***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Postby st7 » June 12th, 2022, 1:41 pm

LOL

btw, i've finally seen The Princess Bride. enjoyable movie, but i know i would have enjoyed it a whole lot more back in the 90s or even 00s.

saw The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent yesterday - will recommend!

Postby Rovin » June 12th, 2022, 1:43 pm

so just curious Dman7 if u say both dc & marvel movies is rel toots [i solidly agree some of them are] so wa u does watch boi ? , tell we what flims u does like ? ... :|

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2022, 2:04 pm

st7 wrote:if you havent, take in the Before trilogy:
1. Before Sunrise
2. Before Sunset
3. Before Midnight
This was actually good.

Apparently I like good dialogue in movies. The bets part in the hobbit movies was the dialogue between the dragon and the hobbit. The best parts in GoT was the dialogues

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2022, 2:06 pm

Finally watched this is spinal tap. Dry humor...very dry. Very absurd.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 12th, 2022, 8:35 pm

Anybody watching Ozark??

Postby st7 » June 12th, 2022, 11:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Anybody watching Ozark??

finished it the other day....

leaving a 5 yr laters spoiler here according to the show creator

In a new Netflix promotional event, as reported by IndieWire, Mundy details what the future looks like for Marty and the rest of the Byrde family, 5 years after the events of the finale. Mundy explains that he thinks the Byrde family will have moved out of the Ozarks and gone to the Midwest, where they will continue to use their political influence, but now on a national scale. Check out Mundy's comment below:

"[The Byrdes] run to the Midwest, and in some ways, they're going to have the political clout to dictate national politics."

Postby st7 » June 23rd, 2022, 11:38 am

The Umbrella Academy season 3.... that was a trip!

Postby Les Bain » June 23rd, 2022, 11:46 am

I understand Vanya's characterization but from season 1 ep 1 Elliot Page ruined it for me with their mopey, absentee acting. Seems like they had issues dealing with their transitioning which is not a problem personally, but that suck the joy out the room presence was too much. Should have given another actor the opportunity while they sat things out and dealt with their personal life.

Postby Rovin » June 23rd, 2022, 12:11 pm

fans of d IP MAN movies series : IP MAN : THE AWAKENING came out a few wks ago, i saw it online sunday

no donnie yen in it , a new guy , movie a bit short at 1.5hrs - cud have gone to 2hrs , not in english so u hadda read subtitles

not as good as previous films but still entertaining , last boss fight cud be longer so that part was a bit disappointing .... 6/10

Postby Country_Bookie » June 23rd, 2022, 5:17 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:normally i'd let the series load before binge watching....but after that filth called Boba Fett i thought i'd watch the first episode and gauge how it will run... but Obi-Wan Kenobi is OVER THE TOP so far...well except for Moses Ingram... Gawdd her acting sucks in this...but man everything else about this is fantastic….the chick who is playing Leia is perfectly cast…It’s like a completely do over for the horrible child acting that was in the phantom menace...Sung Kang.. i didnt make him out until the credits at the end of the first episode....like..WHAAA?.... lol...

I love how this really does seem to set up why Ben Kenobi eventually broke down and trained Luke…its also setting up his fight with Maul in Rebels…i hate that this is a limited series…they really could drag this out… at least another season..
but this ferkiing Set up A Starkiller series perfectly…Especially with the drop about them kidnapping force sensitive children…

Starkiller needs his own damn show. And using the 2022 Living Legend James Earl Jones' voice being brought for Darth is just.... #onions...

:D :D :D Yeah i issa Star Wars-ist.

Watched the season finale of Obi-Wan Kenobi last night. It was as good as the rest of the series and the battle lived up to the hype. Of course it kills some of the suspense when we know most of the characters are alive in A New Hope. But u can't help but question the decision Kenobi makes at the end of the battle..... don't want to spoil for anyone who hasn't seen it yet.

Started watching Severance now. Feels like a black mirror storyline that was so good and complicated it was made into a series. Lots of interesting theories as to what's really going on.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 6th, 2022, 10:04 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:normally i'd let the series load before binge watching....but after that filth called Boba Fett i thought i'd watch the first episode and gauge how it will run... but Obi-Wan Kenobi is OVER THE TOP so far...well except for Moses Ingram... Gawdd her acting sucks in this...but man everything else about this is fantastic….the chick who is playing Leia is perfectly cast…It’s like a completely do over for the horrible child acting that was in the phantom menace...Sung Kang.. i didnt make him out until the credits at the end of the first episode....like..WHAAA?.... lol...

