could i argue in court

Re: TICKET QUESTION

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 16th, 2011, 9:02 pm

dogface wrote:got a ticket for a blown low beam
high beam works
could i argue in court

:? Argue what? That you are going to drive around and indiscriminately blind everyone with your high beams? You yourself say that the ticket is for the low beam, not the high beam. Just for that stupid logic, the judge should lock you up for seven days in Golden Grove.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2011, 9:13 pm

^ that's a harsh reply

high beam works
could i argue in court
didn't you realise only one side was lighting while driving?

Postby foss » July 16th, 2011, 9:14 pm

Rory PMSin tonight apparently.

Postby Kenjo » July 16th, 2011, 9:14 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
high beam works
could i argue in court

:? Argue what? That you are going to drive around and indiscriminately blind everyone with your high beams? You yourself say that the ticket is for the low beam, not the high beam. Just for that stupid logic, the judge should lock you up for seven days in Golden Grove.

jokes on you!the master keys for golden grove lost so they can't lock up nobody!!!!!!!!OP you had a blown light you cant get away there palos,pay your fine and change your bulb.

Postby foss » July 16th, 2011, 9:21 pm

Kenjo, thanks for adding that. I was gonna quote him, but don't wanna upset Rory more :S

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 16th, 2011, 9:24 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that's a harsh reply

high beam works
could i argue in court
didn't you realise only one side was lighting while driving?

Ignorance is no excuse, I want to agree with Duane in that you ought to have known that one of your lights was blown and you should have made the necessary repairs.
I remembered once when one of my brake lights was blown. I was so uncomfortable driving home that I made it my business to stop at the nearest parts place to buy a replacement bulb.
I didn't want to run the risk of getting a ticket from any police, so I did what I needed to.
Last edited by eViLwOn on July 16th, 2011, 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » July 16th, 2011, 9:25 pm

foss wrote:Rory PMSin tonight apparently.

he always on PMS mode

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 16th, 2011, 9:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that's a harsh reply

foss wrote:Rory PMSin tonight apparently.

:? Apparently. *Takes Midol*

Dear dogface,

While your line of reasoning that while you still had a functioning headlight when it was on the high beam setting seems plausible, the fact of the matter remains that your headlight was not fully functional. Further to this, according to your original post you were ticketed for a non-functioning low beam and not a non-functioning headlight. It seems that our esteemed Police service was very specific with respect to your infraction.

In light of the above, it is my humble opinion that your consideration of trying to argue the issuing of the ticket is not feasible. Should you still wish to pursue this argument and your case is heard before a hardline judge, he/she may penalise you for your somewhat flawed logic with a sentence of seven days in jail at the facility in Golden Grove, Arouca. From all accounts of the conditions at this penitentiary, I don't think that you would want to spend even a minute in there.

I therefore am in agreement with Kenjo that the wisest course of action would be to pay your fine and learn from this experience.

I do hope that the rest of your weekend is pleasant and relaxing.

I remain here at your convenience should you require any further clarifications on the above.

Yours truly,

Last edited by Rory Phoulorie on July 16th, 2011, 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 16th, 2011, 9:32 pm

how much you have to pay?

Postby wagonrunner » July 16th, 2011, 9:41 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:how much you have to pay?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 16th, 2011, 9:43 pm

boy just pay the ticket,you want to waste time n go in court to loss the case,the magistrate should fine you guilty just for challenging something like that,i doubt you have to more than $500.

Postby sharkman121 » July 16th, 2011, 9:47 pm

Postby wagonrunner » July 16th, 2011, 9:53 pm

i dunno if its $500. i think that could be up to $1000 (officer discretion).
can't find the old thread with the new fines schedule

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 16th, 2011, 10:01 pm

^^ officer's discretion you sure bai?? i think it have certain fines for certain offenses.they have to follow that rule book,if they don't then you could go to court.

Postby DFC » July 16th, 2011, 10:04 pm

Heh....pay yuh fine and chillax.

Fix your car and obey the law.

