***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Postby shogun » May 30th, 2020, 1:37 am

mero wrote:Justice league Dark: Apokolips War, one badass movie for those interested in DC anime, can’t remember last time I enjoyed an animated movie so

10/10

Ah! bruh, gonna check this out next if we still not asleep.

Watching "Tokyo Godfathers" right now. Only a few minutes into it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2020, 5:43 am

Any reviews on citizen four??

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 30th, 2020, 6:44 am

mero wrote:Justice league Dark: Apokolips War, one badass movie for those interested in DC anime, can’t remember last time I enjoyed an animated movie so

10/10

Started watching a series called Gangs of London too staring Joe Cole( John Boy from Peaky blinders)
Real grimy so far, good watch for those into mafia/mob series

Also started watching a

Apart from the gay shark nonsense i agree... apokolips was the best dc animated movie i have seen

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2020, 8:49 pm

Godfather of Harlem was a decent mafia/gang series.
only one season so far

Postby shogun » May 31st, 2020, 10:21 pm

elec2020 wrote:

10/10

Started watching a series called Gangs of London too staring Joe Cole( John Boy from Peaky blinders)

Also started watching a

Apart from the gay shark nonsense i agree... apokolips was the best dc animated movie i have seen

High praise there. Still didn't see it.... yet.

Postby sMASH » May 31st, 2020, 10:42 pm

shogun wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

10/10

Also started watching a

High praise there. Still didn't see it.... yet.

only if u done watch it then read the caption
i find it was meh, normal cartoon ting, until the final third with the plot twists. the plot twists and lead up to the plot twists were mind blowing. turned a 4/10 movie to 7/10 movie, with those. final third of the movie was worth the build up of the former.

Postby shogun » May 31st, 2020, 10:50 pm

Oh gorsh! Spoiler temptation at this hour dred?

*heads off to find suitable DL*

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 1st, 2020, 8:01 am

In response to Smash... my high praise was due to the fact that apokolopis amalgamated about 4/5 movies nicely into one... that is not an easy feat... it also did some things (you know what I am talking about) that u rarely see in these kind of movies... that was very surprising... it went against the usual mold imo

Postby Rovin » June 1st, 2020, 11:16 am

during d 2 mths shutdown i watch out all 7 seasons of d BLACKLIST , finally finish it last night , they had to cancel production of it due to covid so they leave we on a cliff hangin ...

Postby Dizzy28 » June 1st, 2020, 12:31 pm

Since the lockdown I started and finished -
Narcos and Narcos Mexico (Fairly epic but got a little less interesting each season)
Sex Education (Funny)
A Series of Unfortunate Events (darkish if watching with kids)
Money Heist (Got worse when the netflix money started rolling in IMO)
Better of Dead (So so for me)
Inbetweeners (fcuking hilarious)

All are pretty good watch dependent on what you want at the time

Currently watching -
Dark (Going real good with season 3 releasing this month)
Dirk Gently (Okish for me)
Space Force (Funny in bits)
SnowPiercer (episodes being released weekly)

Started but didn't go back to it in a while -
Tiger King (Finished 3 episodes and can't see the big deal)

Lined up
Kingdom
Fauda

If my son around I usually watch Brooklyn 99 or Arrested Development given the amount of cussing in everything else. On S2 Arrested Development and S1 B99.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 1st, 2020, 6:08 pm

Recently watched Escape Plan (2019). I enjoyed it. Some ppl complained that it ripped off the Saw movies but I never got into those. There's also a sequel coming out.
Also saw The Namesake (2006). It's an indo American movie with Irfan Khan and Kal Penn. Mostly in English with a few subs. Probably the first movie I've watched in tv6 in years, but it was a real good story.

I started watching snow piercer but couldn't get past the start of ep 2 when they put the lady's hand out the window.

A good foreign series on Netflix is Into the Night, mostly in French. Just think what would u do if u knew anyone seeing the next sunrise will die. How do u outrun the sun?

