Ganga steps down as T&T captain

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 13th, 2011, 12:13 pm

heard the boys talking about this today,they said its in today's express..I was :shock: :shock: he actually step down yes...well there goes his career....

By Garth Wattley
Story Created: Nov 13, 2011 ECT
Story Updated: Nov 13, 2011 at 9:30 AM ECT
After nine successful years in the job, Daren Ganga is giving up the captaincy of the Trinidad and Tobago cricket team.
"It is with great humility and a deep sense of gratitude that I announce my resignation from the post of captain of the Trinidad and Tobago national cricket team," 32-year-old Ganga said via a media release yesterday.
The announcement came five weeks after T&T's exit from the Nokia Champions League at the group stage and nearly two weeks after his side was beaten by Jamaica in the final of the Regional Super50 limited overs series, the same competition–then known as the President's Cup–which Ganga's unheralded team won in 2004 to begin a string of nine 50-over, Twenty20 and regional first-class titles since then.
In explaining the timing of his decision, Ganga said: "I have always believed that one of my most important duties as captain is to foster the development of the players in my team as a critical aspect of succession planning. The evolution of the team into the mature unit it is, along with the emergence of a pool of potential leaders within the team reaffirm that the time is right for relinquishing the reins of captaincy."
The ex-captain said, however, that he was not leaving the game.
"I wish to make it abundantly clear that I am not retiring from cricket and I continue to make myself available for selection on the national cricket team and pledge my support to the new captain."
Ganga added: "I have viewed this position of leadership as both a privilege and a tremendous responsibility that I have taken seriously during my tenure. While there have been challenges along the way, they pale in comparison to the innumerable rewarding moments and successes which I have enjoyed alongside my fellow players.
"One of the most fulfilling aspects of my captaincy was the opportunity to contribute to Trinidad and Tobago's rise from the lower tiers of West Indian cricket to the regional powerhouse it is today."
Ganga said he has set "certain goals" for himself for the future away from the game "I wish to achieve".
In ending, the former skipper publicly thanked "my wife and family for their unwavering support and for being my pillar of strength".
Ganga also acknowledged "my two brothers who have made tremendous sacrifices for what I have accomplished to date" and "my teammates who have been there through thick and thin".
He said: "Your contribution and support for me in my role as captain was integral to all that we have accomplished as a team."

Re: Ganga steps down as T&T captain

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2011, 12:52 pm

finally....should have done so 2 years ago

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 13th, 2011, 1:00 pm

good move.

Postby hydroep » November 13th, 2011, 1:03 pm

Saw this on the news last night. I guess all who were calling for his head should be happy now...:|

Given his poor form in recent times, it would appear that the only thing which kept him on the team was his prowess as Captain. With that no longer on offer, it's doubtful that he could maintain a spot on the side.

Perhaps his talents could still be utilized by putting him to work alongside the Team Manager and Coaches in getting the players up to scratch. It would be a mistake for him to get involved with Administration (as in the TTCB and the like) IMO.

Can't wait to see who'll they appoint as his successor.

Postby foss » November 13th, 2011, 1:12 pm

price of bodi unaffected.

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2011, 1:13 pm

foss wrote:price of bodi unaffected.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 13th, 2011, 1:16 pm

foss wrote:price of bodi unaffected.

Expected raise in price on monday

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 13th, 2011, 1:33 pm

that's an interesting topic right there,the next captain??

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2011, 2:17 pm

^ Ramdin

Postby X_Factor » November 13th, 2011, 2:24 pm

he should have retired from cricket entirely as im pretty sure he wont make the team given his performances....

they need to get a captain who will be with the team 90% of the time....cause i think thats how u get the respect....rather than when yuh not playing for WI, u coming to captain...captain ah 2 games and gone again...

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 13th, 2011, 2:25 pm

Finally!!!!!

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » November 13th, 2011, 2:37 pm

nex captain should be guillen

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2011, 2:47 pm

Guillen? He's not even (or shouldn't be) a sure pick

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 13th, 2011, 3:01 pm

ramdin or dwayne bravo, don't see any1 else...

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2011, 5:50 pm

he only good for talking in the microphone
always talking long winded comments

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2011, 6:26 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Guillen? He's not even (or shouldn't be) a sure pick

exactly....waste of space

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » November 13th, 2011, 9:44 pm

ramdin gonna be away all d time
same ting wit bravo
guillen young he could grow into the role with a young side around him

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 13th, 2011, 9:49 pm

pugboy wrote:he only good for talking in the microphone

I find Ganga used to talk way too much. It used to seem as if de whole team strategy was being revealed before d game :roll: . He was good at that aspect of a captain's role though (i.e. speaking to the press).

Devourment

Postby Devourment » November 13th, 2011, 10:38 pm

stepping down.....................like a boss

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 13th, 2011, 10:41 pm

tiger balm wrote:

I find Ganga used to talk way too much. It used to seem as if de whole team strategy was being revealed before d game :roll: . He was good at that aspect of a captain's role though (i.e. speaking to the press).

daz one thing he sure he coda do good ( speak to the press)

Postby De Dragon » November 13th, 2011, 11:45 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
tiger balm wrote:

daz one thing he sure he coda do good ( speak to the press)

Thank God it didn't have to be you!

Postby hydroep » November 14th, 2011, 6:48 am

Ramdin and Bravo are good choices. But what happens when the former is off playing for the W.I. and the latter knocking balls in the IPL?...:lol:

Surely there must be some others available to take the reigns when those fellas off pursuing other interests. ..ent?... :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 14th, 2011, 7:13 am

minus Ganga just look at the side they played jamaica for the finals a few weeks ago..I'm guessing it would be something like that.but if cooper and narine goes of to the IPL then idk nah...

Postby Greypatch » November 14th, 2011, 9:40 am

Ryad Emrit has experience as cappo..

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » November 14th, 2011, 10:52 am

Greypatch wrote:Ryad Emrit has experience as cappo..

Good name to call!
I say give him a chance...

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » November 14th, 2011, 12:06 pm

he is also a shitsnake

pluggie

Postby pluggie » November 14th, 2011, 12:10 pm

apart from emrit , simmons cud be a fair choice for skipper as well...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 14th, 2011, 12:12 pm

Good move , a bit late but we are gratefully accepting it .

His form did not merit his pick as a player for too long and some tactical decisions in the last Airtel cost us . This should also be the end of the line for S.Ganga as well he is not our best to 3rd best spin bowling option.

As for a new captain Ramdin, Bravo and Emrit .

Cariibean T20 begins in Jan 2012 , simmo , bravos , pollard , narine and cooper may be missing just maybe

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » November 14th, 2011, 12:13 pm

DevilZ wrote:he is also a shitsnake

then what yuh go call tadpole esp now....not in the earlier days?

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » November 14th, 2011, 12:45 pm

all dem hadda get drop...
i think side should be guillen, perkins, ottley, j. mohammed, pollard, ramdin, cooper, narine, badree, rampaul, gabriel...they need to try with navin stewart still, solid dude from bago