Environmentalist, Julian Kenny dies

Skanky

Environmentalist, Julian Kenny dies

Postby Skanky » August 9th, 2011, 3:38 pm

Former EMA Chairman, and T&T's foremost environmentalist, Professor Julian Kenny, has died.

Professor Kenny died around noon on Tuesday at his home at Haleland Park in Maraval.

He was last in the news headlines in May, when he resigned as Chairman of the Environmental Management Authority. At the time, he cited the Government's failure to reinstate the original Certificate of Environmental Clearance (CEC) rules that govern quarrying as the primary reason behind his decision to resign.

Professor Kenny was part of the anti-smelter movement a few years ago. He said while the idea of building an island offshore Otaheite has been bandied about, it posed a threat to "the important fish and shrimp harvesting area at the Oropouche Bank".

He functioned as an Advisor to the Inter-Ministerial Committee on the Law of the Sea Convention; Chairman of the Board of the Institute of Marine Affairs; and member of a Cabinet-appointed Committee for Drafting Legislation to Create National Parks.

He was also a former Independent Senator.

According to National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST), Professor Kenny was a zoologist who has made his mark documenting the natural history of the Caribbean.

"His research has uncovered details on the distribution of freshwater fish species in Trinidad and Tobago and provided information on the species of anurans to be found in these islands. He also spearheaded research at the University of the West Indies (UWI), which highlighted information on the ecological dynamics of some of the country's natural areas, including its savannas, wetlands, cave systems, marine systems and coral reefs. His work has contributed to the protection of sensitive ecosystems, the management of fisheries and the development of a National Trust.

Professor Kenny spent 29 years on staff in the Department of Life Sciences at UWI, St. Augustine.

He was a lecturer on various aspects of Zoology, but is best known for his work in zoogeography - a specialised branch of ecology which studies the factors influencing the distribution of animals - and his knowledge of the natural history of the Caribbean. He has worked extensively with research students at UWI developing ecological profiles of the Tamana Caves, the Caroni Swamp and the Aripo Savannas.

Source:http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=30250&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=facebook

Re: Environmentalist, Julian Kenny dies

Postby zoom rader » August 9th, 2011, 3:40 pm

This is sad RIP dude, the PNM gave him a hard time for his smelter work

Postby crazybalhead » August 9th, 2011, 3:41 pm

RIP dan.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » August 9th, 2011, 3:44 pm

Wow, just finished reading his article in todays Express...wat a shock!! Truly a great loss...R.I.P.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 9th, 2011, 3:47 pm

RIP

Loved reading his stuff in the paper.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2011, 3:48 pm

RIP to one of the better intellectuals in the country.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 9th, 2011, 4:07 pm

D man just left d wukk!!!!

RIP sir. He made an impact on my environmental consciousness.

Postby K74T » August 9th, 2011, 4:12 pm

R.I.P.

Postby RBphoto » August 9th, 2011, 4:14 pm

R.I.P. to a great environmental activist.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 9th, 2011, 4:23 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:RIP to one of the better intellectuals in the country.
yup

thanks Prof Kenny for your great contributions to T&T, may you rest in eternal peace.

neoise

Postby neoise » August 9th, 2011, 4:24 pm

Rip- always respected this guy

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 9th, 2011, 6:37 pm

zoom rader wrote:This is sad RIP dude, the PNM gave him a hard time for his smelter work

and the skunts in the PP drove the final nails in his coffin by hiring him as Chairman of EMA and then screwing him over....R.I.P

PapaDouen

Postby PapaDouen » August 9th, 2011, 7:08 pm

R.I.P. Professor Kenny. Needed more people like you. Really enjoyed your articles especially the series on homosexual orientation of wild animals.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 9th, 2011, 10:21 pm

he was a brilliant guy - R.I.P ...

Postby gt4tified » August 9th, 2011, 11:10 pm

R.I.P. Prof. Kenny. I hope your life’s work would not be ignored or let by the wayside.

Postby De Dragon » August 9th, 2011, 11:46 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:This is sad RIP dude, the PNM gave him a hard time for his smelter work

and the skunts in the PP drove the final nails in his coffin by hiring him as Chairman of EMA and then screwing him over....R.I.P

:? :?
Relax yuh scrunt dey jeddie, not every single facking thing has got to be politicized ok?
RIP Dr K, for making environmental awareness easier and more interesting.

Postby SMc » August 10th, 2011, 2:51 am

NOOOOO...

Great man, great zooligist ...honestly one of my heroes :( . I still have a cut out of his 'Eco-Highway: Oxymoron? commentry from 2003 which I read from time to time.

R.I.P.

secret_service

Postby secret_service » August 10th, 2011, 3:34 am

Professor Kenneth Julien‎...........thought was this guy

RIP
never heard of you before today..........sorry

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » August 10th, 2011, 4:56 am

RIP DAN

Postby De Dragon » August 10th, 2011, 5:20 am

secret_service wrote:Professor Kenneth Julien‎...........thought was this guy

RIP
never heard of you before today..........sorry

PNM?

Postby RBphoto » August 10th, 2011, 7:53 am

gt4tified wrote:R.I.P. Prof. Kenny. I hope your life’s work would not be ignored or let by the wayside.

What we choose to ignore will be our downfall. I did not agree with a few of his articles, as he could be a little utopian at times, but even those were a good read.

Anton

Postby Anton » August 10th, 2011, 12:14 pm

R.I.P. Prof, you'll certainly be missed! May the grass be truly greener on the other side.