fighting dengue

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 17th, 2011, 8:42 am

Some tips to get rid of the buggers

First, get your house and garden mosquito-proof:

* Install or repair window and door screens so that mosquitoes cannot get indoors.

* Reduce or eliminate standing water around your home, even in very small amounts, because that's where mosquito larvae breed. This includes flower pots, gardening cans, wheelbarrows, puddles, old tires, tin cans, tires, buckets, and open trash cans. Change water in a birdbath every week. For water you plan to keep, as in ponds and water features, try mosquito dunks or rings.

* Keep gutters clear of debris.

* Keep grass cut short and shrubbery well trimmed around your home.

* Eliminate ruts and holes that cause puddles in your yard.

* Consider the new electronic mosquito repellers, which are available in handy keychain size or tabletop versions.

* There are also traps available for mosquitos, which are helpful in keeping the pests away from humans.

* Nets are available for various places in your home, including open doorways, to keep mosquitoes from coming in your home in the summer.

Second, protect the people who live in your home:

* As much as possible, stay indoors between dusk and dawn, which is peak mosquito biting time. Avoid activities in areas where mosquitoes are plentiful.

* Wear light colored clothing in the summer, which attracts less mosquitoes than darker clothing.

* Consider wearing protective clothing such as long sleeves, long pants and socks while outdoors, especially when walking in wooded areas.

* Apply insect repellent sparingly to exposed skin. An effective repellent will contain 25% to 35% DEET. DEET in high concentrations (greater than 35%) provides no additional protection. Repellents may irritate the eyes and mouth, so avoid applying repellent to the hands of children.

* Consider using mosquito netting in areas your family uses often.

Illnesses related to mosquito bites are rare. However, a person should see a doctor immediately if they develop symptoms such as high fever, confusion, neck pain, muscle weakness or severe headaches. Patients with mild symptoms are likely to recover completely and do not require any specific medication or laboratory testing.

Reminder: If your mosquitoes are a real infestation,call the relevant authorities to get your area sprayed.

Insect Vector Unit
Ministry of Health
3 Queen Street
St. Joseph
Trinidad

Phone: (868) 663-2281/6
Opening hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday to Friday, except public holidays.

Re: fighting dengue

Postby janfar » August 17th, 2011, 8:44 am

good stuff here hottgyul...

and congrats on the graduation btw...

Postby Trini Hookah » August 17th, 2011, 9:34 am

Got a little yellow thing from my mom's, hang it up and ALLLL the mosquitoes clear out, will post pics of it later but it works wonders.

Postby stev » August 17th, 2011, 9:47 am

bought a zapper from ah man on d highway...tried to hit a bat and ended up with the handle alone. :|

Postby DFC » August 17th, 2011, 9:50 am

Light incense, the smoke will run da mosquitoes.and maybe run some jumbie too.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 17th, 2011, 9:50 am

stev wrote:bought a zapper from ah man on d highway...tried to hit a bat and ended up with the handle alone. :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 17th, 2011, 9:50 am

nice info OP.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 17th, 2011, 9:59 am

Thanks FRJ.

zappers - defective

mosquito coils - they inhaling that like weed

nets - place too hot for that

health spraying the place - they spraying from the road like they going for a drive,not even coming out the vehicle.

The most reliable option is cleanliness.

Postby crazybalhead » August 17th, 2011, 10:01 am

hottgyul wrote:Thanks FRJ.

zappers - defective

Your house is not air conditioned?

health spraying the place - they spraying from the road like they going for a drive,not even coming out the vehicle.

Postby sliderz1 » August 17th, 2011, 10:02 am

nice read hottgyul

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 17th, 2011, 10:13 am

crazybalhead wrote:

zappers - defective

i living in the bush, peakes' aint reach there yet :|

Postby stev » August 17th, 2011, 10:15 am

kill it if u see it

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » August 17th, 2011, 10:18 am

Good Info.

Postby crazybalhead » August 17th, 2011, 10:20 am

stev, YUH MC, Ah just slap meh laptop screen. You will be sent a bill.

But seriously, good info dey gyul. I need to do some cleaning up, badly.

Postby DFC » August 17th, 2011, 10:22 am

I capture mosquitoes and starve them till they die,
Then leave their dead bodies by the windows and doors, as a grim reminder to all eager mosquitoes, their doomed fate should they enter my place.
Last edited by DFC on August 17th, 2011, 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ronsin1 » August 17th, 2011, 10:23 am

hottgyul wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

zappers - defective

I supply AC's at reasonable prices (cheap Plug) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby stev » August 17th, 2011, 10:23 am

crazybalhead wrote:stev, YUH MC, Ah just slap meh laptop screen. You will be sent a bill.

