fokhan_96

Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby fokhan_96 » October 24th, 2021, 8:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Meh side( India) playing today
Ayeee .... man jump ship...
Me too... lol
For me is either india or england or Namibia (must support an underdog)
WI dead to me. They could loss all their matches (which they probably will) for all i care.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2021, 9:21 am

fokhan_96 wrote:
Me too... lol
WI dead to me. They could loss all their matches (which they probably will) for all i care.

I aint jump..my two sides are WI and IND....but I feel the other side to watch is NZ

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » October 24th, 2021, 1:05 pm

WI could learn from this superb display from Pakistan here...keeping the scoreboard ticking over, great running between the wickets

Pakistan do have a tendency to collapse...but should get home easily here

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » October 24th, 2021, 1:07 pm

Giving up dots and trying to deal in boundaries is a recipe for disaster

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 24th, 2021, 1:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:
Me too... lol

I aint jump..my two sides are WI and IND....but I feel the other side to watch is NZ

My two sides is WI and Pakistan. I aint jump as yet but WI not looking good at all. The six or nothing approach may not work on the slow tired UAE surfaces. And Pooran and Hetmeyer need a season of FC cricket. They have receeded badly

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2021, 1:44 pm

Well India got an eye opener...

Postby bluefete » October 24th, 2021, 1:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Well India got an eye opener...

Definitely.

Happy for Pakistan especially as how England, NZ and the Aussies treated them recently.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 24th, 2021, 3:09 pm

bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Well India got an eye opener...

Definitely.

Happy for Pakistan especially as how England, NZ and the Aussies treated them recently.

Yeah. NZ and especially the ECB move rell nasty.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » October 26th, 2021, 5:24 am

They didn't put any indian bowlers. They too wicked ...lol
FB_IMG_1635240136979.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2021, 5:37 am

Windies pick Gayle again yes...They batting first

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2021, 8:31 am

Can they defend that 148?

I left home with them 74-1 after 10 overs thinking they well set up for a big score. Checking back to see a massive pop down.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2021, 9:01 am

Thus far, apart from the Afghan/Scot game, teams batting 2nd end up winning. If windies loss...they could be out of the tournament as they would be in a must win all position after this

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 26th, 2021, 9:10 am

I thought WI got knocked out? Didn't know they were still playing games.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2021, 9:13 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Thus far, apart from the Afghan/Scot game, teams batting 2nd end up winning. If windies loss...they could be out of the tournament as they would be in a must win all position after this

All games thus far the teams that won the toss won the game.
SA won the toss this morning!!

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 26th, 2021, 9:27 am

dey give up. wi lucky if they win one match this tournament.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2021, 9:30 am

Now reading up on all the bacchanal in SA's team.
Quinton De Kock pulled out of the match this morning after the Board directed the team to either bend a knee or raise a fist.

Could very well be the end of his SA career.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 26th, 2021, 11:30 am

I give him right yes. The board told him he don't have the option to raise a fist.... everyone has to kneel. What does taking a knee accomplish? More than a year now they doing it and it did anything to reduce racism??

BLM was an American thing... they even create a brand around it, but they stopped it as they realize it's pointless. Nba players stopped doing anything BLM related before games since last year December.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2021, 11:52 am

Country_Bookie wrote:I give him right yes. The board told him he don't have the option to raise a fist.... everyone has to kneel. What does taking a knee accomplish? More than a year now they doing it and it did anything to reduce racism??

BLM was an American thing... they even create a brand around it, but they stopped it as they realize it's pointless. Nba players stopped doing anything BLM related before games since last year December.

These are the words that could get you in trouble with the woke police!!
Careful!!

Daren Sammy and Carlos Braithwaite having a field day with this. Must be hard to have former mediocre players question a genuine world class cricketer over a gesture.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 26th, 2021, 12:03 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I give him right yes. The board told him he don't have the option to raise a fist.... everyone has to kneel. What does taking a knee accomplish? More than a year now they doing it and it did anything to reduce racism??

