Any Tuners Suffering With Sinus

Re: Any Tuners Suffering With Sinus

Postby maj. tom » February 16th, 2019, 7:00 pm

Go to the beach tmrw. Duck under the salt water and flush your sinuses. Get some sun.
Also see a dentist for to check if your wisdom teeth are impacting.

aaron17 wrote:I have nasal congestion but with no mucus. Under my neck muscles are tender and my upper jaw to the back where the wisdoms were...I feel a pressure. And now cold weather and ac affects my face like a sharp pain.Is it muscle constriction or a sinus?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 16th, 2019, 8:10 pm

aaron17 wrote:I have nasal congestion but with no mucus. Under my neck muscles are tender and my upper jaw to the back where the wisdoms were...I feel a pressure. And now cold weather and ac affects my face like a sharp pain.Is it muscle constriction or a sinus?

Try Otrivin nasal drops

https://www.webmd.com/drugs/2/drug-6953 ... al/details

I prefer to use the Children's Otrivin (pink cap, Adult is a blue cap) as it is a lower dosage. See what works for you.

Postby aaron17 » February 16th, 2019, 8:55 pm

All my wisdoms were extracted and only at that point in time ... i started getting the dull pain at the top back of jaw. So years now I suffering. I complained about it and they double checked it with teeth xrays and said it could be sinus. They give me panadol sinus...didn't work.

Postby aaron17 » February 16th, 2019, 8:59 pm

Breathing in hot steam works and hot showers . I tried 2 or more drops of peppermint and placed hot boiling water. The steam I breathe in and it clears up real good but it wears off eventually..hmmm

Postby gastly369 » February 16th, 2019, 9:40 pm

The air quality poor as hell these few weeks now

Postby aaron17 » February 16th, 2019, 9:47 pm

Yea

Nexus

Postby Nexus » February 17th, 2019, 10:00 am

These days real bad for sinus sufferers, between the sahara dust and bush fires. Head feels like a bowling ball, sore throat, itchy eyes. Been living on allegra but it makes me feel 'nervy'

Postby aaron17 » April 24th, 2019, 8:02 am

Does anyone suffer from dry sinus problems? Would like to know if I have sinus . Strange thing when I lie down the pain goes away.Bathing in steamy, hot water and putting mint drops in hot water to breathe in helps too.. but it comes back eventually.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2019, 8:12 am

aaron17 wrote:Does anyone suffer from dry sinus problems? Would like to know if I have sinus . Strange thing when I lie down the pain goes away.Bathing in steamy, hot water and putting mint drops in hot water to breathe in helps too.. but it comes back eventually.

Have you tried a painkiller with a decongestant like Panadol or Tylenol headache and sinus?

Postby aaron17 » April 24th, 2019, 8:17 am

aaron17 wrote:Does anyone suffer from dry sinus problems? Would like to know if I have sinus . Strange thing when I lie down the pain goes away.Bathing in steamy, hot water and putting mint drops in hot water to breathe in helps too.. but it comes back eventually.

Have you tried a painkiller with a decongestant like Panadol or Tylenol headache and sinus?
All that don't work. I checked for tmj as suggested by doc...nothing.

Postby aaron17 » April 24th, 2019, 8:19 am

I forgot..i started to use nasal irrigation...it works when i use it but...it comes back..i guess i need to use it twice a day every day?

Postby maj. tom » April 24th, 2019, 8:31 am

The instructions for the nasal rinse say use 2 to 3 times a day. If you have it as bad as you're describing, just do it.
If you don't want to resort to using drugs chronically, get a 3M dust mask and wear it outdoors. Drink a lot more water (3 to 4 Liters/day) because you are likely dehydrated in this hot weather. And use the nasal rinse 3 times a day. Take a beach day too and get some sea water to flush your sinuses.

If it persists, see an ENT specialist.

Postby hydroep » April 24th, 2019, 8:51 am

Co-signed on staying hydrated. Also, check for allergies...major improvement since cutting out dairy.

Postby aaron17 » April 24th, 2019, 9:02 am

hydroep wrote:Co-signed on staying hydrated. Also, check for allergies...major improvement since cutting out dairy.
Thx...hydration not working but i will cut dairy and see.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » April 24th, 2019, 9:05 am

Strangely for the past few weeks my Sinus didn't raise for all the Sahara dust 8-)

Postby aaron17 » April 24th, 2019, 9:06 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:Strangely for the past few weeks my Sinus didn't raise for all the Sahara dust 8-)
Yo..the amount of dust and burning it have here by my side ehh..sigh

Postby redmanjp » April 24th, 2019, 11:53 am

aaron17 wrote:
hydroep wrote:Co-signed on staying hydrated. Also, check for allergies...major improvement since cutting out dairy.

does allegra help for dairy allergies?

Postby aaron17 » April 24th, 2019, 1:11 pm

Dread ..does humidifiers really work?

Postby maj. tom » April 24th, 2019, 1:17 pm

We're in the tropics. No need for a humidifier, since it's always above 60%. If you're indoors with ac that will dry the air, but then putting a humidifier in an ac room defeats the whole point of ac and wastes more energy.

Postby aaron17 » April 24th, 2019, 1:20 pm

Yea i have ac and it dries the air out? What to do?

Postby hydroep » April 24th, 2019, 5:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

does allegra help for dairy allergies?

Dunno, never tried it.

Postby matr1x » April 24th, 2019, 9:23 pm

It works for a while

hondablood

Postby hondablood » April 24th, 2019, 10:58 pm

triz ,cheap and works for me.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » April 25th, 2019, 8:53 am

Also Allerid is a cheap alternative to allegra (sometimes makes me sleepy)

Postby MaxPower » April 25th, 2019, 8:58 am

I think most Trinidadians suffer with sinus and throat problems. This would account for hawking and spitting in public.

airuma

Postby airuma » April 25th, 2019, 9:28 am

maj. tom wrote:The instructions for the nasal rinse say use 2 to 3 times a day. If you have it as bad as you're describing, just do it.
If you don't want to resort to using drugs chronically, get a 3M dust mask and wear it outdoors. Drink a lot more water (3 to 4 Liters/day) because you are likely dehydrated in this hot weather. And use the nasal rinse 3 times a day. Take a beach day too and get some sea water to flush your sinuses.

If it persists, see an ENT specialist.

Good advice here, also consider "Avamys" nasal spray or if you can get "Flonase". A little expensive (about $200.00 for a bottle of 120 sprays iirc) but if you suffer from rhinitis, these nasal sprays work well.
I've noticed that orange rind helps too.
You should check for mold in your home, you would be surprised at how much is on your walls in an air-conditioned room especially the areas close to the doors.

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2019, 1:27 pm

Thanks.

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2019, 5:21 pm

I think I have dry sinus probs. I does be in ac whole day in work and night ac too and i figure that is the problem. I does wake up stuffy. Lips does be bleeding ..skin itching.. nose like i breathing with a sandpaper. You know a descent air humidifier around locally? Superpharm does be xpensive.

Postby The_Honourable » May 7th, 2019, 5:37 pm

Good thread. Outside of nasal sprays, how tuners deal with rhinitis?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 7th, 2019, 6:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Good thread. Outside of nasal sprays, how tuners deal with rhinitis?

Saline rinse
works wonders