Why T&T will always be backward for Motorsports

W2J

Why T&T will always be backward for Motorsports

Postby W2J » January 4th, 2012, 11:17 am

just got a email that was fowarded from a friend of mine that a certain Insurance is refusing to renew his policy because of the last event at ARC. Reason being "if the car runs off and injures anyone they will not cover it" btw pictures still have the copyright watermark by "Aaron Achan and Trinituner.com"

So basically if decide to enter your car in a closed track, safe environment, when is your time face no renewal for driving on the road.

Re: Why T&T will always be backward for Motorsports

Postby crazybalhead » January 4th, 2012, 11:20 am

But ammm, they won't cover it any way. All policies say they will not cover you for a trial of speed or racing of any kind. But Insurance companies are held by the short and curlies by their foriegn re-insurance companies, and are woefully uneducated about motorsport.

Postby foss » January 4th, 2012, 11:26 am

this happened to the guy with the Blue Subaru with Green Rims..

Colfire pulled his insurance because someone reported to them he was using his car for motor-sport activities (Drag and Wind)...

not sure if the matter was settled though..

In a way I didn't find what they did was wrong, because the car wasn't insured for that purpose.. But I think all companies should look into offering as an option.

Postby r3iXmann » January 4th, 2012, 11:28 am

but afaik,no insurance covers you for racing mishaps..it's even stated in a life insurance policy

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 11:28 am

W2J wrote:just got a email that was fowarded from a friend of mine that a certain Insurance is refusing to renew his policy because of the last event at ARC. Reason being "if the car runs off and injures anyone they will not cover it" btw pictures still have the copyright watermark by "Aaron Achan and Trinituner.com"

So basically if decide to enter your car in a closed track, safe environment, when is your time face no renewal for driving on the road.

it is understood that if you have an 'off' at a motorsport event, including fun rallies, your insurance company is under no obligation to cover you (read the fine print) but why would they refuse to cover you just because you enter such an event? Their fine print already exempts them from liability at events..........

Postby turbosingh » January 4th, 2012, 11:30 am

That is bull sheit, after yuh spending so much money to insure it u cant race!

Postby tr1ad » January 4th, 2012, 11:33 am

turbosingh wrote:That is bull sheit, after yuh spending so much money to insure it u cant race!

never read insurance policy or raced at a proper event i gather

Postby foss » January 4th, 2012, 11:34 am

tr1ad wrote:
turbosingh wrote:That is bull sheit, after yuh spending so much money to insure it u cant race!

he will need a steering wheel to do such.

W2J

Postby W2J » January 4th, 2012, 11:34 am

somebody else mention the name of the company I did not, in Trinidad if cheese go up the the supermarket we buy it still because we like it so. If it was my insurnace company and they tried that crap I certainly would not buy cheese from them and I would have also passed on the word to all my friends.

Postby AllTrac » January 4th, 2012, 11:35 am

:? :?

Postby 1UZFE » January 4th, 2012, 11:37 am

I think also in "Tresure Hunt" rallies your vehicle isn't insured.
Anil "we want we tracks now".

Postby foss » January 4th, 2012, 11:40 am

1UZFE wrote:Anil "we want we tracks now".

you still won't be insured.

Postby tr1ad » January 4th, 2012, 11:42 am

so far we have identified two "talk nah" that can't understand the logic behind such a rule....

and it's on all vehicle insurance certs... no racing, rally. off road trials

in a nutshell for the 2 forum dretchis ( that posted so far ) you do such at your own risk

Postby AllTrac » January 4th, 2012, 11:44 am

W2J wrote:somebody else mention the name of the company I did not, in Trinidad if cheese go up the the supermarket we buy it still because we like it so. If it was my insurnace company and they tried that crap I certainly would not buy cheese from them and I would have also passed on the word to all my friends.

your insurance company selling cheese? :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » January 4th, 2012, 11:46 am

W2J wrote:somebody else mention the name of the company I did not, in Trinidad if cheese go up the the supermarket we buy it still because we like it so. If it was my insurnace company and they tried that crap I certainly would not buy cheese from them and I would have also passed on the word to all my friends.

He's lucky they insured the car in the first place to be honest.

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 11:46 am

c.0lf!re has insured our MINI for 9 years........I asked them out of curiousity when I was renewing, if they would insure the HSR....the woman asked me how old it was....I said abuot 30 years old........she said 'no we don't insure vehicles over 20 years of age'.......so if you have a car bought b4 1991, suck salt.....I asked her what happens when the MINI turns 20.....she said 'we won't insure it'....so much for customer loyalty

The sucky thing is I already renewed the poilicy, but no way in hell am I renewing the MINI with them this year.....