I love how this really does seem to set up why Ben Kenobi eventually broke down and trained Luke…its also setting up his fight with Maul in Rebels…i hate that this is a limited series…they really could drag this out… at least another season..
but this ferkiing Set up A Starkiller series perfectly…Especially with the drop about them kidnapping force sensitive children…

Starkiller needs his own damn show. And using the 2022 Living Legend James Earl Jones' voice being brought for Darth is just.... #onions...

:D :D :D Yeah i issa Star Wars-ist.

Watched the season finale of Obi-Wan Kenobi last night. It was as good as the rest of the series and the battle lived up to the hype. Of course it kills some of the suspense when we know most of the characters are alive in A New Hope. But u can't help but question the decision Kenobi makes at the end of the battle..... don't want to spoil for anyone who hasn't seen it yet.

Started watching Severance now. Feels like a black mirror storyline that was so good and complicated it was made into a series. Lots of interesting theories as to what's really going on.

My thoughts as well....

Postby Monk BANzai » July 6th, 2022, 10:09 pm

Pratt came through here. Another short series run they all dumped on the 4th. Overall 8/10. Still cant touch "The Seal Team" current run in my opinion, but some decent acting from Pratt and Taylor Kitsch. Some good scenes. Theres a scene where Pratt basically "de-bowels" a bad guy and then makes him walk...that is one for the ages....and a landslide that makes you question if Pratt did his own stunts.

Normally the books (this is a 5 book series) are way more intriguing so imma do that next.

Decent watch.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 6th, 2022, 10:19 pm

Got this off a Rotten Tomatoes review. Its.... um.... 6/10.. Set in the 80s, but man i dunno if they purposely did the acting and the English overdubs (its set in the native tongue of Hungarian) on purpose..but whew!!!!!

but somehow I went through to the end.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 6th, 2022, 10:22 pm

This was good. solid 8.5. Shows the ineptitude of the CIA and FBI to simply communicate.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 7th, 2022, 2:00 am

forgot about this one.

Jeff Bridges and John Lithgow. Man have two bad-ass Rotts who understand German...... Just think of Al Pacino going up against Robert De Niro in a slow burn version of Heat. Yeah That Good. 8/10 so far.

Postby Les Bain » July 7th, 2022, 9:25 am

Hoping it lives up to the comic it was adapted from. Trailer looks good.

Postby st7 » July 7th, 2022, 11:37 am

ohhh that one looks good. the ending song threw me back to the umbrella academy lol

and Ali Wong looks way better with bangs lol

Postby Monk BANzai » July 8th, 2022, 2:59 am

Les Bain wrote:Hoping it lives up to the comic it was adapted from. Trailer looks good.

looks good... (though im so fed up of the Gay storyline in these shows...)

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2022, 7:09 am

Monk BANzai wrote:

this sold me on this movie... havvvve to see it to see what they gonna do.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 10th, 2022, 4:53 pm

now started this.....

another slow burn... but this is NOT what it seems.... interesting...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 31st, 2022, 3:29 am

nuh bad....

esp Dhanush ..man put Singham to shame.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby st7 » July 31st, 2022, 7:06 pm

Jerry and Marge go Large,

It's Heisenberg but with maths and lottery.

Postby st7 » August 5th, 2022, 9:32 pm

anyone take in The Sandman on Netflix yet?

Postby aaron17 » August 5th, 2022, 9:38 pm

How was prey?

Postby Les Bain » August 6th, 2022, 11:02 am

st7 wrote:anyone take in The Sandman on Netflix yet?

Hoping to do that this weekend.

People reaching out to Neil Gaiman on his socials all week to big him up. If if starts off with an adaptation of issue 1 you in for a treat.

Postby st7 » August 6th, 2022, 11:06 am

Les Bain wrote:
st7 wrote:anyone take in The Sandman on Netflix yet?

Hoping to do that this weekend.

People reaching out to Neil Gaiman on his socials all week to big him up. If if starts off with an adaptation of issue 1 you in for a treat.

i watched the first 3 mins before taking it off... it was going real interesting in those 3 mins lol

but locke and key season 3 coming out wednesday, so i say i would watch over s2 first then start sandman

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 6th, 2022, 11:14 am

I rewatching banshee, it’s really one heck of a series yes

Postby st7 » August 6th, 2022, 11:20 am

nick639v2 wrote:I rewatching banshee, it’s really one heck of a series yes

ayeeee... that's a good one. i fall off around s2 but i say i wuda start back cause it on hbomax. before homelander days lol

Postby Rovin » August 6th, 2022, 11:26 am

last series i watched was The boys se3 & last wk FBI se3 ... from next wk i will look for something interesting

Postby mero » August 6th, 2022, 12:29 pm

nick639v2 wrote:I rewatching banshee, it’s really one heck of a series yes
Proctor the realest.

Banshee ending had my cross though. Fun series nontheless