Solar powered AC units

JWT

Solar powered AC units

Postby JWT » August 23rd, 2011, 9:08 pm

i am looking for anyone selling this, check FEN's marabella already.

Any company selling them locally

nick009

Re: Solar powered AC units

Postby nick009 » August 23rd, 2011, 9:13 pm

u have any specs on this?

i know they have solar powered chillers but this is a fairly sizable installation

JWT

Postby JWT » August 23rd, 2011, 9:20 pm

i am looking into as an alternative to a regular ac units.

checked fens but their own uses both electricity and solar which makes no sense

Postby S_2NR » August 23rd, 2011, 9:32 pm

didn know this exists.
why not just install a solar panel

JWT

Postby JWT » August 23rd, 2011, 9:35 pm

yeah but where sells solar panels with enough juice lolol

doe say price smart lolol

Postby S_2NR » August 23rd, 2011, 9:37 pm

i honestly have no idea.
but why choose the solar route with the A/Cs tho? just raising the temp on the thermostat and adding insulation to the rooms could make it run more efficiently and use less energy.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 23rd, 2011, 9:49 pm

JWT wrote:yeah but where sells solar panels with enough juice lolol

doe say price smart lolol

Bring the panels in yourself

I'm looking into it right now to power up 6 a/c's plus lights

Postby shogun » August 23rd, 2011, 9:50 pm

been looking for a local dealer/seller here as well....got four units in my house and the electricity bill, is no joke.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2011, 9:51 pm

they starting to push solar a/c in florida currently,
there are tax break laws for people who have them installed to save electricity
it getting so bad there are telemarketers pushing it big time with payment plans
for them to make money off the interest

Postby shogun » August 23rd, 2011, 9:59 pm

Yup. They should start doing the same here and get some strain off an already overburdened, grid.
A/C is no longer a luxury..either you have it, or you toasting in your house.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 23rd, 2011, 10:03 pm

^^^agreed.....also thinking about this wind generator thingy..

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » August 23rd, 2011, 10:03 pm

shogun wrote:Yup. They should start doing the same here and get some strain off an already overburdened, grid.
A/C is no longer a luxury..either you have it, or you toasting in your house.

So true indeed, I have two 18000 btu units at home and I try only to use them at nights... the wifey would catch a fit if she caught me putting on the units during the day!

dgobo

Postby dgobo » August 23rd, 2011, 10:05 pm

Stones electricity is waay to cheap in Trinidad to go the solar route (at the moment), I’ve researched quite a few setups and none was as efficient or cost effective enough to make any sense.

That said, im almost never home during the day so i only need the ac at night, so if you’re thinking day light operations only well then maybe on a very sunny day yeah. Another factor to consider is, ISOLATION. It is illegal and you will be charged if your generated electricity gets on T&TEC's grid.

But heres a really nice system by Lennox
http://www.lennox.com/solar-solutions/solar-house.asp

Postby gt4tified » August 23rd, 2011, 10:41 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^agreed.....also thinking about this wind generator thingy..

x2, but I feel by me doh have enuff breeze for dat.

Postby wagonrunner » August 23rd, 2011, 10:53 pm

gt4tified wrote:

eat more chataigne and that problem go solve. :lol:

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 23rd, 2011, 11:03 pm

what place does make so hot especially if yuh does wake up lunch time lol. Imagine wakeing up in midday heat....no ceiling, just naked and raw galvanise staring down on yuh at 5ft 9in above you..no fan and 1 closed window. hahah

Is only we lagging, barbados have plenty ah dat solar panels.

Postby gt4tified » August 24th, 2011, 12:52 am

gt4tified wrote:

eat more chataigne and that problem go solve. :lol:

:lol: Bhai, if only eh...but ema gine have mih on speed dial like ian alleyne and central division tas......

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 24th, 2011, 1:24 am

dgobo wrote:Stones electricity is waay to cheap in Trinidad to go the solar route (at the moment), I’ve researched quite a few setups and none was as efficient or cost effective enough to make any sense.

That said, im almost never home during the day so i only need the ac at night, so if you’re thinking day light operations only well then maybe on a very sunny day yeah. Another factor to consider is, ISOLATION. It is illegal and you will be charged if your generated electricity gets on T&TEC's grid.

