How thick is a 5cent?

Anotrin

How thick is a 5cent?

Postby Anotrin » December 15th, 2011, 6:06 pm

Well i would like to get an accurate measurement on the dimension(specifically thickness) of a 5cent. Measuring with a ruler jsut not working cuz i not sure if its 1mm or 1.2mm. Can someone verify this for me please?I dont have a vernier to do it myself :(
thanks

indie

Re: How thick is a 5cent?

Postby indie » December 15th, 2011, 6:32 pm

:rainbow1:
Last edited by indie on September 29th, 2013, 2:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » December 15th, 2011, 6:34 pm

1.3 mm thick

Paullct

Postby Paullct » December 15th, 2011, 6:38 pm

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby Hook » December 15th, 2011, 6:40 pm

real helpful there, indie...even tho the OP indicated non-possession of said vernier caliper to measure it :|

indie

Postby indie » December 15th, 2011, 6:41 pm

Last edited by indie on September 29th, 2013, 2:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 15th, 2011, 6:42 pm

flick

I lost my calipers :(

sorry

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 15th, 2011, 7:01 pm

1.325 mm

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » December 15th, 2011, 7:15 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:1.3 mm thick

thanks alot!

Postby DFC » December 15th, 2011, 7:31 pm

can i ask whyy???

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 15th, 2011, 8:37 pm

yes you can ask why so ask away....

Postby sMASH » December 15th, 2011, 8:51 pm

even though i've come across some digital vernier calipers,i kinda partial to the micrometer screw gauges

Postby cinco » December 15th, 2011, 8:53 pm

DFC wrote:can i ask whyy???

measurin his d1ck length?

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 15th, 2011, 8:59 pm

i fail to see the importance of this ched :|

Postby Hook » December 15th, 2011, 9:04 pm

that's not your only failure son

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 15th, 2011, 9:06 pm

^^^true, I personally prefer to comment on the thickness of wiminz....

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 15th, 2011, 9:16 pm

Hook wrote:that's not your only failure son

...that hit me hard Hook

Postby bushwakka » December 15th, 2011, 10:20 pm

ask 50 cent

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2011, 10:25 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^true, I personally prefer to comment on the thickness of wiminz....

what sort of tool is used to measure that?

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 15th, 2011, 10:42 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^true, I personally prefer to comment on the thickness of wiminz....

what sort of tool is used to measure that?

inch tape?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 16th, 2011, 12:02 am

sMASH wrote:even though i've come across some digital vernier calipers,i kinda partial to the micrometer screw gauges

x2, was my first thought initially to use one as well...I wouldn't have used a vernier in this case.

Postby bushwakka » December 16th, 2011, 11:18 am

vrampersad14 wrote:
sMASH wrote:even though i've come across some digital vernier calipers,i kinda partial to the micrometer screw gauges

x2, was my first thought initially to use one as well...I wouldn't have used a vernier in this case.

better use a vernier since the measurement points of the vernier is longer and would extend across the surface of the cent more

a screw gauge has a much smaller measurement point and as such u wud end up havin to take many different measurements and take the avg

Postby MG Man » December 16th, 2011, 11:27 am

Yodins wrote:
Hook wrote:that's not your only failure son

...that hit me hard Hook

the Hook brings you back!

Postby stev » December 16th, 2011, 11:32 am

OP a 5 cent is 1.334 kmph thick :|

Postby Hook » December 16th, 2011, 3:27 pm

:lol: 1.3, 1.325, 1.334... we should get abt 20 and take an average...and mek sure allyuh five cents clean eh

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2011, 3:39 pm

catburglarmuch?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 17th, 2011, 4:27 am

Hook wrote::lol: 1.3, 1.325, 1.334... we should get abt 20 and take an average...and mek sure allyuh five cents clean eh

and not bent.

And according to my caliper, a 5c is about 0.24958 marbles +-0.0001.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 18th, 2011, 12:31 am

Seeing as this seems to be turning into an issue of precision, the thickness at what point? The "base" of the coin on each side or the top of the raised edge?