Postby 1UZFE » January 4th, 2012, 11:48 am

foss wrote:

true!!
But with the implementation of legall drag (tracks ) racing and with a resonable number of drivers willing to spend $$$ to take part in the sport . Insurance companies might begin to insure cars and or persons taking part in drag racing.
If drag racing becomes legall.

Postby crazybalhead » January 4th, 2012, 11:50 am

1UZFE wrote:
foss wrote:

true!!
But with the implementation of legall drag (tracks ) racing and with a resonable number of drivers willing to spend $$$ to take part in the sport . Insurance companies might begin to insure cars and or persons taking part in drag racing.

No they will not. And why do you think Drag and Winding is illegal?

Postby AllTrac » January 4th, 2012, 11:51 am

1UZFE wrote:
foss wrote:

true!!

what? :?

drag racing is illegal?

where do we have illegal drag racing tracks?
the thread iq is deteriorating.

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 11:51 am

CBH why u botherin?
let de good people voices be heard

Postby crazybalhead » January 4th, 2012, 11:51 am

Oh and by the way 1Z, Camden is available, have you participated in any events thus far?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 4th, 2012, 11:54 am

wow thats the biggest pack of BS i ever heard.....but isnt there clauses in your insurance for these things, so why the need to write the guy?? is it more dangerous driving on the streets than in a closed circuit?

Postby tr1ad » January 4th, 2012, 12:08 pm

the people of pierre rd frown upon you AllTrac...

frown upon you

Postby turbosingh » January 4th, 2012, 12:15 pm

tr1ad wrote:

Well not Legal :lol: :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2012, 12:18 pm

and her i thought it was the diaspora that was causing insurance blockage...

Tell yuh fren gih me the car to drive...true the value of the car would drop..but insurance wud be easier to get....

"wait.... Rastaman divving evo X and R35 nao?...NAH......*drops insurance credit rating on those cars...."

If you think i BS'ing you...i was TOLD that after driving the VR4..that it was easier to insure...this was from and Actual agent at Mari..*bouncefootohhhgaaarmehankle!!!

it may sound like "woman tuuts in grocery store" aisle sheit.....but its real....

Insurance on the Legacy? a Cinch!! lololololol

Postby 16 cycles » January 4th, 2012, 12:18 pm

the companies trying to reduce the risk in their portfolio -

how many people are honest enough to tell the insurance companies that damage occurred while participating in a race event on a closed circuit / track.....i.e 'i go handle it'?

some are...

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2012, 12:24 pm

16 cycles wrote:the companies trying to reduce the risk in their portfolio -

how many people are honest enough to tell the insurance companies that damage occurred while participating in a race event on a closed circuit / track.....i.e 'i go handle it'?

some are...

nah man cycles...the ratio of evo 5-x and STi and R34/35/porsche/ferrrari as opposed to b14/almera et al?.... if it was Dubai or Monaco or Germany i can understand that.... Insurance Companies are cheap....

Think about it....IF trinidad is to come under water and 60% of cars suffer flood damage you relly think at that point is amatter of risk?...dey go be paying through thier noses for claims.....

everytime i go in to them i walk with my oil and rusty 3line strapped to meh calve...and does pull it out and rest it o nd desk before talking...

Postby X2 » January 4th, 2012, 12:40 pm

Correct about insurance saying they won't cover your car for racing events... refusal of coverage however may be up to the insuring agent. People autocross all over the world with their daily drivers.

But I digress.... this is why I tell phototakeouters that they fass and out of place when they posting up people car with number plate displayed.

Postby 16 cycles » January 4th, 2012, 12:44 pm

^ for every STi / Evo / BNR type chassis car, how many b14s/15s/NZEs etc they can insure?

some might call that diversifying the risk....some might say you increasing the risk....

Insurance is good intent but evil execution....

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2012, 12:44 pm

W2J wrote:just got a email that was fowarded from a friend of mine that a certain Insurance is refusing to renew his policy because of the last event at ARC. Reason being "if the car runs off and injures anyone they will not cover it" btw pictures still have the copyright watermark by "Aaron Achan and Trinituner.com"

it is understood that if you have an 'off' at a motorsport event, including fun rallies, your insurance company is under no obligation to cover you (read the fine print) but why would they refuse to cover you just because you enter such an event? Their fine print already exempts them from liability at events..........

That is the truth.
So not comprehending the BS that the insurance company underwriter is trying to package as sugar.
and agree with "rastaman vibrations"