Banking in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Bank options

Postby zoom rader » January 3rd, 2016, 2:49 am

Stay away from Indian banks, plus Inter commercial bank is owned by Mittal Steel.

Postby j.o.e » January 3rd, 2016, 3:57 am

Was just trying to get reviews of the banks outside of the regulars .... A friend swears by intercommercial

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2016, 6:55 am

j.o.e wrote:Was just trying to get reviews of the banks outside of the regulars .... A friend swears by intercommercial

You mean he does go by the branch and cuss all d time?

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 3rd, 2016, 6:59 am

zoom rader wrote:Stay away from Indian banks, plus Inter commercial bank is owned by Mittal Steel.

why?

Pretty broad brush there.

Postby Redman » January 3rd, 2016, 7:30 am

zoom rader wrote:Stay away from Indian banks, plus Inter commercial bank is owned by Mittal Steel.

Yuh only years behind....

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 70431.html

JMMB’s goal of becoming a fully-integrated regional financial services company has been given a further boost, having received approval from the Central Bank to proceed with a transaction which will see it embarking on the full acquisition of Intercommercial Bank Ltd and Intercommercial Trust & Merchant Bank Ltd in Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby 88sins » January 3rd, 2016, 7:33 am

Bank of Baroda is crap. Had an account there for 2 years. Here are some of the issues i had with them

They have to fix how and when they issue statements . Their statements look like it gets printed on a cheap printer in someones kitchen. Pages have no letterhead. And if i dont demand it they wont send a statement. And i had 4 accounts with them.
They make errors often. And take too long to correct those errors when informed.

Go there if you want. I wouldnt recommend it

Postby zoom rader » January 3rd, 2016, 8:55 am

j.o.e wrote:Was just trying to get reviews of the banks outside of the regulars .... A friend swears by intercommercial

Don't trust indian banks. FCB better

Postby j.o.e » January 3rd, 2016, 11:14 am

Never banked with FCB I'm willing to give them a try I suppose

Postby De Dragon » January 3rd, 2016, 11:18 am

But ent FCB is State owned? Yuh saying tuh support de Govament?

Postby zoom rader » January 3rd, 2016, 12:14 pm

But ent FCB is State owned? Yuh saying tuh support de Govament?

Its part state owned, plus I have shares in that bank and another local bank. Which are both doing good at the moment.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 3rd, 2016, 12:18 pm

j.o.e wrote:Never banked with FCB I'm willing to give them a try I suppose

What's the purpose of banking with the new bank? Fcb's online banking is the best of all of them if you looking for convenience.

Daran

Postby Daran » January 3rd, 2016, 12:50 pm

RCB (B- Rating) - Decent, but inefficient (seems years behind other banks in features etc.)
Scotia (C+ Rating) - Good, but somehow they find some way to firetruck with you (they don't get the simple things right)
Republic (B+ Rating) - Efficient, but staff makes many mistakes and systems seem unreliable at times (although their online services are the best overall)

FCB - No experience but most people seem quite happy with them.
Intercommercial and Bank of Baroda - Offer the basics, but they aren't cheap and don't have some of the modern facilities of the bigger banks.

Postby SR » January 3rd, 2016, 1:13 pm

Is that a personal review??

Daran

Postby Daran » January 3rd, 2016, 1:29 pm

SR wrote:Is that a personal review??

yes

Postby cinco » January 3rd, 2016, 1:33 pm

Bank with fcb if you want to spend 30mins minimum to do an over the counter transaction

Postby desifemlove » January 3rd, 2016, 2:20 pm

all the local banks same to me. all does have hour long lines with just 15 people, or have the run around, or dopey clerks, or not open on Saturdays. I bank at FCB, i don't believe in state ownership of anything, but then it not my issue if they does bank good.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 3rd, 2016, 3:53 pm

Citizens Bank First in Tunapuna has to be one of the worst run banks not in Trinidad but in the world.

