Is this a Scam?

geodude

Is this a Scam?

Postby geodude » November 28th, 2011, 2:25 pm

Tuners,
I received an email from a representative of a company (International Development Company Manpower Supply (IDC - MPS) ), the email provided a list of jobs which their clients are currently seeking and the email states that they will be visiting Trinidad in late Feb or March next year to Interview short listed clients.

The jobs are based in Dubai, however something just seems fishy about the email, I have registered on a few internet job search sites and I believe that they may share info so i think it is within the realm of possibility for this company to make contact with me.

I have tried searching online to figure out if this may be an information grabbing scam but the company website provided is a ligit one and I saw nothing from my searches to prove that this is a scam but i want to be sure as I planned to post the available jobs here so ppl can let their friends know and also email then to my friends but I don't want to be sharing info that might be detrimental to the public.

The things that make me wonder are they are asking for resumes to be submitted in Word format and the attached documents which elaborate on the jobs whcih they sent seem shabby I will post and example of one of the attached job descriptions also.
I am gonna post the text of the email here I hope I am not breaking any rules( mods please advise)

Dear Sir,

Kindly be advised that One of our major Oil & Gas client based in Abu Dhabi UAE will be conducting a recruitment campaign in Trinidad & Tobago on either last week of February 2012 or 1st week of March 2012
1. Our client is seeking to hire the following positions: (copy of the job descriptions attached below)

Test2.jpg

2. Kindly send us your detailed / Updated CV in word format and please send this email to all your colleagues, former colleagues or if you have any colleagues/Friends who are interested to participate in this campaign.

Kindly don’t hesitate to contact me for any further clarifications, thanks a million and looking forward to hearing from you and your colleagues soon.

Best Regards,
Shiela Anarcon
Recruitment Coordinator
International Development Company Manpower Supply (IDC - MPS)
P.O. Box 2621 Abu Dhabi U.A.E.
Tel. No. : +97126222444
Fax No. : +97126222005
Email : idcman2@eim.ae

and this is a copy of the attached document for the first Job Listed, there is no logo nothing just a 1 page word document,
Head of Maintenance (Technical Support)
Offshore Based – Direct Hire

Scope of Duties:

Understand corporate objectives and translate into department goals.
Develop appropriate strategies to pursue corporate goals.
Develop appropriate key performance indicators for the department and measure progress against targets.
Ensure adequate system/procedures are in place for safe and reliable operation of the plant.
Report department performance to Management.
Plan and direct maintenance activities on the LNG plant and provide functional/administrative guidance to Electrical, Mechanical, Instrument & Machinery sections.
Organise available resources for optimum utilization. Determine need for re-organisation.
Act as a communication link between the Senior Management and workforce.
Ensure that all company codes/regulations/engineering practices are adhered to by department employees.
Develop long term plans to maintain plant integrity, improve reliability and maintain cost effectiveness.
Propose, justify and oversee execution of capital & major maintenance schemes.
Oversee preparation of tenders and management of subcontractors.
Liaise between Instrument/Electrical/Mechanical/Machinery sections to progress work expeditiously without delays. Facilitate troubleshooting of multi-disciplinary problems.
Prepare operating budget and ensure tight control. Minimize variation between expenditure and budget.
Oversee the preparation of training and development plans for subordinates with emphasis on UAE Nationals.
Use CMMS to develop insight into maintenance practices.
Benchmark maintenance department performance and take improvement actions
Ensure compliance with corporate HSE system.
Manage and administer 220 employees in the department.

Minimum Requirements:

B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering.
20 years experience in oil refinery or petrochemical industry including 5 years in managerial position with multi-discipline exposure.
Very good knowledge of written and spoken English.
Good presentation skills

Remuneration Package:

Salary: Negotiable
Leave cycle: 35/28 with round trip air ticket to point of origin.
Messing and free bachelor accommodation at site
Excellent sports/recreational club facilities on the Offshore

so what do you think?

Re: Is this a Scam?

Postby Hook » November 28th, 2011, 2:26 pm

meainkno nuh, but if yuh whistle d tune ah might be able to tell yuh who sing it

Irfy

Postby Irfy » November 28th, 2011, 2:32 pm

They give yuh a number. Ring dem and buss out d accent on dem "Iz allyuh who sen meh dis??" and ask to speak to shiela one time. or google d company and see if d contact info fits an give dem a call.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 28th, 2011, 2:37 pm

the number is in Dubai, the website is legit though,
hook i lost sry bro

Postby Hook » November 28th, 2011, 2:40 pm

me too...just thought u cud use the company...my bad :oops:

Irfy

Postby Irfy » November 28th, 2011, 2:42 pm

Well use d digi and give dem a call. if u call dem and find out it fake, u go feel like a bake. but is better u feel like a bake than lose a job like that.

I have my doubts bout it tho so i ca say it real.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 28th, 2011, 2:56 pm

Is this company a body shop?
The fact that they want your CV in Word only adds credibility in my experience.
Just be aware of any conflicts of interest/contract clauses with the company you work for and the job you applying for.

Postby TRAE » November 28th, 2011, 3:32 pm

did you sign up for any kinda thing so?

dan80

Postby dan80 » November 28th, 2011, 4:09 pm

If u going Dubai, don't buy a one-way ticket. That's the best i could tell u :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » November 28th, 2011, 4:16 pm

the jobs listed are based inoil and gas industry,
as is my career and thus the career profile i created on a few of the more popular global oil and gas job sites is in the same industry, however these vacancies are not in my field of expertise,

i don't plan to apply for any of these jobs i only wanted to make sure that i not spreading BS to my friends and the public, its hard to get ppls hope up and then nothing comes there way, or worst yet they submit their info because they got the link from me think its credible and then get their identities stolen and all the associated drama that entails,

Skanky
did you not read the original post, its says oil and gas may places and specifies off shore work and the rotational schedule etc

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 28th, 2011, 4:40 pm

geodude wrote:Skanky
did you not read the original post, its says oil and gas may places and specifies off shore work and the rotational schedule etc

You don't even know what a body shop is..do you novice? :lol: :lol: :lol:

dan80

Postby dan80 » November 28th, 2011, 4:45 pm

^^ :o this shud end well

Postby AllTrac » November 28th, 2011, 5:06 pm

did it come from a @eim.ae address?
It could be email spoofing. The domain eim.ae is registered, it has an A record and does not allow relay. The website seems legit.

Btw, this is the person who sent you the email:
https://www.facebook.com/elacinderella

she has that same company as place of work.
Would SMASH, numerous times.

Irfy

Postby Irfy » November 28th, 2011, 5:29 pm

AllTrac wrote:

Postby S_2NR » November 28th, 2011, 5:40 pm

good opportunity if u have no ties.
looks legit

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » November 28th, 2011, 6:22 pm

Postby M_2NR » November 28th, 2011, 8:35 pm

AllTrac wrote:did it come from a @eim.ae address?
It could be email spoofing. The domain eim.ae is registered, it has an A record and does not allow relay. The website seems legit.

Btw, this is the person who sent you the email:
https://www.facebook.com/elacinderella

she has that same company as place of work.

Code: Select all

[img]https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/32219_400023757582_724087582_4725107_4587378_n.jpg[/img]

wait na... Yeo changed username :shock:
ahh nvm Yeo would have posted IP address and Geo location.

trent

Postby trent » November 29th, 2011, 12:34 pm

yea this is very real, heard about this myself and from very reliable sources!
gonna apply for sure.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 29th, 2011, 8:31 pm

trent did you hear about like yesterday or today? cause i sent it to like 100 ppl in Trinidad and the wider Caribbean yesterday.

Track it did come from a @eim.ae address, that was a good point,
all the searching i did i never googled her name alone, I should have done the facebook search as you did that was a sensible move by you,
so she appears to be a real person and her profile list the mentioned company in the email as where she works. so that seems good but we know how easy it is to create fake FB profiles
In my searches using her name along with the company (International Development Company Manpower Supply) i found numerous other job posting correlated to her name and company posted basically all over the world, on numerous websites and blog sites but mostly in Asia, and the UK region, always many jobs at a time.

Still find it fishy but i sent it to my friends and warned that if they intend to apply they should verify first before they give their info away.

demented

Postby demented » November 29th, 2011, 9:08 pm

hoss, foward me the email kiran_work@live.com
thanks

Postby Bizzare » November 29th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Hmm everybody wa eat ah food boy.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 30th, 2011, 1:02 pm

demented wrote:hoss, foward me the email kiran_work@live.com
thanks

message forwarded,
if anyone else wants to try their luck, let me know

trent

Postby trent » November 30th, 2011, 2:08 pm

geodude, actually i'v been hearing bout this for a few months now, it was supposed to be low key but... u know how it is... anyways i personally know one of the supervisors who is supposed to be recommending ppl from Trinidad at the moment...rite now, they r only seeking qualified ppl who hav 10-15+ yrs experience...

geodude

Postby geodude » November 30th, 2011, 2:53 pm

great so you can confirm that its real,
that's good news, they shouldn't have any probs finding ppl with that extent of experience in Trinidad,
i wish everyone luck

prometeas

Postby prometeas » October 25th, 2016, 8:58 pm

Did anyone ever try this and actually get a job abroad? I got the same email today that Geodude got quite back in 2011

Postby rspann » October 25th, 2016, 9:39 pm

Truck driving jobs in Canada soon.

3.5v6

Postby 3.5v6 » October 25th, 2016, 9:56 pm

i can confirm, this is a legit company. worked with them for some time while I was living in UAE. Lived there for around 10 years, long ago....

prometeas

Postby prometeas » October 26th, 2016, 7:18 am

Okay
Thanks