The Official "I have no current" Thread...

KingDrive

Re: The Official

Postby KingDrive » April 16th, 2012, 2:51 pm

trinihub wrote:TGU has lots of power ... Why didn't they utilize it ?

Proper facilities are not in place as yet for safe distribution of that power…
TGU still not on main power grid for safe power tapping.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 16th, 2012, 2:55 pm

I know that they are on the grid but i'm not sure who gets the distribution.

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 16th, 2012, 4:02 pm

What I meant by not being on the grid is that T&TEC’s Board has not come to a final decision on how and where to utilize this power and therefore nothing was put in place for “tapping” even in an emergency.
Discussions are being held to “completely” merge this power to the nationwide grid for average customer usage. This would cause T&TEC to have “excess” power overall. Based on these discussions, if this comes to pass, the rate of charge for electricity will go down due to this excess power. But this is still in discussion stage and has not been finalized….

Postby redmanjp » April 16th, 2012, 5:51 pm

KingDrive wrote:Load Shedding: this is what a Power Station does to provide power to locations not usually under jurisdiction.
-supply is taken away from locations not considered as 'necessary' and given to industries/businesses that would require it.

i thought it was when 1 of powergen's plants shutdown & they can't support the usual load so they load shed- at my office according to server logs it went since last night around 12:15am

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 16th, 2012, 10:20 pm

It did went down at approx that time but remember these power plants are strategically placed to supply high demanding areas - that's why there is one in PoS, PtLisas, & Penal. These power stations are given a certain area to monitor and provide for. (eg) If Pt Lisas increases in their demand; the Pt Lisas and/or Penal Power Station would step up their game...etc.
But when an assigned station temporarily shuts down, another fully occupied station now has to pull the strain, hence the reason for Load Shedding.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 17th, 2012, 11:23 am

Trinidad sweet when it comes to power supply. Soon we will have 720MW of power to place on the grid from La Brea. We living it up yo! Right now they can supply 480 MW. When the two steam turbines get commissioned, that will be an additional 240MW.

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 17th, 2012, 2:01 pm

trinihub wrote:Trinidad sweet when it comes to power supply. Soon we will have 720MW of power to place on the grid from La Brea. We living it up yo! Right now they can supply 480 MW. When the two steam turbines get commissioned, that will be an additional 240MW.

The more power T&TEC has to offer the lower will be the rate of charge... according to the RIC. That's the main best thing about the extra power!

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 17th, 2012, 2:17 pm

So it's a good thing we protested the Smelter at the stage where the job was already approved.... winning situation for consumers.

Postby redmanjp » April 17th, 2012, 5:53 pm

but when would it be cost effective to install solar panels on your roof? i guess that'll be a long time from now

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 17th, 2012, 10:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:but when would it be cost effective to install solar panels on your roof? i guess that'll be a long time from now

It could work out to be cost effective based on what u are utlilzing it for... Meaning; u wouldnt put out all that money to purchase the equipment, to install it and to maintain it just to power the lights in your house. If u are going solar u should use it for appliances that use alot of electricity so that the money u save on T&TEC bill is way more than wat u spend to maintain the stuff...; like air conditioners etc.
Right now alot of people are taking the step to go partially solar (eg. for heavy appliances). And there are alot of companies now importing the equipment and installing it for u, check the papers.
If u check the Uriah Butler Hway u'll see that even the government it taking the step...
On those 'u' turns in the middle of the highway there are signs that blink: "Emergency Vehicles Only".... Look closely and u'll see no wires are going to these signs, rather they have solar panel on top of them. They gather the sunlight during the day and use the energy in the night to illuminate the signs...

Postby wagonrunner » April 17th, 2012, 10:13 pm

but solar and heavy appliances don't really go hand in hand.
where's d spike, when he could be useful boy?

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 17th, 2012, 10:21 pm

wagonrunner wrote:but solar and heavy appliances don't really go hand in hand.

Well meh breda.... my real good neighbour right now hav some solar panels on d roof powering only his ac units. And He dropped over 50% of his T&TEC bill...
So yuh might hav to argue dat wit him...