These are the words that could get you in trouble with the woke police!!
Careful!!

Daren Sammy and Carlos Braithwaite having a field day with this. Must be hard to have former mediocre players question a genuine world class cricketer over a gesture.

Maybe....it is a US thing. But we all know what went down in SA. How even if yuh aint racist(which honestly, in a place just 27 years out of official legislated racial discrimination maybe a bit impossible), actions could be interpreted a certain way. My concern is that the SA cappo said the team was rattled by it........why the WI didn't take advantage of that? Yuh cyah even say the pitch was slow and the outfield was slow. Both were in the batsman's favor. Pollard is meh boy, but im wondering if he may be too much of a spartan as captain. The teams he captains don't play as free as the teams captained by Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy. They almost look petrified of failure. Now I know that is not a result of Pollard's interactions with the team. He backs his players 100%. But I'm wondering if subconsciously, the intensity of his personality, makes them worried of failure. Or it could be that Lendl spend too much time in de wicket and put pressure on everybody else

We'll have to win the last three matches and hope that Australia or SA or England lose 2 games......and then it comes down to NRR

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2021, 2:48 pm

WI have been figured out whilst other teams have evolved.
WI still think absolute power is the way to go and don't rotate strike.

Didn't Sammy while commentating say if Windies have 24 balls to bat they won’t look to score off every ball cuz they have power hitters. They will try to hit at least 4 sixes out of the 24 balls and that is good enough?

WI are duncy. Tests, ODIs T20 it dont matter.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 26th, 2021, 3:31 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:WI have been figured out whilst other teams have evolved.
WI still think absolute power is the way to go and don't rotate strike.

Didn't Sammy while commentating say if Windies have 24 balls to bat they won’t look to score off every ball cuz they have power hitters. They will try to hit at least 4 sixes out of the 24 balls and that is good enough?

WI are duncy. Tests, ODIs T20 it dont matter.

Actually afganistan used that same tactic on scotland and us,the "defending champions". Sammy was de wrong man to ask that. Ganga is the creator of that strategy, first used in the 2009 CLT20. What sammy didn't say was that a big part of the strategy was to get at as close to 60 in the powerplay overs........and rotate until the last four so that pollard and co could go about their business without the kinda pressure they had today. Is not exactly the smash and grab cricket that everyone thinks it is. It emphasizes boundary hitting, but it does not rely on it exclusively

Postby Dizzy28 » October 27th, 2021, 8:37 am

Bang vs Eng this morning. England looking good at 83 for 1 chasing 124.
So far they and Pakistan have stood out to me but ah mean its still early days.

Namibia Scotland is the late match today.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » October 27th, 2021, 9:11 am

Is how the headlines around the world are "de kock pulls out" .

Postby Dizzy28 » October 28th, 2021, 2:46 pm

Australia looked pretty good in their win over SL today. That bowling lineup of Starc, Cummins and Hazelwood is quite formidable in any form of the game.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2021, 5:11 am

Let's see what windies do today

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 29th, 2021, 5:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Let's see what windies do today

Both in a must win situation, though I'd say Windies should have the upper hand.

Windies batting first after being put in by Bangladesh

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » October 29th, 2021, 8:33 am

Come on Bangladesh you can do this !

Postby Country_Bookie » October 29th, 2021, 9:11 am

West Indies geriatrics not making any impact on this tournament. Gayle, Bravo, Russell , even Ravi have not had much impact.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 29th, 2021, 10:05 am

Country_Bookie wrote:West Indies geriatrics not making any impact on this tournament. Gayle, Bravo, Russell , even Ravi have not had much impact.

Yea their time has passed I'd say.

Still a victory, but we need to improve drastically fast.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2021, 10:44 am

Scrape that win! Poor fielding in this game as well as questionable bowling decisions. A lotbof work to be done if they are to make it to the semis