Certified Copy Help and Car Purchase Runaround

adriano7910

Certified Copy Help and Car Purchase Runaround

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 6:35 pm

HI, I've been interested in buying a car from a guy for over 3 weeks now. All he has is the original first owner's certified copy with his name on the transfer chit. This is not enough as the car could have changed hands since then without me knowing. He has tried to get a certified copy for over two weeks now (or so he says) and i refuse to spent 60k on a car if I'm not sure of the ownership.
Can anyone help speed this process up. Will be greatly appreciative since I've been getting the run around coming on close to a month. i just want to get this over with as all finances are in order since day one and one months is a very long time and i need to know if i am wasting my time.

Contact no. 704-1005, 393-3627
Name: Adrian

Re: Certified Copy Help and Car Purchase Runaround

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 4th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Simple, buy another car

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 6:50 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Simple, buy another car

but we know the history of this car and it was meticulously maintained.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 4th, 2011, 6:57 pm

You claim to know the car history but you don't know if the car changed hands and you didn't know, make up your mind.

Postby SUPAstarr » July 4th, 2011, 6:58 pm

actually i got the runaround for my certified copy when i had my hatch, my hatch was sold with the old owners certified copy and a chit with my name on it, it was no problems in licensing office

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 7:03 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:You claim to know the car history but you don't know if the car changed hands and you didn't know, make up your mind.

well there is no possible reason to make up such a story. nothing gained there. we know the classic motors mechanics who know the car since it was bought. the car is still serviced by them out of the company. but we do not know these current owners. if this clears things up.

Postby toyolink » July 4th, 2011, 7:05 pm

Presently the licensing authority seems to have found themselves in another mess when it comes to transfers and issusing of certified copies and they are having real problems executing a significant number of requests for these services.
My understanding is that there is a not too well know full review of vehicle files offsite and base records of vehicles are all over the place (in the hands of people in chagaramas).
Last edited by toyolink on July 4th, 2011, 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 4th, 2011, 7:17 pm

adriano7910 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:You claim to know the car history but you don't know if the car changed hands and you didn't know, make up your mind.

well there is no possible reason to make up such a story. nothing gained there. we know the classic motors mechanics who know the car since it was bought. the car is still serviced by them out of the company. but we do not know these current owners. if this clears things up.

Okay then, well then, is up to you if you want 60K to jump up, but go to a Licensing Office and talk to a tout or instructor, they might be able to help you get a link, most likely for a fee of course

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 7:28 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
adriano7910 wrote:

Okay then, well then, is up to you if you want 60K to jump up, but go to a Licensing Office and talk to a tout or instructor, they might be able to help you get a link, most likely for a fee of course

:lol: well the fee is known. But i would rather first try to get help from a fellow tuner than try to bribe a licensing officer and potentially get embarrassed

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » July 4th, 2011, 7:34 pm

i had to wait over a year to get a certified copy & that was when i did an engine change.maybe you can get the service record from classic motors,it should have the information related to the owners of the vehicle 8-) .

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 4th, 2011, 7:39 pm

i paid for a transfer a while ago , went to collect the certified copy and my name was not on it . Lucky thing i kept the receipt , had to go line up to see the chief clerk , the clerk said that there was no record of the transaction , only my receipt. So I had to go locate the previous owner and start the process again , this took months because the previous owner went to work in canada .

Be careful with them transfer issues.

