a house questiion - privacy fencing - what would u suggest

dman

a house questiion - privacy fencing - what would u suggest

Postby dman » August 10th, 2011, 10:55 am

hi tuners i need some assistance re a situation i have

i built my house and am quite happy with it unfortunately when i was fencing i opted to go with walls around the back to give my family privacy when we have get togethers

the sides are chain link not the normal kind i special ordered it beacuse i own pitbulls and the front i have concrete and iron work

the sad part is i have a neibour who dosent care about anything keeps her place in a dirty state etc when she has a wackerman cut her grass they dirty up to my under ceiling which is 2 story's high my whole house becomes a wash of mud and if we are lucky to be home it takes us about an hour to wash it off if not and it dries longer

i have spoken to them repeatedly but all they do is cut it when we are not home plus they have a heap of gravel and she wants them to cut the grass on that and sends stones at my vehicles etc

i can fully understand now who acts of violence can be committed at such minor things 3yrs is 36mths of aggravation

i am looking for a cheap but strong way to seal off the chainlink sides which are 50ft each appox

my options so far

concrete blocks

clay blocks

roof sheeting

any other suggestions?

i know some tuners would find this stupid - i use to be hasty and am trying for a better lifestyle

Re: a house questiion - privacy fencing - what would u sugge

Postby ronsin1 » August 10th, 2011, 11:00 am

My recommendation is a Concrete block wall with proper foundation might cost but it will last

Postby Rainman » August 10th, 2011, 11:01 am

Wall around the main compound, moat around the premises filled with gators, snipers on north and south towers and landmines.

On a serious note, it's going to look rather ugly using anything to "cover" the chainlink fence.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 10th, 2011, 11:03 am

wall it with concrete blocks also put sum barb wire at top

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 10th, 2011, 11:06 am

concrete block wall if u not planning on plastering
if u wanna plaster ... then clay is the cheaper alternative

Postby ronsin1 » August 10th, 2011, 11:09 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:concrete block wall if u not planning on plastering
if u wanna plaster ... then clay is the cheaper alternative

yuh have an allan clay block system for walls I doh know eh I just asking :lol:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 10th, 2011, 11:11 am

^^^^ no ... the allan block system depends of the weight of each block structurally
48lbs each

d spike

Postby d spike » August 10th, 2011, 11:28 am

Rainman wrote:On a serious note, it's going to look rather ugly using anything to "cover" the chainlink fence.

Not really. There is a product called "Chain link Fence Weave". There is an old example of it (or a similar product) on the southern side of the Lady Chancellor hill on a perimeter fence for a guest house ("Alicia's Palace", I think), although they installed the product horizontally instead, allowing for more light/air/macco-vision to pass through.
Converts chain link fencing fabric to a privacy fence. Each 250' roll covers 40 sq. ft. and is diagonally installed. Made of flexible polyethylene extrusion.
"The most economical chain-link fence filler... Guaranteed for 5 years"
Includes metal fence weave fasteners. Available in 10 designer colors.

Postby ismithx » August 10th, 2011, 11:32 am

^^ seriously, that's a nice product there.... *considers installing....*

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2011, 12:07 pm

ronsin1 wrote:My recommendation is a Concrete block wall with proper foundation might cost but it will last

concrete blocks FTW,easy to flush point and paint afterwards,lasts long and you could consider razon wire,or barb wire or break up so bottle and put it on top( security reasons) depending on area where u live,ah doh find it so attractive though.

Postby SMc » August 10th, 2011, 1:37 pm

plant some trees and make it into a hedge...not an immediate fix but will make the garden look better than that plastic stuff and you may get some unexpected wildlife there.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 10th, 2011, 1:42 pm

d spike wrote:
Rainman wrote:On a serious note, it's going to look rather ugly using anything to "cover" the chainlink fence.

Not really. There is a product called "Chain link Fence Weave". There is an old example of it (or a similar product) on the southern side of the Lady Chancellor hill on a perimeter fence for a guest house ("Alicia's Palace", I think), although they installed the product horizontally instead, allowing for more light/air/macco-vision to pass through.
Converts chain link fencing fabric to a privacy fence. Each 250' roll covers 40 sq. ft. and is diagonally installed. Made of flexible polyethylene extrusion.

Looks good, I wonder where this is sold!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 10th, 2011, 1:50 pm

this is not a strange thing eh OP....

there is a similiar situation at a neighbourhood in my area.......

the owner used roofing sheets......cut them nicely and lined it against his chain linked fenced.....

honestly it looks good cause he has colour in his yard...used the blue roofing sheets........

it looks great and all conflict with the neighbour has ended........

thinking bout doing the same when my neighbour acts up lol......

Postby Damien » August 10th, 2011, 1:53 pm

concrete wall, build it

Postby SR » August 10th, 2011, 2:00 pm

diesel every now and then on the neighbours lawn no need to weed wack anymore

or valpar

lawn go be dead for weeks and yuh neighbour go get the picture

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 10th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Wall it!

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » August 10th, 2011, 2:38 pm

pelt the dog sheit over the fence....

kevcam

Postby kevcam » August 10th, 2011, 2:43 pm

d spike wrote:

Not bad at all.

Postby Greypatch » August 10th, 2011, 3:07 pm

hard luck there dan...glad to know yuh finish the house though.

like the neigh eh like you at all.

concrete blocks and you good to go for many years.

dva2

Postby dva2 » August 10th, 2011, 3:12 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:this is not a strange thing eh OP....

there is a similiar situation at a neighbourhood in my area.......

the owner used roofing sheets......cut them nicely and lined it against his chain linked fenced.....

honestly it looks good cause he has colour in his yard...used the blue roofing sheets........

it looks great and all conflict with the neighbour has ended........

thinking bout doing the same when my neighbour acts up lol......

x2 it serves it purpose an if done neatly looks good to.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » August 10th, 2011, 3:53 pm

Use clay blocks, plaster your side, leave the unplastered ugly side towards them,lol.

If you use the sheeting, that might cause noise with dogs/ppl banging against it.

dman

Postby dman » August 11th, 2011, 12:02 am

thanks fellas - looking at getting estimates

Postby stev » August 11th, 2011, 11:34 am

ronsin1 wrote:My recommendation is a Concrete block wall with proper foundation might cost but it will last

agreed!!!

that is if you goin wit concrete

xeon

Postby xeon » August 11th, 2011, 11:47 am

Privacy Slats/Inserts..... Not sure who sells them locally. Saw them being used in the US and when done neatly it looks quite decent.

http://www.fencecenter.com/PrivacySlatsandInserts.aspx

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 11th, 2011, 12:00 pm

Rahtid wrote:Use clay blocks, plaster your side, leave the unplastered ugly side towards them,lol.

If you use the sheeting, that might cause noise with dogs/ppl banging against it.

i was gonna suggest this too ... but decide not to show me gunta side :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hot Rod

Postby Hot Rod » August 11th, 2011, 12:01 pm

15 - 20 ft galvanize in dey mc

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » August 11th, 2011, 12:27 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
Rahtid wrote:Use clay blocks, plaster your side, leave the unplastered ugly side towards them,lol.

i was gonna suggest this too ... but decide not to show me gunta side :lol: :lol: :lol:

Lol..........when it comes to unreasonable individuals I say move like a gunta.

Put the wall at the end of your property line and let them watch a bare concrete wall.

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat: