Sharp Aquos LCD TV

geodude

Sharp Aquos LCD TV

Postby geodude » January 20th, 2012, 6:01 am

so dudes i gots ah Sharp Aquos LCD tv nah and boi the thing was woking good good, but all of ah sudden i start seeing ah very fine line on the screen, , and dread after a week i seeing 3 line now, the warranty done so it ent make sence taking it back to the store where i did buy it, so i waz wondering where can i take it to get it repaired, can this be repaired?

doom2646

Re: Sharp Aquos LCD TV

Postby doom2646 » January 20th, 2012, 7:59 am

Sorry to hear about your Sharp, I have an aquos too, My own went bad on the first day.

try these ppl:
Luxsam Industries Ltd

Main Address:
4 Gaston St Chaguanas
Chaguanas,
Trinidad Telephone #1: (868) 665-3396
Telephone #2: (868) 665-0001
868-672-6814(for repairs)
hope that helps

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2012, 8:10 am

call CTC electronics in macoya they are the sharp dealers
luxsam is the samsung dealer

geodude

Postby geodude » January 20th, 2012, 5:54 pm

Thanks guys, bought the tv from CTC comfort zone (Penal), and as soon as the warranty was up it started messing around.
so disappointed as i only bought the sharp as it was supposed to be one of the more reliable brands.

Postby S_2NR » January 20th, 2012, 6:10 pm

are the lines interference or dead pixels?

Postby 16 cycles » January 20th, 2012, 6:35 pm

tv was hooked up to a surge protector / voltage regulator?

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 20th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Had a bad experience with a Sharp CRT TV from the same vendor. As soon as the warranty ended, so did the TV. I've lost confidence in modern day Sharp TVs.

Got a 25+ Yr old Sharp Linytron Plus that still works with 1 flyback change for that duration and nothing else.

Postby sMASH » January 20th, 2012, 9:05 pm

there is a problem with hp dv laptops which is similar, ( and only knew after it happened to me). the problem was so bad that in america people who bought the laptops were able to get back money because of some lawsuit that went on. the problem is due to poor design, where the gpu was not cooled adequately by having 1 fan when 2 two ware necessary and could have fit, and the heat sink was too small.

the extra heat causes the soldering to come loose from the gpu pins. the problem manifests in exactly the same way like what u related.

geodude

Postby geodude » January 20th, 2012, 9:53 pm

16 cycles wrote:tv was hooked up to a surge protector / voltage regulator?

yep even bought a new one from the same company as i wanted to protect my investment,
and did not want to void the warranty,

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2012, 9:58 pm

My boss' Sharp 40" LCD just went today too for the second time. My Westinghouse running strong thanks to God.

Postby shogun » January 21st, 2012, 1:26 am

doom2646 wrote:Sorry to hear about your Sharp, I have an aquos too, My own went bad on the first day.

heard a few stories about these, but dayum!

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 21st, 2012, 1:28 am

I'm afraid to buy a LCD in Trinidad yes. When I saw the title of this thread I knew one time it was a tears thread.

I seriously think they manufacturing these things to last as long as the warranty does to guarantee future sales.

My old RCA 37" running day in day out for like 7 years now.

Postby RBphoto » January 23rd, 2012, 3:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:My boss' Sharp 40" LCD just went today too for the second time. My Westinghouse running strong thanks to God.

:shock: Which religion bhai???

CRT's last longer, and have better quality display. Don't say I did not warn you guys.

Postby Rainman » January 23rd, 2012, 4:10 pm

a SHARP tv with 3 line.

*snickers*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 23rd, 2012, 4:25 pm

if you are getting lines of dead pixels then a board may need to change - this happens when there is too much heat and the TV is not well ventilated

CTC will be able to fix it, a board may cost around TT$800

crossdrilled wrote:CRT's last longer, and have better quality display. Don't say I did not warn you guys.
unfortunately CRT displays don't come in very large sizes, if they do it would weigh a ton and consume huge amounts of electricity to run.

I know you still swear by film cameras, do you also ensure your paint has lots of lead in it too?

Postby noshownogo » January 23rd, 2012, 6:38 pm

:rofl: @ rainman

Postby Habit7 » January 23rd, 2012, 7:38 pm

crossdrilled wrote::shock: Which religion bhai???

no my friend The Old Rugged Cross

Postby brams112 » January 23rd, 2012, 7:40 pm

have a sharp from best buy since 08 still going hoping will not get the same problem,,,got a surge protector on it,whenever there is a surge it starts to beep then switches off the tv untill it evens back on,there are some lights that comes on to warn about the power surges also,,,,sorry to hear that but duane may be on to a good advice,,,but i have a feeling we are getting refurbished appliances from plenty suppliers,,,,

geodude

Postby geodude » January 24th, 2012, 5:51 am

thanks for the all the advise tuners,
i am not home so i really can't give more info than what i know and that is there are 3 lines on the screen,
my ppl took it to a tech and he said the screen is damaged and needs to be changed,
i will just wait till i get back to trini and take it to ctc and see what they have to say.

