Squatters demand 3 Million!!(pg2)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 13th, 2011, 1:43 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/OK_ ... 47519.html

OK TO SQUAT
Agriculture Minister tells farmers already on State property:

By Aabida Allaham aabida.allaham@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 13, 2011 at 1:10 AM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 13, 2011 at 1:10 AM ECT
THE Government has given the green light for farmers to squat on State lands. However, they must plant the land if they intend to occupy it, Food Production Minister Vasant Bharath said yesterday.
He made the statements during an interview with Fazeer Mohammed on TV6's Morning Edition.
Bharath said hundreds of farmers have applied for land tenure from the State and because of the "culture" of the people at his ministry, many of the farmers will have to wait years before they can be given that approval.
He said ministerial staff had become accustomed to treating with issues of land tenure "in a lackadaisical manner", noting this will take time to change.
Due to the lack of land tenure, however, Bharath said farmers were unable to benefit from the incentives offered by the Government and had to deal with higher production costs.
"In fact, many people have left the agricultural sector simply because they have not had tenure for their lands ... and if you didn't have tenure to your land you could not access all of the incentives that the ministry offered, nor could you go to the Agricultural Development Bank (ADB) and access preferential rates or preferential loans.
"In fact you could not go to any commercial bank and get a loan to develop your farming industry," Bharath said.
"So we have said that once you have been farming and once you are farming a minimum of 30 per cent of the lands of which you are on, you could access all of the incentives that the ministry offers or you could go to the ministry and get a loan based on what you are doing."
Asked if he thought giving farmers the right to squat was not a licence for lawlessness, considering what took place at the San Jose Estate in Lopinot earlier this year, where farmers were brutalised because they were tending to land that was not theirs, Bharath said no and insisted that if farmers did not squat this country would have no food.
"You have to understand that a number of people have not been given the opportunity to either apply for land, or they have (and) they are in the system waiting," he said.
"If tomorrow morning, you said to Trinidad and Tobago, to people utilising lands (squatters), you ask them to leave, you know what would happen to food in Trinidad and Tobago, it will virtually have no food to eat and it's no fault of their own simply because the ministry has been tardy in allocating lands to people to farm."
Co-ordinator at the National Foodcrop Farmers Association, Shiraz Khan, and president of the Agricultural Society of Trinidad and Tobago, Dhano Sookoo, who were also on the show, added that although allowing farmers the right to squat was a good thing, more was still needed to develop the agricultural sector.
Addressing the issue of a glut of particular crops on the market, Khan, who is also the president of the Sheep and Goat Farmers Association, said farmers are prepared to work with the ministry to develop a quota system providing farmers benefit from it.
Sookoo added that it was important for the Government to look at the existing import and export arrangements in place, as there were times when local farmers were forced to sell their produce at a loss because of importation.
"While the minister is working to increase production and lower the prices of food and so on, we have to look at the trade issues of this country ... we have to ensure that this approach to agriculture is holistic," she said.ews/OK_TO_SQUAT-119747519.html
Last edited by *$kїđž!™ on May 8th, 2011, 4:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Ok To Squat!!! ---Wha the Hell is this!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 13th, 2011, 1:45 am

well in the morning I sure robocop heading bsck out to cashew gardens to plant the Herb.....

FREE LAND PPL!!!!!

Just plant ah fig tree and the land is yours!!!

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » April 13th, 2011, 2:56 am

It is interesting to read the thoughts a Minister has about the staff under him. That was rather honest and is quite consistent with the Government's resistance to give the PSA a bigger pay increase.

Postby eliteauto » April 13th, 2011, 4:05 am

I'm sure someone will present a proper spin on this later in the thread, after all, it's not the Minister's fault it's the Ministry's...public servants again

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 13th, 2011, 7:39 am

buh wdmc... these ppl eh even pay for the land they making money tax free...

as long as its state lands and not other peoples land yes..

altec

Postby altec » April 13th, 2011, 8:01 am

eventually a few houses would go up the its hell to get them off rewarding people for nothing. There are farmers who have worked and bought their land. Man not even rent the land? with regards to the government, different colour - same sheit.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 13th, 2011, 8:08 am

altec wrote:eventually a few houses would go up the its hell to get them off rewarding people for nothing. There are farmers who have worked and bought their land. Man not even rent the land? with regards to the government, different colour - same sheit.

Highlighted for utter truth.

So i gonna start planting meh yam, fig, pea's etc on some state lands in west moorings opposite west mall. What they goh tell meh? I just got permission as long as im planting on it ent... :roll:

Postby noshownogo » April 13th, 2011, 8:08 am

dem farmers better come correct with their pricing in the future, no excuses!

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 13th, 2011, 8:11 am

I gonna squat on 10 acres of land and plant lawn grass.

silvyrsurfyr

Postby silvyrsurfyr » April 13th, 2011, 8:51 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I gonna squat on 10 acres of land and plant lawn grass.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Bizzare » April 13th, 2011, 9:02 am

altec wrote:eventually a few houses would go up the its hell to get them off rewarding people for nothing. There are farmers who have worked and bought their land. Man not even rent the land? with regards to the government, different colour - same sheit.