But heres a really nice system by Lennox
http://www.lennox.com/solar-solutions/solar-house.asp

being in the industry with 11 years experience the problem is as above ....

the start up cost will take you 25 plus years to start saving 1 dollar ..and the units will not last that long ....

a good 1800btu ser21 system with a solar power unit will cost more than 40k ttd
vs a 10ser system ( 4k )connected to t&tec

current is dog cheap in trini .... if u want to go solar ...start with water heaters ..they are your worst enemy in power consumption

xtech

Postby xtech » August 24th, 2011, 4:32 am

true........tried this an it failed. Sold all to Yachts mostly cause traditional electric power to cheap here for locals to be interested even the government was like nah........but now t&tec has a small pilot program checking feasibility of grid tied systems using solar and wind so i checking back in 5 years.

So until then is stupid solar water heaters. Something which any old oil drum could do for you just sitting out in the yard.

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » August 24th, 2011, 4:42 am

Call 708-5219, guy name is darren, they deal in solar units

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 24th, 2011, 7:35 am

JWT, have a look at the "CHILLER" type a/c units.
Service experts sells them, runs a bit differently to conventional a/c's but are quite effective and they burn no more that a small refrigerator.
You can have those on for much loger and still burn much less than normal units.

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » August 24th, 2011, 12:34 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:JWT, have a look at the "CHILLER" type a/c units.
Service experts sells them, runs a bit differently to conventional a/c's but are quite effective and they burn no more that a small refrigerator.
You can have those on for much loger and still burn much less than normal units.

Firstly.
Chillers are expensive
Chillers require pumps
Chiilers require Air handler Units (AHU)
AHU Require ducting depending on the size of the building
Chillers should be used for applications upwards of 20 tons
Chillers nurn more energy than a refrigerator depending on if they are vapour compression or vapour absorption chillers.

Vapour absorption provides use of less energy because they are powered by a fuel such as natural gas etc and not electricity.

Postby ronsin1 » August 24th, 2011, 12:38 pm

sizzla89 wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:JWT, have a look at the "CHILLER" type a/c units.

Firstly.
Chillers are expensive
Chillers require pumps
Chiilers require Air handler Units (AHU)
AHU Require ducting depending on the size of the building
Chillers should be used for applications upwards of 20 tons
Chillers nurn more energy than a refrigerator depending on if they are vapour compression or vapour absorption chillers.

Vapour absorption provides use of less energy because they are powered by a fuel such as natural gas etc and not electricity.

there are now residential chillers

Postby ronsin1 » August 24th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

I can install a inverter series with solar power for less than 10 grand 8-)

I also have a contact to get fully powered units at a very very reasonable price. But I have not started to market them as yet. I am doing the return on investment before I move forward with this venture.

I can also convert existing system to solar powered but this comes at a heavy price

Postby Dizzy28 » August 24th, 2011, 1:03 pm

All this talk of solar power.
What is the legality of producing your own power? I know it is illegal to allow power onto the grid except if you are Powergen/TTEC but can you convert all your consumption to self generated means full time?

Postby ronsin1 » August 24th, 2011, 1:09 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:All this talk of solar power.
What is the legality of producing your own power? I know it is illegal to allow power onto the grid except if you are Powergen/TTEC but can you convert all your consumption to self generated means full time?

From the last budget they have started to allow concessions for solar powered water heaters.

If it is still illegal they the so call government needs to amend the laws.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 24th, 2011, 1:12 pm

But solar powered heaters don't actually generate electricity. They merely utilize the heat of the sun to heat water.

I guess though once you generate but don't allow onto the grid you safe. Cuz real companies use generators and thing when power go down.

Postby ronsin1 » August 24th, 2011, 1:15 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:But solar powered heaters don't actually generate electricity. They merely utilize the heat of the sun to heat water.

I guess though once you generate but don't allow onto the grid you safe. Cuz real companies use generators and thing when power go down.

you need a license to operate a generator and every TTEC must inspect the Automatic Transfer Switch and Generator to ensure that is does not feed back on the grid

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » August 24th, 2011, 1:16 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
Ignorant Ignis wrote:

I can install a inverter series with solar power for less than 10 grand 8-)

I also have a contact to get fully powered units at a very very reasonable price. But I have not started to market them as yet. I am doing the return on investment before I move forward with this venture.

I can also convert existing system to solar powered but this comes at a heavy price

The inverter systems...what brand are they? I Know of Daikin and Toshiba that market these systems! These systems are usually multi split systems....One outdoor condensor and sever indoor eveaporators...your price sounds good but what does it include and what is the brand?

Postby ronsin1 » August 24th, 2011, 1:18 pm

you can get a panasonic or Gree the solar panels and batteries will have to be ordered.