Structural Steel Advice

Norton12005

Structural Steel Advice

Postby Norton12005 » February 4th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Tuners,

I thinking about building an apartment building just nned to know what size of steel to buy.......Any help would be nice.

Re: Structural Steel Advice

Postby foss » February 4th, 2012, 8:18 pm

A contractor might help :S

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » February 4th, 2012, 8:44 pm

ok, trying to find one

Postby rspann » February 4th, 2012, 9:26 pm

now finish one,used 12x6 for mains,12x4 for intermediates and 8x8 for posts.cant remember the pounds per foot though.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » February 4th, 2012, 9:33 pm

rspann wrote:now finish one,used 12x6 for mains,12x4 for intermediates and 8x8 for posts.cant remember the pounds per foot though.

good, send me a pic nah........i thinking about 6 apartments on the ground level and 6 on top.........get the poundage for me

dva2

Postby dva2 » February 4th, 2012, 11:22 pm

Dread i'm not bashing but you are going to spend a substantial amount to construct this structure, i advise you too spend a little extra and get professional advise from an Civil engineer, Draftsman or as mentioned before a contractor. I'm certain you would not regret it and future problems could be avoided.

Postby RBphoto » February 6th, 2012, 8:53 am

et proper drawings done meng!!! $15,000.00 might souund like a lot to pay a designer, but it will be well worth it. Hire a surveyor to check your parcel too before all else.

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » February 6th, 2012, 9:20 am

rspann wrote:now finish one,used 12x6 for mains,12x4 for intermediates and 8x8 for posts.cant remember the pounds per foot though.

hoss, 8x8's sound a bit small, 12x4 for the intermediates would cause connection problems with the main as they are both the same depth. I have considerable experience in this field, send me your proposal and i may be able to guide you along the right path.
Rdeonarine
Structural Detailer
Last edited by rdeonarine on February 6th, 2012, 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » February 6th, 2012, 9:33 am

rdeonarine wrote:

hoss, 8x8's sound a bit small, 12x4 for the inter would cause connection problems with the main as they are both the same depth. I considerable experience in this field, send a me of what are your proposals are and i may be able to guide you along the right path.
Rdeonarine
Structural Detailer

Confirmed. A true professional structural man here.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 6th, 2012, 9:39 am

Norton12005 wrote:Tuners,

I thinking about building an apartment building just nned to know what size of steel to buy.......Any help would be nice.

Msg Rhatid on the forum... he deals with this type of business... he is affiliated with CEMAS Engineering based in Arouca.

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » February 6th, 2012, 9:54 am

[quote="ray786"][quote="Norton12005"]Tuners,

I thinking about building an apartment building just nned to know what size of steel to buy.......Any help would be nice.[/quote]

Msg Rhatid on the forum... he deals with this type of business... he is affiliated with CEMAS Engineering based in Arouca.[/quote]

Do you have a contact # for Rhatid ? I tried PM'ing him a couple times and haven't heard back.

thanks

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » February 6th, 2012, 10:14 am

crossdrilled wrote:
rdeonarine wrote:

hoss, 8x8's sound a bit small, 12x4 for the inter would cause connection problems with the main as they are both the same depth. I considerable experience in this field, send a me of what are your proposals are and i may be able to guide you along the right path.
Rdeonarine
Structural Detailer

Confirmed. A true professional structural man here.

thanks

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 6th, 2012, 10:20 am

rdeonarine wrote:12x4 for the intermediates would cause connection problems with the main as they are both the same depth.
Rdeonarine
Structural Detailer

can you please explain how will this cause a connection problem

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » February 6th, 2012, 12:19 pm

both members are of the same depth, the intermediates needs to be connected to the main members, this would entail notching both the top & bottom flanges of the connecting member, in order to achieve this. The I.M. (intermediate mebers) does not need to be as deep as the main members, as they tranfer loads to the main members then to column etc. A W10 or a 254x102x would have sufficed, again I am just guessing here as proper analysis is not done.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » February 6th, 2012, 6:05 pm

rdeonarine,

I got drawings done, the thing is that the drawings are for the traditional concrete structure. I would like to do the structure in structural steel instead. I have the drawing file in auto cad but i don't have the software to open it any help would be useful.