No, Structures can only be built using wooden material or containers.
The government has plans to rent out the lands in the near future.
Every month or so the land is checked to see if there is any activity going on on the lands.

Trust me, it is not easy work and many who have daily jobs such as Lawyers, doctors ,etc took up the opportunity and backed out. You will have rights to the land taken away if you're not using it to its full capacity.

Besides, whats the issue. Its providing food for the nation, and all you young folks who site back and say negative stuff instead of taking up a MILLION dollar opportunity like this, I don't know whats to say

Postby sharkman121 » April 13th, 2011, 9:55 am

silvyrsurfyr wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I gonna squat on 10 acres of land and plant lawn grass.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

LOL

Postby sharkman121 » April 13th, 2011, 10:05 am

Bizzare wrote:

No, Structures can only be built using wooden material or containers.
The government has plans to rent out the lands in the near future.
Every month or so the land is checked to see if there is any activity going on on the lands.

Really, how long they gonna keep that up for before it becomes no more or money start to pass.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 13th, 2011, 12:48 pm

When would govt ministers stop making dumb comments like this......Ok to squat once u plant..???

you know what going happen there........Land price may drop since ppl would prefer squatting.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 13th, 2011, 12:57 pm

one minute they breaking down ppl house from cashew gardens and they running out Mr.Planter Robocop.....that was a big issue a whileaback,,,,,,,,...now this dumb ass saying its ok to squat once you plant.....

Robocop should head straight back in cashew gardens and start back planting.....lemme see them move him after vasant's stupid comment..........

Majestic12

Postby Majestic12 » April 13th, 2011, 1:06 pm

Nigson wrote:one minute they breaking down ppl house from cashew gardens and they running out Mr.Planter Robocop.....that was a big issue a whileaback,,,,,,,,...now this dumb ass saying its ok to squat once you plant.....

Robocop should head straight back in cashew gardens and start back planting.....lemme see them move him after vasant's stupid comment..........

indeed.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » April 13th, 2011, 1:08 pm

Nigson wrote:When would govt ministers stop making dumb comments like this......Ok to squat once u plant..???

you know what going happen there........Land price may drop since ppl would prefer squatting.....

Let me know when this happens looking for a 2 lots to buy

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 13th, 2011, 1:55 pm

I would hope that a condition be that you have to have no other land/property in you name first though

cuz if you do yuh should go an plant in your own facking land that's all.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » April 13th, 2011, 2:25 pm

Vasant Bharath a mad man in office

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 13th, 2011, 2:27 pm

Wat d hell at first.....but now(after thought)...not a bad idea as long as the right limitations are put in place

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » April 13th, 2011, 3:54 pm

I said before in previous threads that Kamla and the brady bunch are gonna eat alot of humble pie.

First the F-grade dougla had to eat it.

Then GopeeSingh had to retract....

Now is Bharath?? They think governance is bout experimentin and trying ah thing?

They are a bunch of Noobs, maybe we should ask Duane to open up a forum called Political advice to help some ah dem yes.

Postby bushwakka » April 13th, 2011, 4:30 pm

wait wait...so jes so de man admit lazy ppl workin at his ministry an he jus goin to do nuttin abt it?

wtf!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 14th, 2011, 1:21 am

eekipoo wrote:
Nigson wrote:When would govt ministers stop making dumb comments like this......Ok to squat once u plant..???

Let me know when this happens looking for a 2 lots to buy

no need to buy.....just squat and plant......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 14th, 2011, 2:03 am

So Bharath talking sheit as usual and now his lazy ass employees have to clarify his stupid statement.......

he calling them lazy and they still have to bail him out........Id call them stupid not lazy......lol........

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Min ... 20014.html

Ministry: Squatting still illegal, but...
By
Story Created: Apr 14, 2011 at 12:48 AM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 14, 2011 at 12:48 AM ECT
SQUATTING is still illegal, the Ministry of Food Production says. However, existing farmers utilising lands for agriculture, although they do not have tenure to the land, can continue to do so.
In a statement issued to the media yesterday, corporate communications director Yolande Agard-Simmons said the ministry does not condone squatting, but maintains that existing farmers who would have applied for land tenure and are still waiting can continue to utilise the lands.
"The Ministry in no way condones lawlessness. We maintain the position that the State has failed the farmers in the aspect of land regularisation and expediting the process of lease applications," the statement said.
"The Minister's statements on CCN TV6's Morning Edition on Tuesday were clear in this regard. Farmers who have applied for leases, and through no fault of their own, have not as yet received their legal documents are encouraged to continue engaging in production agriculture."
The statement added that "there is a commitment by the Ministry that all lease applications in the system will be dealt with expeditiously".
Yesterday, the Express reported that Food Production Minister Vasant Bharath said it would be okay for people to squat on state land once they were utilising the land for farming purposes. He made the comment during an interview on TV6's Morning Edition on Wednesday. He insisted too that if farmers did not squat, this country would have no food.
According to the website www.gov.tt , under the heading Agricultural Land Development: "Persons who are in informal occupation of State Land and have been utilising the plot of land for agricultural purposes may qualify for regularisation if the following eligibility requirements can be satisfied: The applicant must be occupying state land prior to 1998, for at least five continuous years, as verifiable by ministry records, The applicant must be occupying land that is not in an environmentally sensitive area. At least 50 per cent of the plot of land, subject to a maximum of five acres, must be cultivated in a manner acceptable to the Ministry of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs and The applicant must not own any other agricultural land."

