on everything coming into the country now

based on an email i just recieved

pressure for everyone importing goods for xmass
expect longer delays than normal on the port

jeevdude199

Re: customs doing 100% inspection

Postby jeevdude199 » September 16th, 2011, 1:57 pm

ohhhhh so me cussing out my skybox means i'm not getting my pc parts anytime soon.....oh well

Postby BrotherHood » September 16th, 2011, 1:58 pm

Well with the current situation in this country it should

Postby Trini Hookah » September 16th, 2011, 1:59 pm

*crosses fingers* please order come in tonight

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 1:59 pm

especially for skybox packages so turn around delivery time gonna seriously be affected

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 1:59 pm

see what in my avatar, once that here safe & sound fcuk away with everything else! :mrgreen:

Postby pete » September 16th, 2011, 2:00 pm

What about goods LEAVING the country?

And AFAIK they're supposed to do 100% inspection on everything coming into the country..

Postby Habit7 » September 16th, 2011, 2:00 pm

What? they start doing their actual job? this can't be maintined for long

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 2:03 pm

awaits to see what happens end of oct/november

Postby TRAE » September 16th, 2011, 2:08 pm

Torque nuh !

Postby RBphoto » September 16th, 2011, 2:08 pm

Habit7 wrote:What? they start doing their actual job? this can't be maintined for long

I don't see any probs with this.

Postby hydroep » September 16th, 2011, 2:12 pm

SR wrote:on everything coming into the country now

Impossible.

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 2:14 pm

sr sure is not a bbm he get?

Postby Bizzare » September 16th, 2011, 2:17 pm

Things rel bad when a post like this is created.
Trini eh.... If police arrest someone, they're praised :?

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 2:18 pm

Dear Valued TRINIDAD & TOBAGO Customers,

As you may be aware our country’s current State of Emergency has necessitated increased security procedures, the most recent being T&T’s Customs & Excise Division instituting “100% inspection of ALL packages”.

Customs & Excise commenced with this on Wednesday of this week and it has understandably significantly lengthened the Customs clearance process.

This unfortunately delays our receipt of your packages to then deliver to you and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused while this remains in effect.

The management and staff

E Couriers Ltd.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » September 16th, 2011, 2:20 pm

noticed this too.....they've actually charged me accurately for all the items I brought down unfortunately...used to get away sometimes with them duties

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2011, 2:38 pm

hydroep wrote:
SR wrote:on everything coming into the country now

Impossible.

Agreed!! as a port worker myself this is impossible. Even if they begin to do this, theres no way there can be a thorough inspection.

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2011, 2:39 pm

skybox items are small fries compared to the volume of goods that comes into the country..but a mere minor percentage.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » September 16th, 2011, 2:47 pm

SR wrote:Dear Valued TRINIDAD & TOBAGO Customers,

As you may be aware our country’s current State of Emergency has necessitated increased security procedures, the most recent being T&T’s Customs & Excise Division instituting “100% inspection of ALL packages”.

Customs & Excise commenced with this on Wednesday of this week and it has understandably significantly lengthened the Customs clearance process.

This unfortunately delays our receipt of your packages to then deliver to you and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused while this remains in effect.

The management and staff

E Couriers Ltd.

^ Customs will actually be required to perform the duties that they were hired initially to execute! I have no problem with this newly (imagine that!!!) implemented procedure, however as one person stated, I am of the view that this will not last long. This is similar to trying to stop a dog from sucking egg when he has been doing it for years!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 16th, 2011, 4:11 pm

checking every item is impossible..they could try as they would be instucted too...but highly impossible to check every item....they would just make ppl wait longer cause ppl expecting too...

clearing goods is a beyotch.....

Xplode

Postby Xplode » September 16th, 2011, 4:18 pm

let them get the container x ray machine,all major ports have them.cause is the containers were the illegal stuff cumming into the country.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » September 16th, 2011, 4:24 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Habit7 wrote:What? they start doing their actual job? this can't be maintined for long

I don't see any probs with this.

I have a problem with the spelling!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 16th, 2011, 6:09 pm

Raptor how does that affect my things man????

Postby S_2NR » September 16th, 2011, 7:22 pm

got my packages today normel normel.
left miami wed.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » September 16th, 2011, 7:35 pm

correct me if I'm wrong but shouldn't customs have a 100% inspection policy for incoming packages anyway?

Postby S_2NR » September 16th, 2011, 7:37 pm

lost to all wrote:correct me if I'm wrong but shouldn't customs have a 100% inspection policy for incoming packages anyway?

not in trinidad.
50% is the norm.
10% on holidays and weekends.
and 0% with bribe money.

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2011, 7:37 pm

lost to all wrote:correct me if I'm wrong but shouldn't customs have a 100% inspection policy for incoming packages anyway?

incoming packages is not a problem...containers are :!:

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2011, 9:06 pm

that would be a 200% increase in their workload,
not many people in this world will do that for long......
however they may just delay for delaying sake

Postby Monk BANzai » September 16th, 2011, 10:19 pm

SR wrote:especially for skybox packages so turn around delivery time gonna seriously be affected

Ordered some parts two weeks ago...my tracking code says its in country since Monday...cant get it yet...skybox company saying the same thing....lots of delays.....

Postby Monk BANzai » September 17th, 2011, 1:42 am

pioneer wrote:ezone turnover is 2-3 days max once it reaches miami

Thats who i use....the SOE put a chokehold on that speed....