***THE FARMERS CHED***

h1tach1

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby h1tach1 » October 3rd, 2020, 5:55 pm

Does anyone know that name of the small plant/root that is used to prevent land slips? I saw it used in on CNC3 some months ago but cannot find the story. Thanks.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 3rd, 2020, 6:26 pm

h1tach1 wrote:Does anyone know that name of the small plant/root that is used to prevent land slips? I saw it used in on CNC3 some months ago but cannot find the story. Thanks.

Vetiver grass

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2020, 6:41 pm

i ain’t go lie this year have the most amount of zaboca ever seen
every corner have somebody selling but only small ones

where all these zaboca being grown?

Postby X_Factor » October 3rd, 2020, 8:33 pm

Grenada and DR
I saw someone came to deliver to the guy who has the fruit stall in the area...I sure it's about 5-600 he bought

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » October 4th, 2020, 7:32 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
h1tach1 wrote:Does anyone know that name of the small plant/root that is used to prevent land slips? I saw it used in on CNC3 some months ago but cannot find the story. Thanks.

Vetiver grass

Thanks.
pugboy wrote:i ain’t go lie this year have the most amount of zaboca ever seen
every corner have somebody selling but only small ones

where all these zaboca being grown?

Yes it has been a good year for local zaboca. Would have thought the buyers would have eased up on their imports and made use of our surplus.

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2020, 8:10 pm

good year for limes too

Postby bluefete » October 5th, 2020, 2:50 pm

pugboy wrote:good year for limes too

Not at $4/$5 for ONE.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » October 5th, 2020, 2:56 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Vetiver grass

Anyone know where I can get a few roots? Want to stabilise a lil slope by me

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2020, 3:19 pm

where you seeing those prices ?
most are around a dollar or less

bluefete wrote:

Not at $4/$5 for ONE.

Postby Chimera » October 5th, 2020, 5:35 pm

Anywhere in trinidad have ronstar or a suitable alternative for a seed killer/ premergent? Only getting prowl and that's sheit

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 5th, 2020, 6:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Anywhere in trinidad have ronstar or a suitable alternative for a seed killer/ premergent? Only getting prowl and that's sheit

Prowl worked for me. Bissessar's in Sando told me the soil needs to be damp when applying. Try them for the Ronstar.

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » October 6th, 2020, 10:10 am

Nexus wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Vetiver grass

Same.

Postby 88sins » October 6th, 2020, 10:26 am

Fellas I looking to buy a roll of 1/2" x 4' square wire mesh, ketchin meh ass to source it.
Anyone know where I can get that like ASAP?

Postby maj. tom » October 6th, 2020, 10:39 am

never see that in a hardware, 1/2 inch X 4 foot sounds like a custom job? Call wire mesh manufacturers. Varma or Trinrico maybe.

Postby Rovin » October 6th, 2020, 11:24 am

not advertising for anybody but jes saw this ad on fb for local exotic fruit plants , interesting stuff ... if i had a few acres of land i wud buy 1 of each & plant them

scroll thru pics .... https://www.facebook.com/championindust ... 756880645/

Nexus

Postby Nexus » October 6th, 2020, 11:42 am

Rovin wrote:not advertising for anybody but jes saw this ad on fb for local exotic fruit plants , interesting stuff ... if i had a few acres of land i wud buy 1 of each & plant them

Based on the citrus, them prices not bad...all over is about $75 for a plant. Thanks

Postby 88sins » October 6th, 2020, 12:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:never see that in a hardware, 1/2 inch X 4 foot sounds like a custom job? Call wire mesh manufacturers. Varma or Trinrico maybe.

Nah is not a custom made thing, each of the squares are half inch by half inch, and the entire width is 4 feet.
Called varma, trinrico, chan's, SWS and a lot of others.
Only place that claim to have it is bhagwansingh trincity, but I NOT paying nobody retail price per foot for a whole roll of mesh.

Postby Rovin » October 6th, 2020, 1:31 pm

bhags chaguanas have a decent amt of wire mesh from 1\4" to 1" , i dunno if they sell by d roll ...

Postby 88sins » October 6th, 2020, 3:00 pm

Rovin wrote:bhags chaguanas have a decent amt of wire mesh from 1\4" to 1" , i dunno if they sell by d roll ...

they don't, they sell by the foot, & at $15/foot for a 100' roll, that's $1500 as opposed to SWS selling the same thing when they have in stock for about $480/roll,

I eh feeling to jus take being robbed these days

Postby Chimera » October 6th, 2020, 3:22 pm

Since last week I trying to find time to go by them.i wanna buy 2 -4of everything lol
Nexus wrote:
Rovin wrote:not advertising for anybody but jes saw this ad on fb for local exotic fruit plants , interesting stuff ... if i had a few acres of land i wud buy 1 of each & plant them

Based on the citrus, them prices not bad...all over is about $75 for a plant. Thanks

ftitan

Postby ftitan » October 7th, 2020, 4:33 pm

It's how the man spell nearly everything wrong.
Just be careful with them, I only found 1 fb seller who knows about the plants he selling. The rest trying a smart thing.

Nexus wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Vetiver grass

La Vega in gran couva, gotta call and order a few days prior to pickup.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2020, 7:27 pm

bluefete wrote:

Not at $4/$5 for ONE.

Lime selling cheap :$50 per 100

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2020, 7:31 pm

Is ginger grown large scale locally ?
Heard a lot is imported from other islands

Seems to hold price.

MGATT

Postby MGATT » October 7th, 2020, 8:50 pm

Nexus wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Vetiver grass

Planning to do the same here. I have some growing by me wild, I could organize a few roots for you. I'm in Maracas St Joseph, msg if you want them.

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2020, 9:42 pm

pugboy wrote:Is ginger grown large scale locally ?
Heard a lot is imported from other islands

Seems to hold price.

Yes, a few farmers grow ginger large scale locally. I know a few people that do it, and they don't grow nuttn else but that. But there's one major issue with local ginger, that being that most of what hits the retail market is is imported, not from up the islands, but from China. That and garlic, China exporting those two things cheaper than dirt, so to get locally grown ginger sold does be stiff at times unless you time the market right.

Ginger holding price is only at the retailers, if you only know what they pay for the imported stock by the 100 lb., even in times of market shortages, yuh would bawl to realize the profits on it at the retail end.

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2020, 9:59 pm

Yeah I find it hard to pay them prices for ginger
But du no if worthwhile to grow with limited space

Postby X_Factor » October 7th, 2020, 10:17 pm

i planted 40 holes of ginger each hole has two plants....will see how it goes next year

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2020, 10:52 pm

pugboy wrote:Yeah I find it hard to pay them prices for ginger

Trust me, it's worth it.
Even if it's a 10×20 patch and all you grow is for personal consumption, gotta remember, it's a low maintenance crop so the cost from cutting to reaping is relatively low, and is just one more thing you won't have to find money to buy, plus you have the satisfaction of knowing that you produced it yourself.

The one tree i studying to get is a bay leaf. I does use it a lot, not only for cooking meat, but I just studying if that justifies a whole tree. Feel I go put one down for Christmas. A bay leaf tree adds a sweet aroma to a property when a breeze hit it just right.

Postby bluefete » October 17th, 2020, 11:05 am

Last edited by bluefete on October 17th, 2020, 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » October 17th, 2020, 11:06 am

pugboy wrote:Yeah I find it hard to pay them prices for ginger

Even planting one or two is better than nothing.