d rasta

Postby d rasta » April 14th, 2011, 9:00 am

so jus a lil situation to ponder on...

squat on state land for FREE
plant crops and make money
after a while get regularized, letters of comfort an all
rain fall an flood yuh out
government go then pay yuh fuh the crops yuh loss in the flood
:?
seems like a win win situation for me! i going an plant some yam yes!
Last edited by d rasta on April 14th, 2011, 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » April 14th, 2011, 9:00 am

Bharath said hundreds of farmers have applied for land tenure from the State and because of the "culture" of the people at his ministry, many of the farmers will have to wait years before they can be given that approval.
He said ministerial staff had become accustomed to treating with issues of land tenure "in a lackadaisical manner", noting this will take time to change.
Due to the lack of land tenure, however, Bharath said farmers were unable to benefit from the incentives offered by the Government and had to deal with higher production costs.

So Why not just fix the system?
and if its a cultural thing, then change the culture of those employed...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 14th, 2011, 9:26 am

What happened to the Government farms constructed under the PNM? How many are operational today and producing food for the nation? Also I see that people need housing but WTF's up with using good agricultural land for housing? (cane lands have been converted into HDC cardboard houses..and btw the soil REAL good...)

** Explicit Lyrics **

Different governments same sh!t.

Postby K74T » April 14th, 2011, 9:30 am

We really need to run up in parliament and plant corn in they cudders munt

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 15th, 2011, 11:56 pm

d rasta wrote:so jus a lil situation to ponder on...

squat on state land for FREE
plant crops and make money
after a while get regularized, letters of comfort an all
rain fall an flood yuh out
government go then pay yuh fuh the crops yuh loss in the flood
:?
seems like a win win situation for me! i going an plant some yam yes!

yeah rasta 4 real.....btw hope is yam u planting and not herbs.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2011, 6:40 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Far ... 33599.html

FARMERS are not happy with the decision taken by Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal and are calling on Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to step in.
Following a two-hour meeting at the Ministry of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs in St Clair yesterday, farmers emerged visibly disappointed, saying the People's Partnership Government has failed them.
In her address to the media, president of the Agricultural Society of Trinidad and Tobago Dhano Sookoo said since Moonilal does not want to apologise for his actions, they will not apologise for theirs.
"Minister Moonilal said that his action is responsible but not regrettable; well, we wish to say to the honourable Minister of Housing and to the entire Government that we regret the action that we will be taking (today) and the days ahead.
"We are here to secure food for the people of Trinidad and Tobago, make no mistake about that, and we will stand and we will fight for those lands to remain in agriculture...we will not stand for housing and concrete on those arable lands," she said.
Sookoo said the farmers had four areas of demands—namely, market value compensation, a public apology, tenure to stay on the lands that were bulldozed and land use policy —but only one was really promised.
"They have agreed to market value compensation, and this will be done collaboratively with the farmers, and the Ministry of Food Production will be doing the assessment while the payments will be done by the Ministry of Housing," Sookoo said, adding they have agreed to work on the land use policy as well.
President of the Sheep and Goat Farmers' Association Shiraz Khan said they have been offered lands in central Trinidad with immediate land tenure, but they will not accept it.
He said the lands in Egypt Trace, Chaguanas, and the Pineapple Smith Lands, off Crescent Gardens, Mausica Road, D'Abadie, are agricultural lands, and by the Government asking them to give it up so they can construct 800-plus houses, it is in direct violation of a promise made by the Prime Minister during her election campaign.
Besides that, Khan said the lands being offered to the farmers for tenure will only be for 30 years.
"We are saying that is not acceptable; we are not accepting no relocation; we want that land and we want that everybody come out and support us in that fight, so farmers can stay on their lands and produce food to feed you, the people of Trinidad and Tobago," he said.
Food Production Minister Vasant Bharath, who was also at the meeting, said he regrets what has happened, but he admitted it has to be this way as the houses must also be built.
Asked whether he thought the decision would impact on the price and supply of food, he insisted he would continue his endeavours— which range from the development of retention ponds to large farms—to ensure food inflation continues to go down.
Moonilal, who maintained he does not regret his decision as it would have happened anyway since he had announced plans to construct houses on Pineapple Smith Lands back in January, added he will instruct the police and private guards currently monitoring activities on the bulldozed lands to leave, as asked for by the farmers.
On the other hand, Moonilal, who admits he cannot be popular all the time, in spite of the promises given to the farmers during the elections, said Government was aware of the decision to use those lands, and several others, to construct houses.
"It was not a set date, it happened because they have reached the end of the line; you know, we served notice, people have had enough time...and right now, the Land Settlement Agency (LSA), I must tell you, is now contemplating the destruction of squatters in certain areas," he said.