The commercial line usually has 1-2 tellers to handle a max of 10 people while the ordinary lines have an average of 2 tellers at a time to as many as 50-60 people,maybe more.
The ordinary tellers decide that they all go on lunch at the same time so sometimes it's 1 teller for everyone or occasionally 0 tellers.I have been in that line with 0 tellers for as long as 15 minutes on lots of occasions.
Then there is the other section where you take a number and wait to perform various transactions,certified cheques etc.If your number is 10 or more away from the number called your average wait time is 3-4 hours and there is usually 0-1 person handling this line also.

During banking hours, questions to the bank's employees about the bank's efficiency are met with the usual "we are understaffed today",which just happens to be every day I have gone to this branch for the past couple decades.If you're lucky enough to be there when the bank closes they suddenly become staffed and your transactions go through in quick time.

Under your mattress or a hole in your yard is less headache than Citizens Bank First Tunapuna.

Postby j.o.e » January 3rd, 2016, 4:26 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Never banked with FCB I'm willing to give them a try I suppose

What's the purpose of banking with the new bank? Fcb's online banking is the best of all of them if you looking for convenience.

Most of my banking has been done via RBC and Republic bank (and the defunct Bank of Commerce) . I've never been particularly impressed with any of their services. Seeing that I have to open a new account I'm just doing due diligence as a consumer and giving every bank fair consideration rather than just sticking to the obvious options. All the mainstream banks are easy to get reviews ..... None are any good.

Postby Redman » January 3rd, 2016, 5:51 pm

ICB and Baroda are willing to finance business and are aggressively looking for business.

That said the service and support that you get at the bank-any bank is SOLELY based on the relationship you have with the Account Executive at the bank.
My experience has been FCB and RBL have been excellent with Scotia being really tough to get things done.

Reviews here will say different about the same banks
RBC in GULF CITY is slow AF.
So pick yuh poison and build a relationship.

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2016, 6:37 pm

When xmas time roll around jus hit some of the female workers yuh deal with some chocolate and the usual rep who deals with yuh a nice bottle of whisky. They guh treat yuh nice for d next year

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2016, 11:58 am

Republic have some cute tellers

daas

Postby daas » January 4th, 2016, 12:34 pm

MG Man wrote:Republic have some cute tellers

This is true.

FCB and Scotia are the worst in terms of service. RBC lacks technological advancement especially where credit card services are concerned.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 4th, 2016, 3:18 pm

AYSN wrote:When xmas time roll around jus hit some of the female workers yuh deal with some chocolate and the usual rep who deals with yuh a nice bottle of whisky. They guh treat yuh nice for d next year

Best advice

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 4th, 2016, 3:30 pm

daas wrote:
MG Man wrote:Republic have some cute tellers

This is true.

FCB and Scotia are the worst in terms of service. RBC lacks technological advancement especially where credit card services are concerned.

i have and apology letter from one of the bank managers in Scotia .... set of dumb facks ..... want to talk to people how they feel to ...

Postby K74T » January 4th, 2016, 5:48 pm

Scotia FTW

b14inb12

Royal bank, Republic bank lead in monthly bank fees

Postby b14inb12 » October 3rd, 2016, 6:26 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161002 ... -bank-fees

RBC Royal Bank T&T Ltd and Republic Bank Ltd have the highest monthly maintenance fees on savings accounts, at $15 and $15.01 respectively, regardless of the balance.
This is revealed in the commercial banks’ fee comparison released by the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago (CBTT) over the weekend.

neexis

Re: Royal bank, Republic bank lead in monthly bank fees

Postby neexis » October 4th, 2016, 6:43 am

You know what they say:

Give a man a gun and he can rob a bank
Give a man a bank and he can rob the world

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 4th, 2016, 7:08 am

wtb fireproof safe :|

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2016, 4:06 pm

tourniquet wrote:wtb fireproof safe :|

Pricemart!!!

RhymePaladin

Best Bank for Savings Account

Postby RhymePaladin » April 24th, 2018, 5:10 pm

Hey all whats the best bank to open a savings account with? Any experience and tips would be great for when looking also.