***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Postby Dizzy28 » August 28th, 2021, 11:35 am

Was sitting on a 30 day trial for Amazon Prime for a while now. Activated it yesterday to make some purchases and started watching Prime Video last night.

Started a series and looked at movie-
The Boys is an amazing series.
Tomorrow War with Chris Pratt was kinda formulaic IMO

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 29th, 2021, 6:54 am

The boys

Postby Rovin » August 29th, 2021, 1:30 pm

the boys was already posted on here more than once , it came out in 2019 ...

Postby Dizzy28 » August 29th, 2021, 1:45 pm

It's good enough for another post or three
Rovin wrote:the boys was already posted on here more than once , it came out in 2019 ...

Postby mero » September 12th, 2021, 9:11 pm

Arcmanov wrote:Pretty good series...
SmartSelect_20210720-074741_Chrome.jpg
Snowfall really win yes. On season 4 and chunksing on episodes now cuz I doh want it done.

Up there with Vikings, SOA, the Wire and Peaky Blinders for me...

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » September 12th, 2021, 9:13 pm

Yeah, it boss.
They have me fiending now for season 5.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 14th, 2021, 12:46 am

The King of Staten Island (comedy-drama)

Took it in last night, was a good watch.
The lead actor, Pete Davidson, is an SNL cast member for those who watch that. I never did, but he put in a solid performance in this film and really carried the whole thing. It's a semi-autobiography which he co-wrote.

Got some good laughs. Also, Bill Burr is in it along with a splash of Steve Buscemi.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 14th, 2021, 1:09 am

st7 wrote:
st7 wrote:Ozark is pretty good.

Dark is pretty good... if you miss German shows - How to Sell Drugs Online Fast is a goood one

Yea I'm currently on S2 of How to Sell Drugs. It is a good watch.
It also has the best English dub over of any of the foreign language shows I have watched.

haha... i watched Dark in german, and watching Drugs in german made me want to watch more german shows
If you're into euro series try Ragnarok.... it's Norwegian. Season 1 was great but the second one dropped off for me. And yes, it's about Thor but it's not a marvel type of series. More like a modern take on Norse mythology.

"Into the night" is another one worth checking out..... it's from Belgium. Imagine what would happen if radiation from the sun suddenly became so dangerous that the only way to survive is to outrun the . Season 2 just dropped.

Postby st7 » September 14th, 2021, 8:29 am

Country_Bookie wrote:
st7 wrote:
st7 wrote:Ozark is pretty good.

Dark is pretty good... if you miss German shows - How to Sell Drugs Online Fast is a goood one

Yea I'm currently on S2 of How to Sell Drugs. It is a good watch.
It also has the best English dub over of any of the foreign language shows I have watched.

haha... i watched Dark in german, and watching Drugs in german made me want to watch more german shows
If you're into euro series try Ragnarok.... it's Norwegian. Season 1 was great but the second one dropped off for me. And yes, it's about Thor but it's not a marvel type of series. More like a modern take on Norse mythology.

"Into the night" is another one worth checking out..... it's from Belgium. Imagine what would happen if radiation from the sun suddenly became so dangerous that the only way to survive is to outrun the . Season 2 just dropped.

yeah i watched Ragnarok... i saw into the night advertising on netflix last night and it look interesting. i go take that in.

Postby aaron17 » September 14th, 2021, 9:42 am

Never watched total recall with arnold. Took it een.. for its time , i am impressed.

Postby Habit7 » September 14th, 2021, 10:11 am

st7 wrote:yeah i watched Ragnarok... i saw into the night advertising on netflix last night and it look interesting. i go take that in.

Into the Night first season was good, the second season could be better.

Them on Amazon Prime is like Stephen King's IT meets Roots

Postby st7 » September 14th, 2021, 3:10 pm

talking about Stephen King... his son Joe Hill book series netflix adaption release a season 2 trailer today - Locke and Key

Postby Les Bain » September 18th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Both on Netflix:

The Ingenuity of the Househusband.
A collection of comedy shorts. Kinda like if Marie Kondo was a retired Yakuza.

Love, Death, Robots.
High quality, high concept animated scifi shorts. If you used to stalk comic stores and magazine racks for Heavy Metal magazine, you'd like Love, Death, Robots.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2021, 7:34 pm

^ Love, Death, Robots season 1 and 2 was real good

Postby st7 » September 19th, 2021, 1:01 am

dont know if it was mentioned before but

TED LASSO

Postby Rovin » October 5th, 2021, 8:03 pm

took me almost 4 wks but i recently finished watching BOARDWALK EMPIRE , only heard of it when Michael Kenneth Williams from THE WIRE died , really good series 9\10, ending cud have been better

day b4 & yesterday i watched all 9 episodes of SQUID GAME , imho not as great as how ppl\net rate it up but it was decent ... 6\10

ah hadda find something to watch now ... :?