@ rainman good one , i didn't even realise the pun in what i i was saying.

i agree with you guys though it seems like nothing is built to last anymore, its all hit and miss, some have better luck than others.

Postby RBphoto » January 24th, 2012, 6:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:unfortunately CRT displays don't come in very large sizes

That is a good thing. I am sure 90% of the people who buy the biggest TV they can afford don't know a thing about optimized viewing angles and have a TV that is too big for how close they sit to it. 27" is plenty for most applications. The most obvious problem with CRT's which nobody even bings up in conversation (I guess because few people bother to research it) is that many of the larger ones are too square for the new format of modern movies, which are more rectangular. Not a big deal though, as directors never let critical elements go outside the middle square of the frame.

I am not anti technology. My field of work IS electronics. I have de-soldered many things from TV's to VCR's to get discrete components to build other stuff, and I can say without bias that modern electronics are crap that cost very little to make. Even the firmware on some electronics is pure junk. Who wants to update firmware on a digital camera or a VCR? Even A POS betamax (Now there is a dead technology if there ever was one) circuit board is a work of art compared to a CD player's function only design consideration.

I don't hate Digital cameras...I own three DSLR's and a digital P&S. Digital has brought us a convinient way to shoot people, events, and capture everyday life. It makes photographers more money, as you can shoot more pictures in a given time frame, giving clients more shots to print, making you more money.

What I use film for is
1) It's archival properties. Always shooting film alongside digital for shots of my kid. Digital is not an archival medium.
2) Film looks better. I am not going to argue this with anyone, it is a fact. I don't see the point of doing anything I consider artistic like landscapes unless I am using the best medium.
3) It is almost impossible to blow out highlights with film. Film handles details in whites better than any digital camera can.
4) Exposure is not that critical with print film. Overexpose if you have to and still walk away with great pictures. Very forgiving.

Duane... you say that just to rile me ent :?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 24th, 2012, 12:33 pm

^ yup - worked well too :lol:

crossdrilled wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:unfortunately CRT displays don't come in very large sizes

That is a good thing. I am sure 90% of the people who buy the biggest TV they can afford don't know a thing about optimized viewing angles and have a TV that is too big for how close they sit to it. 27" is plenty for most applications.
No eh, The THX recommended viewing distance for a 58" HD TV is only 6 feet away. A 27" sitting distance is about 2.5 feet way, which is the distance you sit from a monitor.

Remember these new tvs are HD (1080p, 1080i or 720p), so you can sit closer, the old CRTs are SD (Standard definition at 480i or 480p)

you write THX and tell them they doing it wrong.

crossdrilled wrote:The most obvious problem with CRT's which nobody even bings up in conversation (I guess because few people bother to research it) is that many of the larger ones are too square for the new format of modern movies, which are more rectangular. Not a big deal though, as directors never let critical elements go outside the middle square of the frame.
I disagree, standard definition is 4:3 (what you call square), HDTV is 16:9, cinema movie standard is 1.85:1 and some cinema wide at 2.40:1. When representing these wider formats on a screen with a narrower aspect ratio, the bluray disc or TV will show it in letterbox format with black bands at the top and bottom, never cropping out the shot the director meant the audience to see.

high end plasmas can match the black levels and dynamic range of CRTs and still be 16:9 or even 2.40:1. Plasmas also allow obscene viewing angles without affecting picture quality, similar to CRTs.

I won't fight you on the film, but I think you need to get with the times and start using lead free paint :P

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2012, 12:50 pm

so when yuh sellin dat ole evo and buyin ah prius bai?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 24th, 2012, 12:52 pm

^ better than that - I converting the Evo to CNG :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » January 24th, 2012, 12:57 pm

^^^^

O_O

Crossdrilled, you real ole fashun horse.

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ better than that - I converting the Evo to CNG :lol:

you mean to say all that time it wasn't using the underpowered ACL kit? :faint:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 24th, 2012, 1:19 pm

^ LOL

Postby RBphoto » January 24th, 2012, 1:27 pm

Duane....there are so many things you are talking about that are not what I am talking about in your response to my answer to your original retort, I don't have time to explain. I talking about LCD and you come sliding in with Plasma... which I never spoke ill of.

Anyahoo, ah calling out yuh CNG evo to run my steam powered Tiida on the cross after you do the conversion.

Postby cinco » January 24th, 2012, 1:31 pm

Rainman wrote:a SHARP tv with 3 line.

*snickers*

u wud know

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2012, 1:36 pm

pffft

Postby 16 cycles » January 24th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Tigerdirect has sale on Sony TV's now...

expect more retail stores to do the same as Superbowl approaches - same for living room sets /etc...