Postby wagonrunner » April 17th, 2012, 10:24 pm

No argument whatsoever. I stated the common thought.
I knew of farms in southeast Trinidad that were solarpowered. So with newer more efficient appliances, and better battery design, it should be possible. Just the info stays hearsay. :lol:

Postby DFC » April 17th, 2012, 10:43 pm

save $$ and steal electricity.
ima former t&tec technician, i could teach you how.

but if you get serious burns or die, you on your own.

KingDriver
Location: -- Kingswood -- --- RB25 --- 12lb boost --- -- Trini Muscle --

Postby KingDriver » April 17th, 2012, 10:43 pm

wagonrunner wrote:No argument whatsoever. I stated the common thought.
I knew of farms in southeast Trinidad that were solarpowered. So with newer more efficient appliances, and better battery design, it should be possible. Just the info stays hearsay. :lol:

aka: KingDrive:

Blessings....

KingDriver

Postby KingDriver » April 17th, 2012, 10:48 pm

DFC wrote:save $$ and steal electricity.

Yeah Pal.... yuh doh need to be a T&TEC technician to know how 2 teef current, so doh boast..
All dem ghetto rat retards in d beetham don doin it and u neva hear any one a dem ded yet...
Dey so good, som a dem teefing and supplying others..

Postby DFC » April 17th, 2012, 10:58 pm

KingDriver wrote:

Yeah Pal.... yuh doh need to be a T&TEC technician to know how 2 teef current, so doh boast..
All dem ghetto rat retards in d beetham don doin it and u neva hear any one a dem ded yet...

Wham? u tryna hassle ah man from making ah money oaar??

u ear no whooze mee ooarr???

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2012, 4:02 am

wat was d deal with Monday having no current in a good few places throughout T'dad?

KingDriver

Postby KingDriver » April 18th, 2012, 6:56 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:wat was d deal with Monday having no current in a good few places throughout T'dad?

Try to read the from the 1st page of this discussion to get the answers... We done talk bout dat long time.

KingDriver

Postby KingDriver » April 18th, 2012, 7:02 am

DFC wrote:
KingDriver wrote:

Wham? u tryna hassle ah man from making ah money oaar??

u ear no whooze mee ooarr???

Ah jus highlighting the fools who done teefing.
But ah tink that line of work hav plenty competition!

Postby redmanjp » April 18th, 2012, 5:46 pm

KingDrive wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:but solar and heavy appliances don't really go hand in hand.

Well meh breda.... my real good neighbour right now hav some solar panels on d roof powering only his ac units. And He dropped over 50% of his T&TEC bill...
So yuh might hav to argue dat wit him...

but to power a heavy load like AC units how much that cost to install- online when i search for prices i seeing like US$2000+ and it could only supply less than 200W! ACs would need a few thousand watts of power- so u would need a very expensive setup for that

killercow

Re: The Official "I have no current" Thread...

Postby killercow » June 1st, 2023, 7:34 pm

No power in Freeport 20 minutes now. Anyone else affected?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 1st, 2023, 7:57 pm

killercow wrote:No power in Freeport 20 minutes now. Anyone else affected?

Nope.

GDI

Postby GDI » June 1st, 2023, 9:32 pm

Transformer damaged in substation. No estimate for restoration available from ttec

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 2nd, 2023, 12:19 pm

Just lost power here. Seems to be from a lightning strike. Appears to be a large area as there’s no power in Endeavor and Caroni Savannah Rd Charlieville lost power at the same time.

Postby Dave » June 2nd, 2023, 1:16 pm

Caroni had a couple of dips
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Just lost power here. Seems to be from a lightning strike. Appears to be a large area as there’s no power in Endeavor and Caroni Savannah Rd Charlieville lost power at the same time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 2nd, 2023, 1:46 pm

It came back here

wing

Postby wing » August 28th, 2023, 8:38 pm

Extensive outage since 645 in williamsville, mayo, tabaquite, piparo etc... calling the hotline is a woft

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2023, 4:59 pm

wing wrote:Extensive outage since 645 in williamsville, mayo, tabaquite, piparo etc... calling the hotline is a woft

cleaver heights arima as well but it came back in an hour