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2021, 9:14 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:It's good enough for another post or three
Rovin wrote:the boys was already posted on here more than once , it came out in 2019 ...
Was legit afraid for them taking too long before homelander finds out. I don't get engrossed in stories like that no more

solarkh

Postby solarkh » October 6th, 2021, 7:24 am

Midnight Mass on Netflix was good. Same Director who did The Haunting Hill House and Bly Manor.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 6th, 2021, 9:24 am

Saw the Card Counter ... not bad

Postby Dizzy28 » October 6th, 2021, 9:31 am

solarkh wrote:Midnight Mass on Netflix was good. Same Director who did The Haunting Hill House and Bly Manor.

Finished MM weekend gone. Haven't watched Bly Manor yet.
Hill House and MM were some seriously slow burns though.
With that said I enjoyed MM more than Hill House. Probably b/c I hadn't yet known what Flanagan's style is (he has some other content which I also haven't seen).

solarkh

Postby solarkh » October 6th, 2021, 10:59 am

solarkh wrote:Midnight Mass on Netflix was good. Same Director who did The Haunting Hill House and Bly Manor.

Finished MM weekend gone. Haven't watched Bly Manor yet.
Hill House and MM were some seriously slow burns though.
With that said I enjoyed MM more than Hill House. Probably b/c I hadn't yet known what Flanagan's style is (he has some other content which I also haven't seen).

Nice.

Bly is the slowest of these 3. They usually start of slow and pick up after the first 5 episodes.

Side note: Flanagan’s Dr. Sleep was great.

Postby st7 » October 6th, 2021, 11:34 am

Yeah i watched Dr Sleep weekend gone ...it was the director's cut. i enjoyed it a lot.

i might see Hush this weekend... that's another one by him.

Rovin, check out Locke and Key if u havent yet, season 2 coming out on Oct 22

Postby Rovin » October 6th, 2021, 11:41 am

last night i begun SNOWFALL i watched 3 episodes so far & i like it , has a boyz n d hood 80s vibe\timeline , same john singleton involved so its expected

mysteries i cud take on but i never was a horror genre fan, it just never appealed to me so my whole life i never watched anything horror ...

Postby Les Bain » October 6th, 2021, 1:15 pm

Maid was a hard watch at many points but it's easily my show of the year.

1st 2 seasons of the Sinner was great as well. Took premises that seemed incredibly complex and ominous and revealed them to be ominously simple. And something about seeing Jessica Beal looking perpetually bummed out in Season 1 was kinda hot, ngl.

donnysam

Postby donnysam » October 11th, 2021, 3:08 pm

st7 wrote:Yeah i watched Dr Sleep weekend gone ...it was the director's cut. i enjoyed it a lot.

Hush was actually really good and an under the radar release. Same actress that was in MM and Hill House. Tense af but excellent pacing.

Postby st7 » October 11th, 2021, 3:25 pm

donnysam wrote:
st7 wrote:Yeah i watched Dr Sleep weekend gone ...it was the director's cut. i enjoyed it a lot.

Hush was actually really good and an under the radar release. Same actress that was in MM and Hill House. Tense af but excellent pacing.

nice. i feel i will take it in tonight

dogg

Postby dogg » October 11th, 2021, 3:30 pm

I watched Chappelle's latest netflix special - "The Closer"

I have to say Chappelle is undoubtedly one of the greatest stand up act ever.
But unfortunately his best work is way way in the past.

Someone needs to tell him to get his head out of his ass, stop the Ted talk lectures and return to comedy.

I realised that the reason I thought his more recent work was good was that because it was Chappelle so it had to be good.
But they really weren't. They were just OK. With the laughs few and far between.

IMO the current standard bearer is Bill Burr.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 11th, 2021, 3:51 pm

dogg wrote:I watched Chappelle's latest netflix special - "The Closer"

I have to say Chappelle is undoubtedly one of the greatest stand up act ever.
But unfortunately his best work is way way in the past.

Someone needs to tell him to get his head out of his ass, stop the Ted talk lectures and return to comedy.

I realised that the reason I thought his more recent work was good was that because it was Chappelle so it had to be good.
But they really weren't. They were just OK. With the laughs few and far between.

IMO the current standard bearer is Bill Burr.

Dave chappelle in the last few years is a far cry from the dave chappelle in the early to mid 2000s.

brickman

Postby brickman » October 11th, 2021, 4:11 pm

Just watched Invincible season 1,damn that was good.Can't wait for season 2 next year.

death365

Postby death365 » October 11th, 2021, 4:53 pm

Yuh late on d drawer but better late than never... excellent story telling

Still waiting on the season 3 of one punch man
brickman wrote:Just watched Invincible season 1,damn that was good.Can't wait for season 2 next year.