||| - Official Maths / Science Thread - |||

Re: ||| - Official Maths / Science Thread - |||

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 21st, 2012, 2:51 pm

That's what puzzled me. They mentioned it having a square base so idk if they was hinting that it was the base that was used up :(

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2012, 2:51 pm

not seein my calculator but it should be (square root of [64/5]) ^3

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 21st, 2012, 2:54 pm

Mind posting your working?

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 21st, 2012, 3:03 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:More Calculus

A box with square base has no top. If 64cm^2 of the material is used, what is the maximum possible volume for the box?

let length of side on base = a height=h

then a^2+4ah=64 => h=(64-a^2)/4a

V=a^2h
=a^2((64-a^2)/4a)
= a(64-a^2)/4

dV/da=1/4((64-a^2)-2a^2)=0

64-3a^2=0

a=8/\sqrt{3}

V_{max}=(8/\sqrt{3})(64-64/3)/4
=(2/\sqrt{3})(128/3)
=256/(3\sqrt{3})
~49.267

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2012, 3:04 pm

of is a box you building with an open to it shouldn't matter how you use the material, the surface area is the same, volume shouldnt be too?

leme investiguire:

box with 1cm^2 base and 4 15.75cm * 1cm sides = 16cm^3 volume

box with 2cm side base (4cm^2 base) and 7.5 * 2 side faces = 30cm3

i guess not but with the formula i gave i getting a 45cm^3 volume :D

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2012, 3:09 pm

corn bird mash meh up yes.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 21st, 2012, 3:13 pm

Corn Bird iza bawse 8)

Thanks man :)

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 21st, 2012, 3:15 pm

Guize Ready for a next one???

A rancher can afford 300 feet of fencing to build a corral that’s divided into two equal rectangles. What dimensions will maximize the corral’s area? The rancher wants to give his animals as much room as possible by using the length of fencing that he can afford. Like all businesspeople, he wants the most bang for his buck

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 21st, 2012, 3:29 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Guize Ready for a next one???

A rancher can afford 300 feet of fencing to build a corral that’s divided into two equal rectangles. What dimensions will maximize the corral’s area? The rancher wants to give his animals as much room as possible by using the length of fencing that he can afford. Like all businesspeople, he wants the most bang for his buck

back to work for me, uncle gracen.

take a look at this sometime

http://press.princeton.edu/titles/7905.html

you should be able to find a copy. it's a historical development of calculus and analysis (it's a little heavy but still has useful info)
Last edited by Corn Bird on July 21st, 2012, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 21st, 2012, 3:34 pm

Nice info there Corn Bird. Thanks :)

Hold this by the time fellaz

Yodins

Postby Yodins » July 21st, 2012, 7:59 pm

allyuh is geniuses yes. I get 23% in Add Maths last term :shame:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 29th, 2012, 12:46 am

A little humour :lol:

gencon

Postby gencon » September 5th, 2012, 7:31 am

found this on facebook, just thought I'd post it here. Another mind boggling example of the hidden numerical symmetry that exists in the world of maths.

Postby nervewrecker » September 9th, 2012, 12:16 am

Guys, glass is a solid or liquid? I fed up Google, which I one is it?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 31st, 2012, 5:27 am

nervewrecker wrote:Guys, glass is a solid or liquid? I fed up Google, which I one is it?

http://chemistry.about.com/od/matter/a/Is-Glass-A-Liquid-Or-A-Solid.htm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 3rd, 2012, 4:41 pm

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2012, 10:07 am

anyone can explain maclaurin series

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » November 4th, 2012, 1:51 pm

nervewrecker wrote:anyone can explain maclaurin series

maclaurin series is a special case of taylor series. these can be used to represent a function by a series.

for example

sin(x) = x - x^3/3! + x^5/5! - ...

the rhs is the maclaurin series for sin(x). the idea is that if you substitute x (in radians) on the rhs, you will get the value sin x. for example, you can check that x=0 will give the same value when substituted both into the right and the left

0=sin(0)=0-0+0 ....

take a look at

dr tisdell is explaining where maclaurin series (remember maclaurin is just a special case of taylor) are coming from. then look at the continuation

if you have questions, i'll try to answer. what class is this for? cape or uwi?

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2012, 6:11 pm

its just to make sure I sharp for math 122 exam tomorrow. :lol:

I'll check the vids just now.

Postby black start » November 4th, 2012, 7:13 pm

I passed 1180....I have nothing to prove.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » November 5th, 2012, 11:15 am

nervewrecker wrote:anyone can explain maclaurin series

If f(x) is a function of x and exists throughout a certain domain, including x=0, and

1. Is differentiable any number of times
2. Can be expressed as the sum of a convergent power series

then

f(x) may be expressed by:

f(0) + f'(0)x + (f''(0)x^2)/2! + (f'''(0)x^3)/3! + ... + (fn'(0)x^n)/n! + ...

Ah sure real men who took A level maths lessons by a certain teacher in south trinidad gonna remember that.

(sure ah get the equation wrong though :lol: )

Postby nervewrecker » November 5th, 2012, 11:28 am

that looks about right to me.

What about the expansion of something like (3+2b)^4 using maclarin series?

someone do it leme make sure I on the right track here.

Binomial series looks good here too but to remember them effing formulas...sigh :(

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 29th, 2012, 5:56 am

@Cornbird
WRT to Maple...is the UI fluent?
Mine is kinda glitchy and it freezes from time to time :?

How do I represent maximum/minimum points on graphs of functions as well?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 29th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Guize Ready for a next one???

what is the answer x=30 y=60?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 29th, 2012, 5:52 pm

daz wat I got

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » December 30th, 2012, 6:29 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:@Cornbird
WRT to Maple...is the UI fluent?
Mine is kinda glitchy and it freezes from time to time :?

happens to me also when I cut and paste in a worksheet

Ronaldo95163 wrote:How do I represent maximum/minimum points on graphs of functions as well?

what do you mean by 'represent'? do you want maple to find the max/min of a function and plot these on the graph of the function? i don't know if there is a single command that does this; it seems as if you would have to do this in steps -- see http://www.sumseq.com/m122/MINMAX.pdf

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 30th, 2012, 7:00 pm

^I wanted to graphically represent it on the graph of a particular function

Kinda like this:

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » January 1st, 2013, 11:00 pm

^ don't know if maple will do this directly. one possibility is to use the code in

http://www.sumseq.com/m122/MINMAX.pdf

to calculate the max/min and then insert this into the plot (plot can be exported in a variety of formats; see http://www.math.ufl.edu/~fgarvan/maple/save-plot.html; then you can edit the plot in a vector graphics program such as adobe illustrator)

yes, this is roundabout. but why do you want to see the max/min directly on the plot? you can see the plot and you can also work out the max/min via the code. both of these together are not sufficient?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 1st, 2013, 11:13 pm

I already worked it out but I need to show it on the graph as well. I'll try saving the plot and insert it manually and see how that goes

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » January 1st, 2013, 11:19 pm

^ i usually like to export in eps (encapsulated postscript) -- gives a cleaner result than bitmap