cars with loudspeakers toured the streets of the capital after levels of radiation from the damaged nuclear plant at Fukushima, nearly 150 miles away, reached more than twice the safety level for children aged a year or less.

Supermarkets were quickly emptied of bottled water in many parts of the city. Parents were also told to ensure that milk was not from cows in the Fukushima district.

Tokyo residents said they had growing concerns about radiation.

‘If they’re saying it’s harmful for children because their bodies are smaller and dangerous iodine can accumulate in their thyroid glands, we can understand that,’ said 29-year-old department store worker Yasuke Harade.

‘But can we really believe it when they say that it’s OK for adults to drink the water? Can we cook our rice in tap water, can we drink tea, coffee? They’re telling us we can, but what is the truth?’

To add to the fears, two strong earthquakes shook the devastated east coast yesterday, and black smoke billowed once again from the crippled plant. The ‘Fukushima Fifty’, the team of courageous employees working inside the plant, and firemen spraying water on the complex were ordered to evacuate immediately.

It was not known when efforts to restore the plant’s cooling mechanism would be restarted.

The scare followed reports that small amounts of radiation had travelled as far as Iceland.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z3jLu5uaWu

Re: Why Japan is TRULY a DEVELOPED Nation

Postby turbosingh » March 24th, 2011, 6:58 am

Quick an very smooth unlike Trinidad long an rough :?

neoise

Postby neoise » March 24th, 2011, 7:08 am

Dang :shock:

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » March 24th, 2011, 7:24 am

very nice....but to answer the OP's question, the road my sando tech is going to begin to be reparied this april....and the new (alternative) is gonna be opened

Postby shogun » March 24th, 2011, 7:51 am

i'm still amazed at how patient and calm the Japanese people are, in the midst of their tragedy....waiting calmly in line for hours, for basic food items and for gas. if that was here, it would have been pandemonium.

Postby bluefete » March 24th, 2011, 7:52 am

dadio wrote:very nice....but to answer the OP's question, the road by sando tech is going to begin to be repaired this april....and the new (alternative) is gonna be opened

Thanks Dadio. I have no doubt it shall be so - given how Uncle Jack is working.

If it was Uncle Colm on the other hand ...............

~ ... awaits interruption by the PNM posse ... ~

Postby Stephon. » March 24th, 2011, 8:04 am

That is truly amazing.

20inchstrong

Postby 20inchstrong » March 24th, 2011, 8:05 am

And watch d thickness of that layer before the pitch in the damaged pic...
In trini, when they fix d road, sometimes d whole layer of pitch does come off like paper and you reach dirt!

I always respect these japanese/chinese people for their high innovative skills!

Postby RBphoto » March 24th, 2011, 8:09 am

Dat is more than a foot of pitch and two feet of barbergrene!!!

Postby janfar » March 24th, 2011, 8:12 am

Thats actually blue mettle (aka crush and run) followed by the asphalt... Most 'new' roads in trini are done the same... don't mix 'paving' with 'patching'...

zcarz

Postby zcarz » March 24th, 2011, 8:24 am

Lol the great kanto highway. Wonder what that means in english

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » March 24th, 2011, 8:25 am

shogun wrote:i'm still amazed at how patient and calm the Japanese people are, in the midst of their tragedy....waiting calmly in line for hours, for basic food items and for gas. if that was here, it would have been pandemonium.

and level bobol...
:lol: :cry:

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » March 24th, 2011, 9:50 am

20inchstrong wrote:And watch d thickness of that layer before the pitch in the damaged pic...
In trini, when they fix d road, sometimes d whole layer of pitch does come off like paper and you reach dirt!

I always respect these japanese/chinese people for their high innovative skills!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 9:59 am

I find it strange that only daily mail reported on this.
the second pic has an Associated Press logo on it but nothing about it on their site.

venomz

Postby venomz » March 24th, 2011, 10:05 am

D.S.S wrote:
20inchstrong wrote:And watch d thickness of that layer before the pitch in the damaged pic...

agreed

Postby wagonrunner » March 24th, 2011, 10:11 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I find it strange that only daily mail reported on this.
the second pic has an Associated Press logo on it but nothing about it on their site.

it's the dailymail. :lol:
check out their other "leading" articles. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/index.html

Postby bushwakka » March 24th, 2011, 10:15 am

i call BS....thats a before and after picture

Postby Sky » March 24th, 2011, 10:20 am

In France the roads are 6 feet thick. Dey cyah done. It's not a Japan/Chinese thing nah.
Everyone except us have good roads. We will always be behind. The only thing we SOMETIMES excel in is sports, and that's an individual effort, not a country effort.

Postby TRAE » March 24th, 2011, 10:43 am

Postby sharkman121 » March 24th, 2011, 10:46 am

Think germany boasts the record of best road network. autobahn.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 24th, 2011, 10:55 am

Why pave good roads when they will not "breakdown" and contracts will not pass to "repair" said roads?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 11:13 am

check out their other "leading" articles. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/index.html
YUH SAYING BLUEFETE IS NAIVE???

TobagoAK

Postby TobagoAK » March 24th, 2011, 11:42 am

And the irony is that we have a pitch lake lol. Like seriously WTF is up with that

Postby wagonrunner » March 24th, 2011, 11:45 am

yuh putting words in meh mouth dan.
i saying he's guided by god

Postby Bizzare » March 24th, 2011, 12:01 pm

yuh putting words in meh mouth dan.
i saying he's guided by god

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: .....What a mockery yes.... Judgement day for y'all asses...Lol

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2011, 12:03 pm

Postby rollingstock » March 24th, 2011, 12:04 pm

It has actually been reported on other sites, actual work to repair lasted 4 days i think.

http://www.dailyexpress.co.uk/posts/vie ... -six-days/

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/ne ... overy.html

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:09 pm

shogun wrote:i'm still amazed at how patient and calm the Japanese people are, in the midst of their tragedy....waiting calmly in line for hours, for basic food items and for gas. if that was here, it would have been pandemonium.

and that is the real difference between first world and third world

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 12:13 pm

It has actually been reported on other sites, actual work to repair lasted 4 days i think.

http://www.dailyexpress.co.uk/posts/vie ... -six-days/

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/ne ... overy.html

same thing

random FYI: yuh know page 3 of The Sun has a photo of a topless girl everyday

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2011, 12:17 pm

yup even in the printed copies