But seriously, good info dey gyul. I need to do some cleaning up, badly.

lawd....cant imagine wat dat laptop does go tru if u watchin porn :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » August 17th, 2011, 10:26 am

ronsin1 wrote:
hottgyul wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

zappers - defective

He really does!!! But quite tableland???

Postby ronsin1 » August 17th, 2011, 10:30 am

crazybalhead wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
hottgyul wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

zappers - defective

He really does!!! But quite tableland???

Boss man ah day we went on a site visit in Penal (well so the people tell we) we end up quinam the house was the last house in a little trace opposite from the house was bush with monkeys jumping from tree to tree :lol: :lol: :lol:

Truth be told we installing AC's Anywhere

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 17th, 2011, 10:34 am

Work in progress, will let you know when i'm ready. :lol:

and CBH, Tableland is not QUITE DEY eh :?

the City of Tableland is rapidly reaching 20/20. :|

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 17th, 2011, 10:38 am

Mosquitoes doh live in AC?

Like them living by me have winter clothing an thing because the AC does be full blast....them buggers busing style on my wall. Like they chatting or something.

Postby crazybalhead » August 17th, 2011, 10:40 am

Seeker wrote:Mosquitoes doh live in AC?

Like them living by me have winter clothing an thing because the AC does be full blast....them buggers busing style on my wall. Like they chatting or something.

They do, but then you can use your mosquito nets.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 17th, 2011, 10:46 am

Oh..i forgot all about those nets.

"slaps self"

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 17th, 2011, 10:48 am

I personally think these are hybrid mosquitoes,the only way sure to destroy them is going retro

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 17th, 2011, 10:52 am

one other thing to note is that if contracted to stay away from ibuprofen and aspirin/brufen based
this can result in death. the hospitals are mandated to treat all flu like cases as dengue.....so keep in mind the type of meds u take...its not treatable by anti biotics....you just have to weahter it out with paracetamol/tylenol...

Postby crazybalhead » August 17th, 2011, 10:55 am

Friday, August 05, 2011

The Ministry of Health is calling on the public to assist in the Government’s efforts to eliminate mosquito breeding sites.

The public is reminded that in order to prevent the spread of this disease, ‘source reduction’ should be practiced through:

Disposal of all unwanted containers in the yard or environs which when exposed to the rain can collect water e.g. styrotex cups, bottles, old tyres;
Treating water containers and tanks periodically with 1/2 to 1 tbl spoon of bleach to 1 gallon of water every six weeks or one teaspoon of temephos granules per 55 gallon drum every three to six months
Covering of all water-containing containers such as barrels, drums or buckets with a mosquito-proof covering;
Checking your guttering and making sure that the water flows freely without any obstruction by leaves or branches, and guttering is free from any kinks;
Emptying the pan under the refrigerator which can collect water;
Emptying and scrubbing the sides of water vases or using dirt or sand instead to support the flowers;
Ensuring that the drains in your compound allow the free flow of water.

Please contact your Local Government Councillor to arrange clean ups for your community. If there is a mosquito infestation, alert Insect Vector Control at 663 2281 and/or your local government authority or email the Ministry at corpcomm@health.gov.tt.

The Ministry of Health would like to urge anyone showing dengue fever symptoms, including but not limited to headaches, high fever, backache, vomiting, skin rash, muscle and joint pains, pain behind the eyes and diarrhoea to please visit his/her doctor or the nearest health facility.

Citizens are asked to keep themselves updated on Dengue Fever and preventative measures against dengue through the Ministry’s:

Web site at www.health.gov.tt
Facebook group: Ministry of Health
Twitter @ moh_tt
Email @ corpcomm@health.gov.tt

More info on the site.

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 17th, 2011, 10:58 am

one thing i cant understand the vaccine for h1n1 was out on the market within a month...trials period where? there has been a vaccine for dengue fever in a tetravalent form . and its not available for the public its still under ''trial'' jhu has administered it to ppl on a trial...so far i have heard of success....docs in middle eastern countries have resorted to ''bush med'' as they are claiming grounded pawpaw leaves the juice from this is actually helping in the recovery of hheamorrhagic fever dhf

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » August 17th, 2011, 11:11 am

once your home air conditioned & cleaned regularly ... vacuuming, mopping etc no loads of dirty laundry around ... this runs them out of the house regualrly ,... and spray the entire home when you're out 8-)

Postby r3iXmann » August 17th, 2011, 11:18 am

I prefer this as my weapon of choice:

AN94 (i don't use the m203 attachment though)

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 17th, 2011, 11:35 am