Postby Rovin » June 5th, 2020, 8:29 pm

last wk i finished watching all of THE BLACKLIST , gotta wait til they make some more

recently for d 1st time started viewing GRIMM which ran from 2011 to 2017

its different , kinda creepy mythological detective\crime drama ... i reach half way into season 1 , it going decent so far

Postby Monk BANzai » July 7th, 2020, 12:55 am

Country_Bookie wrote:Recently watched Escape Plan (2019). I enjoyed it. Some ppl complained that it ripped off the Saw movies but I never got into those. There's also a sequel coming out.
Also saw The Namesake (2006). It's an indo American movie with Irfan Khan and Kal Penn. Mostly in English with a few subs. Probably the first movie I've watched in tv6 in years, but it was a real good story.

I started watching snow piercer but couldn't get past the start of ep 2 when they put the lady's hand out the window.

A good foreign series on Netflix is Into the Night, mostly in French. Just think what would u do if u knew anyone seeing the next sunrise will die. How do u outrun the sun?

take another stab at SnowPiercer...it has developed really well.... two hour season finale next week...

Postby Dizzy28 » July 7th, 2020, 1:17 pm

Took in The Spy over the weekend (NF)

Its a six part mini series staring Sacha Baron Cohen as Mossad agent Eli Cohen.
Very good watch.

Cohen was in so deep he almost became Syrian Minister of Defence.

Postby 16 cycles » July 7th, 2020, 1:20 pm

Final Space...."chookity!!"

Postby Rovin » July 7th, 2020, 7:12 pm

last movie i watched was THE OUTPOST seems like a latest movie on d online sites

basically a war picture , was arite 6/10 ...

Postby Rovin » July 18th, 2020, 11:53 pm

jes finish watch

The Old Guard (2020 film)

decent action flick 7/10 , gonna be a sequel for sure ...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 19th, 2020, 12:18 am

Rovin wrote:jes finish watch

The Old Guard (2020 film)

decent action flick 7/10 , gonna be a sequel for sure ...

was a snoozeville for me...

took in "Greyhound"...Tom Hanks flick of a Destroyer trying to hunt down a pack of German U-boats while defending a supply/troop convoy of ships....was aight. like you...i'd give it a 7/10

SnowPeircer finished nicely.....looking forward to season two.

Postby Rovin » July 19th, 2020, 12:41 am

i watched GREYHOUND last wk end , decent, id say 6/10 ...

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2020, 11:11 am

long time i never used to watch long continuing story tv series cause i just never had patience but now into it

in thread while back i see u guys mention a old tv series THE WIRE from back in 2002\3 - last night i finally finished it , man that was damn good, its unlike anything i seen b4... d plot, acting, writing\dialog, rawness of it, shows what goes on in d drug world how police do their work & politics\politicians doing their thing, almost a full hr episodes no 45 minutes bisniss .... 10/10 , it cud have probably gone on even longer

so now i gonna have to look for something new\good to watch , suggestions ? ...

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2020, 11:35 am

You finish True Detective? A lot of true-type stories in there about sex trafficking and child abduction.
Season 1, i binge watched over 2 days. The actors were top-notch.
Season 2 wasn't as good though.
Season 3 had a lot of twists and was good.

I had started HBO's "The Leftovers" and it was going ok... but the Departure question would never be answered and i didn't care about the frustrating characters after a few episodes. Reviews say it was rel good though.
Last edited by maj. tom on August 14th, 2020, 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2020, 11:38 am

nah i eh know bout dat 1 , will look into it ... thanks for d suggestion

Postby Dizzy28 » August 14th, 2020, 11:53 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Since the lockdown I started and finished -
Narcos and Narcos Mexico (Fairly epic but got a little less interesting each season)
Sex Education (Funny)
A Series of Unfortunate Events (darkish if watching with kids)
Money Heist (Got worse when the netflix money started rolling in IMO)
Better of Dead (So so for me)
Inbetweeners (fcuking hilarious)

All are pretty good watch dependent on what you want at the time

Currently watching -
Dark (Going real good with season 3 releasing this month)
Dirk Gently (Okish for me)
Space Force (Funny in bits)
SnowPiercer (episodes being released weekly)

Started but didn't go back to it in a while -
Tiger King (Finished 3 episodes and can't see the big deal)

Lined up
Kingdom
Fauda

If my son around I usually watch Brooklyn 99 or Arrested Development given the amount of cussing in everything else. On S2 Arrested Development and S1 B99.

Update from my last post
Completed or no longer watching (for now)
Finished Dark - 9/10 (Only the fact it was in German spoilt it, the english dubbing sounded too weird)
Dirk Gently - No headway still on S1, E4
Space Force - Didn't continue
Snow Piercer - 7.5/10
Tiger King - Now reach Ep6
Community - Really funny S1-3, moderately funny thereafter
Better Call Saul - As Vexx Dogg described it in another thread, a slow burn but worth the watch

Currently Watching
Fauda - On season 2 and this is really quite good. It's in Hebrew and Arabic but the acting, pacing, action all exceptional. What Jack Ryan could have been
Ended up starting Lucifer and its an okay series - On S3
Peaky Blinders - On S3. It's ok
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt - Funny sitcom of 4 season
Brooklyn 99 - S3 (Why I am so late to this I dunno)

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2020, 11:53 am

Sherlock was good with Benedict Cumberbatch... if you're into Sherlock Holmes and had read the books.
BBC did a really good modern adaptation of some of the stories in the books.

BBC again quality over quantity: Sir Rowan Atkinson did 4 episodes of Maigret. It was damn good too. If you don't know Maigret, it's based on a French detective novel series in the 1950s and Sir Michael Gambon had done a whole TV series in 1992.

If you ever want to know if you have a human soul and weep, then watch Grave of the Fireflies (1988), a Japanese anime film. Its events were more real than anyone alive today can imagine. And they didn't even touch on the Atomic Bomb. I warn you about this one.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 14th, 2020, 12:12 pm

maj. tom wrote:Sherlock was good with Benedict Cumberbatch... if you're into Sherlock Holmes and had read the books.
BBC did a really good modern adaptation of some of the stories in the books.

BBC again quality over quantity: Sir Rowan Atkinson did 4 episodes of Maigret. It was damn good too. If you don't know Maigret, it's based on a French detective novel series in the 1950s and Sir Michael Gambon had done a whole TV series in 1992.

If you ever want to know if you have a human soul and weep, then watch Grave of the Fireflies (1988), a Japanese anime film. Its events were more real than anyone alive today can imagine. And they didn't even touch on the Atomic Bomb. I warn you about this one.

BBC had a VS Naipaul 2 part documentary the other day. Was a good watch.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2020, 1:27 pm

This. Excellent .

Screen Shot 2020-08-14 at 1.26.05 PM.png

Postby 16 cycles » August 14th, 2020, 7:51 pm

Rovin wrote:
in thread while back i see u guys mention a old tv series THE WIRE from back in 2002\3 -

Can try Narcos; Ozark; True Detective (crime)
Penny Dreadful (horror)
Homeland -first few seasons
Watchmen
Full Metal Alchemist- Brotherhood

Postby Dizzy28 » August 14th, 2020, 8:12 pm

Now see Netflix drop a movie today, Project Power with Jamie Foxx, Joseph Gordon Levitt and Machine Gun Kelly (yikes). Feel that is that tonight's viewing.

Sci fi vibes

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2020, 9:15 pm

16 cycles wrote:
Rovin wrote:
in thread while back i see u guys mention a old tv series THE WIRE from back in 2002\3 -

Can try Narcos; Ozark; True Detective (crime)
Penny Dreadful (horror)
Homeland -first few seasons
Watchmen
Full Metal Alchemist- Brotherhood

Condor both seasons...

Rockram

Postby Rockram » August 14th, 2020, 9:26 pm

True detective season 1 is a must see 10/10
Season 2 5/10
Season 3 7/10