No more workman's permit for vans with canopies

Postby Team Loco » October 5th, 2011, 11:29 pm

just a heads up to anyone with a pick up with a canopy affixed to it. Licence office now require the following:

canopy must be "people friendly"
ie:
there must be no metal showing, all painted surfaces must be upholstered (like in a maxi)
you must have at least 3 roll bars within the canopy, in case of a roll over
canopy must be totally enclosed
absolutely no sharp objects in the canopy

we were told by a licence officer that they are basically making it difficult to obtain the permits. its now nearly impossible. if you do get a permit, its only valid for 6 mths. best bet now is to purchase a 12 seater bus.

Re: No more workman's permit for vans with canopies

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 5th, 2011, 11:32 pm

^^^wow, thanks for the info....btw rims wukkin nice...I love em!!!!!

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 6th, 2011, 12:16 am

what is a workman's permit?

Postby pete » October 6th, 2011, 5:09 am

Didn't you have a similar problem a couple years ago?

Postby Team Loco » October 6th, 2011, 8:06 am

yeah pete, i did but this time they are serious. last tme it was because the vehicle was leased from Ansa finance, they didnt want to give a workmans permit because vehicle wasnt on our name

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » October 6th, 2011, 9:58 am

I don't see ah problem there ,the right thing is the right safety is priority is not animals yuh transporting.

Postby Team Loco » October 6th, 2011, 10:14 am

never said i disagreed...........canopies are not that safe. however a grace period should be considered

Postby brams112 » October 6th, 2011, 6:08 pm

yeah they forget lap belts

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » October 6th, 2011, 7:14 pm

we were told by a licence officer that they are basically making it difficult to obtain the permits. its now nearly impossible. if you do get a permit, its only valid for 6 mths. best bet now is to purchase a 12 seater bus.

Is that pressure for ALL Workman's Permit or just for pickup vans?

So if your company purchases a T bus and want transport for 12 as I understand it.
You transfer the bus, say a E25, but with only seating for 3 persons.
Then you put (back) in the seats so it could hold 12 persons.

Then apply with the hope of getting approval for "workman's permit".

This is all new to me so I'm asking.

Is it difficult to get this approval for a bus?
And is it only for 6 months or are they longer periods granted?
And what if officer say " I feel you only need transport for 6 and not 12?

Thanks in advance.

Postby TRAE » October 15th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Is this just word of mouth by the officers or did they release a notice?

Postby hydroep » October 15th, 2011, 1:23 pm

Good move...time to get serious.

Postby wagonrunner » October 20th, 2011, 11:09 am

seems the government isn't following it's own rules.

not the clearest picture. but take a look at any of those type vehicles, from the various services, and see for yourself.

Postby Team Loco » October 20th, 2011, 11:55 am

i know eh. if they have re-inforcements in that canopy, then they can probably get away with it. we tried again and no luck.

Postby wagonrunner » October 20th, 2011, 1:01 pm

i had a good look, there's no padding. just the old bare metal that "was the usual". not sure of reinforcements either. saw nothing bar-like across the underside of it's roof.

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » October 21st, 2011, 7:09 pm

Found out Permit is subject to renewal every 6 mths.