Norton

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » February 12th, 2012, 11:24 am

bump!

Postby brams112 » February 12th, 2012, 6:26 pm

op check someone who does this type of work nah,this is a very complex job, the guy doing this have to be a qualified guy or you will be in trouble,i saw some guys do a job where they had to notch the holes in the beams on site and this is bad,saw another do a job and it was just bolt together with the help of a crane,,,,,,a draughtsman who is qualified in steel structures is the way to go

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 13th, 2012, 12:34 pm

Norton12005 if u need help on this pm me. I can help with anything you need. From structural engineering to fabrication, erection to even completion of the job.

richie2428

Postby richie2428 » February 13th, 2012, 6:23 pm

for the post 10"x10"x 49lb per foot because its apartment and a lot of weight from personals and house hold items. 12 1/2"x 6 1/2"x 35lb per foot for mains 10 1/8"x 5 3/4"x 22lb per foot for beam to beam connections. i pm you some info ...

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » March 4th, 2012, 9:31 pm

Any help guys see below

Norton12005 wrote:rdeonarine,

I got drawings done, the thing is that the drawings are for the traditional concrete structure. I would like to do the structure in structural steel instead. I have the drawing file in auto cad but i don't have the software to open it any help would be useful.

Norton

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 4th, 2012, 9:42 pm

You need an engineer to re-analyse the structure. You don't just convert a concrete design into a steel design. It is not that simple.

Kindest Regards,

Rory Phoulorie, R.Eng.

Postby RBphoto » March 5th, 2012, 11:32 am

What is an R.Eng? Register with BOE?

Samo

Postby Samo » March 5th, 2012, 2:13 pm

What is ur span from column to column?

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » March 5th, 2012, 5:27 pm

12 ft man

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » March 5th, 2012, 5:37 pm

Norton,

I am a registered engineer and we do this sort of stuff all the time. My advice is if your project has already been designed in reinforced concrete, you do need to get professional advice if you want to change to structural steel. It needs a proper structural analysis rather than fishing around for steel sizes on a forum like this. One minor earthquake and all the free advice can amount to naught.

PM me and I can send you some similar projects that we have done.

Samo

Postby Samo » March 5th, 2012, 7:36 pm

send sum PDF to me... i can help a bit.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » March 10th, 2012, 9:41 pm

i give up yes, calling ppl no answer, sending pm no answer............so simple i go check a few apartments buildings around because all them the same get an average size and poundage and ah buying meh beams and building yes.............analysis go do after...........

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2012, 9:48 pm

yes, you have now experienced the tuner experts, lol

btw if you gonna build new building you need to get approvals
so you need proper design etc
ie you need to hire professional people
not online experts

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 10th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Norton12005 wrote:i give up yes, calling ppl no answer, sending pm no answer............so simple i go check a few apartments buildings around because all them the same get an average size and poundage and ah buying meh beams and building yes.............analysis go do after...........

:| Call any of the following companies and let them give you a quotation for designing a proper steel structure for you:

* CEP Limited
* KS&P Limited
* Trintoplan Consultants Limited
* R.M. Engineering Limited
* APR Associates Limited

You could even try the Engineering Institute of UWI and see if they will take on such a job. The company I work for (one of the above) has gotten work done in UWI through the Engineering Institute.

When an earthquake comes and your structure fails, most likely at the improperly designed joints, we'll see if you don't regret the "analysis go do after" attitude.

Postby ronsin1 » March 11th, 2012, 12:33 pm

Norton12005 wrote:i give up yes, calling ppl no answer, sending pm no answer............so simple i go check a few apartments buildings around because all them the same get an average size and poundage and ah buying meh beams and building yes.............analysis go do after...........

Unless you have experience in the field DO NOT attempt this you will just be wasting Money trying to get this right. Take the advice you are getting here you will only make matters worst trying to save a dollar or two