Postby r3iXmann » July 4th, 2011, 7:41 pm

adriano7910 wrote: :lol: well the fee is known. But i would rather first try to get help from a fellow tuner than try to bribe a licensing officer and potentially get embarrassed

feller,you NEVER approach any license officer about bribe..you have to go through the channels

yuh green orr? :lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 7:46 pm

Hirotoshi wrote:i had to wait over a year to get a certified copy & that was when i did an engine change.maybe you can get the service record from classic motors,it should have the information related to the owners of the vehicle 8-) .

well the car was sold years after the warranty expired. its an ek4. so it will not have information on the current owner. only the first owners

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 7:49 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
adriano7910 wrote: :lol: well the fee is known. But i would rather first try to get help from a fellow tuner than try to bribe a licensing officer and potentially get embarrassed

feller,you NEVER approach any license officer about bribe..you have to go through the channels

lol will make sure not to go down that route. thanks

Postby Sky » July 4th, 2011, 8:13 pm

Lic officer woulda watch you for a good 10 seconds, puzzled, then rock a clout on you.

Postby eliteauto » July 4th, 2011, 8:16 pm

you have no issues, when the car goes to Licensing they will check, if he has a transfer chit well you have no issue btw a CC is not necessary to effect a transfer, if I'm reading you clearly you're wary against the current seller having sold the car to someone else and now selling it to you? if that is possible then how does the current seller still have possession? Since you want the car why didn't you apply for a CC a month ago?

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 8:26 pm

we went to transfer my old car to someone and i inquired about applying then. At the time they had some issues with computers and filing. They said come back another day. So we told the owner to get it and then we would do the transfer. i just want to make sure the car is his. 60k isn't exactly pocket change. but having talked to someone tonight they said that licensing office does checks before the transfer to ensure the person selling is in fact the owner. Can anyone confirm?

Postby SUPAstarr » July 4th, 2011, 8:34 pm

eliteauto wrote:you have no issues, when the car goes to Licensing they will check, if he has a transfer chit well you have no issue btw a CC is not necessary to effect a transfer, if I'm reading you clearly you're wary against the current seller having sold the car to someone else and now selling it to you? if that is possible then how does the current seller still have possession? Since you want the car why didn't you apply for a CC a month ago?

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » July 4th, 2011, 9:00 pm

If all else fails dude, buy my car. $55k takes it. I'll be around... *throws coin in the air*

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=381080

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 9:33 pm

lol. honda for life bro

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 10:23 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:lol

eliteauto wrote:you have no issues, when the car goes to Licensing they will check, if he has a transfer chit well you have no issue btw a CC is not necessary to effect a transfer, if I'm reading you clearly you're wary against the current seller having sold the car to someone else and now selling it to you? if that is possible then how does the current seller still have possession? Since you want the car why didn't you apply for a CC a month ago?

does that laugh mean they dont or do check?

i2smart4u

Postby i2smart4u » July 4th, 2011, 10:25 pm

this same thing happened to me, the seller explained it to me this way: what the seller is trying to do is do a double transfer.....he has already paid for car to be transferred to his name on the certified copy, hence its on the chit (small $ or so i think). But has not paid to actually transfer the car. So when you buy the car you pay the transfer and get your chit also, the new certified copy will have 3 previous owners but only state two which will be you and the first owner. this way he sells the car without him paying transfer fees from the previous owner.

I DUNNO IF ITS LEGAL OR NOT BUT I'VE SEEN SELLERS DO THIS WITH BUY AND SELL BUSINESSES.

i eventually got a better deal but the guy sold the car!

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 4th, 2011, 10:43 pm

dont know about that but at this point all that would give me piece of mind is either help to get the certified copy faster or someone confirming that licensing office does indeed check the current owner against the person selling the vehicle

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » July 6th, 2011, 8:59 am

what u can do is go to LO in POS an run a check an see if the car is in fact in the name of the guy sellin u... if not den wen u purchasing u have to make sure dat the original owner is present wen u doin ur transfer.

Postby S_2NR » July 6th, 2011, 9:05 am

r3iXmann wrote:

seein that! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 6th, 2011, 3:13 pm

end somebody from tuner was offering that kinda service?

wasn't it hammy bolo?
i could be wrong..

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » July 6th, 2011, 7:31 pm

adriano7910 wrote:lol. honda for life bro

:( Brand loyalty. Ok I can respect that. :)