A non-functional headlight , and a negligent car owner contributes to the lawlessness and curruption in the land.
Don't add to the already out of control disregard for the law.

Be a good citizen, fix your car and don't challenge the system.

Yeaahhh !

Postby sliderz1 » July 16th, 2011, 10:07 pm

eViLwOn wrote:I remembered once when one of my brake lights was blown. I was so uncomfortable driving home that I made it my business to stop at the nearest parts place to buy a replacement bulb.
I didn't want to run the risk of getting a ticket from any police, so I did what I needed to.

the fact that he using his lights states it maybe in the night, goodluck finding a auto shop open at that time...........

seriously tho OP..........did it blow on the same day or a while ago??

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 16th, 2011, 10:12 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

jusme

Postby jusme » July 16th, 2011, 10:35 pm

I think its 1000. I got pulled over earlier this year for a blown low beam (which i knew was blown) but i argued that i didnt realise because of the bright arse screen on top of kc ind sq (where the officer stopped me) I told him i'd go straight home and replace it 1st thing in the morning & he let me go. ps i got it replaced 1st thing the next day, which was a sunday

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 16th, 2011, 10:36 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
eViLwOn wrote:I remembered once when one of my brake lights was blown. I was so uncomfortable driving home that I made it my business to stop at the nearest parts place to buy a replacement bulb.

the fact that he using his lights states it maybe in the night, goodluck finding a auto shop open at that time...........

seriously tho OP..........did it blow on the same day or a while ago??

Point well taken sliderz1, I had the fortune to get to a parts place because it was daylight..
if however, the headlamp bulb was blown a day or two prior to the ticket being issued then it would be the fault of the driver not having it replaced in a timely manner...
Its our responsibility to check the road worthiness of our vehicles and not the police...

Postby sliderz1 » July 16th, 2011, 10:44 pm

eViLwOn wrote:[
Its our responsibility to check the road worthiness of our vehicles and not the police...

its puts the driver and other road users at risk

besides it doh take nun much to do a general walk around and a scope out every now and again

jusme

Postby jusme » July 16th, 2011, 10:48 pm

^^^ I've always wondered what if my brake lights blow while im driving?

Postby rfari » July 16th, 2011, 10:51 pm

jusme wrote:I think its 1000. I got pulled over earlier this year for a blown low beam (which i knew was blown) but i argued that i didnt realise because of the bright arse screen on top of kc ind sq (where the officer stopped me) I told him i'd go straight home and replace it 1st thing in the morning & he let me go. ps i got it replaced 1st thing the next day, which was a sunday

OP should have done this. tell them that it was ok all the time and them boom, it blow. he cyar tell u anything. buh try it on the judge and see.

Postby sliderz1 » July 16th, 2011, 11:04 pm

jusme wrote:^^^ I've always wondered what if my brake lights blow while im driving?

then u'll be rather lucky to encounter a policeman same time..............

if so...honesty should get you somewhere

Postby gastly369 » July 16th, 2011, 11:31 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
jusme wrote:^^^ I've always wondered what if my brake lights blow while im driving?

if so...ah bribe should get you somewhere

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2011, 11:33 pm

is nuttin to keep some spare bulbs in the car

I hope the OP didnt drive around with his high beams on cause his low beam was blown!!!

Postby gastly369 » July 16th, 2011, 11:41 pm

Postby sliderz1 » July 16th, 2011, 11:43 pm

gastly369 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

if so...ah bribe should get you somewhere

daz another offense tho!!!!

Postby Morpheus » July 17th, 2011, 2:24 am

I have spare double contact (brake bulbs), single contact (side marker bulb) and wedge bulbs (back number plate and park light) in my glove box, along with spare fuses of various ratings.

Also it is a good practise to check all lights at least every couple of weeks. I do it after general cleaning. Turn key to on, put in reverse, turn on hazards, etc.

Have been doing that for years. That is beyond common sense if you ask me.

Hate to see vehicles on the road with defective lighting!

Postby Morpheus » July 17th, 2011, 2:26 am

BTW to answer the purpose of the thread. OP pay the fine. Count your losses.