***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2022, 4:24 pm

things not looking too good with the flooding last month
produce aint hot at all and the expected price drops after divali hasnt happened as a result

went south today and looking at the tomatoes on offer was dismal, only force ripe thing
I would guess for xmas prices gonna be holding up

Long_bamboo

Postby Long_bamboo » December 18th, 2022, 8:17 pm

Dem theefing mc gone with meh nice big bunch ah gro michel again ah wonder if is dem piper vene dem jk somebody go dead in d back dey

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2023, 5:45 am

Fellas, serious question.
Since the ban on paraquat and several other herbicides, what herbicide allyuh using? Because of all the herbicides that haven't been banned and are still available, I eh too enthusiastic about using any of them. I liked paraquat because it's fast acting, not systemic and has a short half life.
Everybody pushing glyphosate, 2-4D, and others. Me eh want that. Traces of glyphosate remains in the soil for years, and that's beside the fact that it's a known carcinogen.

What allyuh recommend?

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2023, 6:06 am

Paraquat banned where?

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2023, 6:09 am

I use sunquat or exhiquat or herbinate..I think u still get paraquat to buy ill find out today.

Thats for instant kills.

Carista,lifeline, baste,herbinate for the longer kills.

Ishoppes in bamboo have a massive variety of items and it have alot of new things on the market I never try

Seeing things like slasher,destroyer etc.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2023, 6:33 am

herbinate is glypho based one

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 25th, 2023, 11:08 am

88sins wrote:Fellas, serious question.
Since the ban on paraquat and several other herbicides, what herbicide allyuh using? Because of all the herbicides that haven't been banned and are still available, I eh too enthusiastic about using any of them. I liked paraquat because it's fast acting, not systemic and has a short half life.
Everybody pushing glyphosate, 2-4D, and others. Me eh want that. Traces of glyphosate remains in the soil for years, and that's beside the fact that it's a known carcinogen.

What allyuh recommend?

Swiper and sunquat....swiper is systemic though...works pretty well

Postby alfa » January 25th, 2023, 11:12 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
88sins wrote:Fellas, serious question.

What allyuh recommend?

Swiper and sunquat....swiper is systemic though...works pretty well

I getting paraquat based grammoxzone in the penal normal

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2023, 2:17 pm

Well all the agri shops north side telling me they banned paraquat. It still have some around, but everybody only have the 1l bottles and nobody i check have the gallon bottles. Not in sunquat, or any other brand.

@shakes
Swiper is glyphosate based.

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2023, 2:56 pm

88sins wrote:Well all the agri shops north side telling me they banned paraquat. It still have some around, but everybody only have the 1l bottles and nobody i check have the gallon bottles. Not in sunquat, or any other brand.

@shakes
Swiper is glyphosate based.

just called CAS chemicals
$165 for 3 liter paraquat, in stock
673-6802

located in orange field road when you heading towards the hanuman temple

Postby adnj » January 25th, 2023, 3:05 pm

Paraquat has been banned by a number of countries and allowed restricted use in many others. I have seen nothing like that regarding Trinidad.

China supplies most of the paraquat that is used worldwide. COVID lockdowns caused supply issues around the world for some chemicals that I am aware of. I can't say that paraquat supplies were restricted because of lockdowns but it seems very likely.

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2023, 7:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

just called CAS chemicals
$165 for 3 liter paraquat, in stock
673-6802

located in orange field road when you heading towards the hanuman temple

Thanks PS.
About 2 months ago I bought a gallon for 100 in aranguez. That price still not too terrible

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2023, 8:11 pm

you use a lot, better mind some goats

hindian

Postby hindian » January 26th, 2023, 8:20 am

Fellas, pesticide for millipedes aka congorees? I have an invasion in my house and I don’t know how to get rid of them. Thanks

Postby maj. tom » January 26th, 2023, 9:00 am

Nothing poisonous. Boric acid.

Postby timelapse » January 26th, 2023, 9:12 am

hindian wrote:Fellas, pesticide for millipedes aka congorees? I have an invasion in my house and I don’t know how to get rid of them. Thanks
Pet Guinea Fowl

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2023, 10:16 am

Guinea fowl eating the snails too

hindian

Postby hindian » January 26th, 2023, 1:26 pm

maj. tom wrote:Nothing poisonous. Boric acid.

Thanks wil try it. Where can I get that though?

Postby adnj » January 26th, 2023, 1:30 pm

hindian wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Nothing poisonous. Boric acid.

Thanks wil try it. Where can I get that though?
Most stores carry boric acid as "roach and ant killer."

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2023, 3:56 pm

hindian wrote:Fellas, pesticide for millipedes aka congorees? I have an invasion in my house and I don’t know how to get rid of them. Thanks

Regent. VERY lethal....but works

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2023, 4:01 pm

dont spray regent on flowering plants, f#%ks up any nearby bees and their hives

Postby pugboy » January 26th, 2023, 4:08 pm

boy regent is everything now
it’s all the termite companies use now too

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2023, 5:32 pm

pugboy wrote:you use a lot, better mind some goats

Yeah. Almost all is used on the family estate. There's plenty areas where we didn't put large bearing fruit trees, and grass grows real quick in these open areas. So to avoid having to forever be cutting section by section every week, is chemical like dat. Cut grass can get 2 feet high and need cutting in about 2-3weeks. With good weather and a thorough spray, it remains clear for about 2-3 months.

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2023, 5:39 pm

Start with clearing all leaf litter and old rotting wood off your property, as far from the house as possible. That's their preferred hiding places.

hindian

Postby hindian » January 26th, 2023, 6:24 pm

Start with clearing all leaf litter and old rotting wood off your property, as far from the house as possible. That's their preferred hiding places.

Now that you mentioned it, I have a pile of lumber I kept for house construction so as to lower the cost to buy material in the future but I noticed that it a bit damp. So I guess i organizing a burn pile soon. Thanks bro.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » February 2nd, 2023, 12:39 pm

Be careful about buying cabbage in the coming weeks.

They could have been contaminated by a poisonous substance.

This was the warning yesterday from the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, which advised people to be careful about who and where they buy cabbage in the next two weeks.

The caution came after cabbages sprayed with an insecticide were stolen from a farm on the North Coast.

This particular mixture requires at least a two-week period to wear off before it can be harvested.

If eaten within that period, it can be harmful to people, police said yesterday.

A farmer reported to police on Tuesday evening that around 6 p.m. on Monday, he sprayed his crop of cabbage with an insecticide known as King Dragon.

He returned around 3.30 p.m. on Tuesday and discovered that a large quantity of the crop of cabbage had been uprooted and stolen.

The crop was valued at approximately $10,000.

The TTPS said people should think about their health if they purchase the stolen goods.

Vendors at the San Juan Market told the Express yesterday that they were alarmed by the report.

However, several stressed that they had purchased their goods from reputable wholesalers.

“A lot of us here, we have our connections with farmers who supply us from areas in Santa Cruz, El Socorro, and even as far as Central. So, I’m not too worried about that,” one vendor said.

However, another, who identified himself as Mr Lalla, said the warning by the police could mean slow or no sales of cabbage over the next couple of weeks.

Vendors worried

“But what I am worried about is the impact that it may have on sales. Because if the police are saying be careful, a lot of people will automatically take that as to stay away from cabbage. And that can lead to losses. When more than likely it will be the people you see selling on the side of the road who will have it. And that’s not a knock on the road vendors. Most of them are just trying to make an honest living, but there are a few bad apples who will make life difficult,” he said.

“And this is such a situation. Cause where would the cabbage go? You don’t steal that to keep. You’re going to want to sell it. And now people run the risk of getting very sick. So I’m expecting people will stop buying that for a bit, and the many are now going to have to pay for the actions of a reckless few,” he added.

The TTPS called on members of the public who may have any information about this offence or any other offence to call 736-TTPS (8877), 999, 555 or the nearest police station.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 9ae8e.html

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 1:19 pm

2 weeks gonna make the chemicals disappear from the cabbage

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » February 2nd, 2023, 1:30 pm

Hear that chemical King Dragon real effective though.

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2023, 3:00 pm

Ppl use to spray cabbage with lanate to kill the worms and pests. Because cabbage does attract alot of pests

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 4:23 pm

baigan too, when you see nice smooth skin baigan you can be sure

and doh talk about the amount of whiteflies baigan does attract, tomato and pepper does hardly have compared