MAXI's GOING SHORT SHOULDNT BE ON THE PBR....

Mizaf

Postby Mizaf » May 22nd, 2012, 8:10 pm

Maxi's getting a PBR pass to provide a service from POS to ARIMA and vice versa, and you still have to take two maxis when you travelling from Arima to POS...Somebody really need to do something about this...

Re: MAXI's GOING SHORT SHOULDNT BE ON THE PBR....

Postby Stephon. » May 22nd, 2012, 8:12 pm

Better take what you can get because they "cracked down" on this a lot of times before and it isn't going to change.

Meanwhile at Curepe Junction.

Postby SR » May 22nd, 2012, 8:14 pm

PBR should be opened up for the general public

Postby Stephon. » May 22nd, 2012, 8:16 pm

To save what? 3 mins?

I tested it myself, Mausica to POS on a morning on the bus route is about 44 minutes, while on the highway it is about 47 - 50 mins. We are all doomed

Mizaf

Postby Mizaf » May 22nd, 2012, 8:22 pm

Stephon. wrote:Better take what you can get because they "cracked down" on this a lot of times before and it isn't going to change.

Meanwhile at Curepe Junction.

Yuh mean City Gate!!!!

Postby sharkman121 » May 22nd, 2012, 8:26 pm

Mizaf wrote:Maxi's getting a PBR pass to provide a service from POS to ARIMA and vice versa, and you still have to take two maxis when you travelling from Arima to POS...Somebody really need to do something about this...

Fully agree, this is a growing problem thats getting worse and worse.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2012, 8:32 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
Mizaf wrote:Maxi's getting a PBR pass to provide a service from POS to ARIMA and vice versa, and you still have to take two maxis when you travelling from Arima to POS...Somebody really need to do something about this...

Jack was going to do something, but when Rumla split the ministry into two a lot of plans were derailed since some were continuation of PNM plans

Postby dougla_boy » May 22nd, 2012, 8:59 pm

eh, its all over, gettin a taxi to go la horquetta is a pain, niggas boldfaced enuff to say they going short.....and a lot of those maxis go short to make more mornee supposedly......stuepsssss.......

Postby Les Bain » May 22nd, 2012, 9:04 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

Victor George didn't go to the grave claiming he didn't know what the public was talking about? Haven't had to maxi the Arima to POS route in over 8 years; is a shame this dotishness still going on.

Postby nemisis » May 22nd, 2012, 9:26 pm

Need a system to log these culprits and revoke pbr access

Postby black start » May 22nd, 2012, 9:37 pm

nemisis wrote:Need a system to log these culprits and revoke pbr access

This is trinidad homie.

Postby sharkman121 » May 22nd, 2012, 9:40 pm

is only as my car was down for a while i realise they still do that sh!t.. but mostly during peak hours.

POS to curepe then same maxi filling up at curepe then going to arima, so they making twice the fare.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 22nd, 2012, 9:41 pm

Spoke to someone long ago about it and they mentioned they are not supposed to do that and can be penalized somehow. It it's directly against a set law I can't say for sure 100% right now.

The problem I was told, is that it's up to us to report the Maxi who running short and may have to go give information in court or something. Don't hold me to this eh, just sharing what I remember of a past conversation with someone in the force.

And yes, it IS disgusting to have to stand up in the damn hot sun morning and afternoon sweating to have to see the maxi pull up bawlin short short "crep crep"... :fist:

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » May 22nd, 2012, 9:48 pm

SR wrote:PBR should be opened up for the general public

Please no. So glad Jack's grand plan for this was stopped. During peak hours the PBR isn't as fast as people think. Faster than the highway yes but not as fast as it could be (say on a Sunday). Too many:
1)traffic lights,
2)maxis,
3)passengers either standing in the road/ on the edge of the road waiting on transport causing maxis to stop halfway in the road when picking them up.
4)maxis stopping halfway in the road to drop off people,
5)maxis stopping too close to traffic lights to drop off/ pick up and causing a back up

Therefore you can't open it to the general public during peak hours. Cause that will be a massive pile up.

In off peak times, the highway traffic should be gone therefore what's the use in opening up the bus route then? Just to make people feel nice that they using de bus route?

Re emergencies: I believe persons without a pass use the bus route. I would like to think that the police would always allow the car through once they believe that it's a real emergency. Observed it happen once already.

Postby sharkman121 » May 22nd, 2012, 9:54 pm

^ well said.

Postby Stephon. » May 22nd, 2012, 10:02 pm

\tiger balm I agree, even a passenger vehicle on the bus route @ peak hrs have a long drive on the bus route from east to POS. If I gotta go to the hospital at 8AM tomorrow morning, RIP!

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 22nd, 2012, 10:02 pm

Real emergencies are not a PBR pass and its really up to the officer's discretion to allow them too pass freely because most of the times ppl just full of crap with their excuses.

Anyway I believe the experiment is still ongoing where the general public is allowed to use the PBR from 4am-6am and 8:30am-3pm or 3:30pm. With the 3 persons on the vehicle ofc.

It takes me almost an hour to reach from curepe junction to right there by vmcott compound. It used to take me less than 15 mins so I was allowed to leave home a bit later but now it's ridiculous. Its really the stupid maxi driver's faults because of exactly what that guy said above ^ plus the illegal users.

The transit police officers who man the PBR are mostly half dead and dont like to do anything much. There is a special team that goes out and issues tickets like mad men and it was after they start doing that zero tolerance thing giving fire, police, army, licensing officers tickets, I saw a decrease in traffic and could have reached to work in less than 15 mins.

Postby BrotherHood » May 22nd, 2012, 11:04 pm

Hul dem jivers MC. Had to travel from Curepe one morning. Destination is Port-of-Spain. Every maxi I stop reaching San Juan, i was like wtf going on. I so bad mind I wait till i get one going straight POS. Wasn't going to pay a double fare. Of course I was extremely late for work that day. Thankful I had to do that just for one day.

Postby Bizzare » May 22nd, 2012, 11:22 pm

maxi men hadda eat ah food dan. if allyuh doh like eet, then doh tek d maxi...wtf?
i agree, let them men who going short haul they MC

Postby sliderz1 » May 22nd, 2012, 11:30 pm

PBR fully opened to all is rubbish

As for legalising, if they create another hub and force those beeches to drop their fares so that whether taking 2 maxis or just 1 directly would cost the same $6

The need for enforcement to breathe down ya neck for legality is strong with all maxi drivers.

Postby Habit7 » May 22nd, 2012, 11:32 pm

Choo Choo!!!

Postby cinco » May 22nd, 2012, 11:43 pm

so wah d maxi man go do if u just sit in he maxi and ride up and down whole day?

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » May 23rd, 2012, 12:27 am

^^^^ once yuh paying suit yuh self.....

Postby Bizzare » May 23rd, 2012, 12:29 am

cinco wrote:so wah d maxi man go do if u just sit in he maxi and ride up and down whole day?

take ah detour wen u alone in d maxi and teach yuh ah lesson.

Postby BrotherHood » May 23rd, 2012, 12:40 am

^^^ :rofl:

Postby sharkman121 » May 23rd, 2012, 12:44 am

Habit7 wrote:Image

Choo Choo!!!

i agree, bring d fcukin train dem.... den dem maxi men go bawl "oh ollour takin food out we mouth"

damn mcs :?

Postby Hook » May 23rd, 2012, 6:39 am

There's something to be said about 12 or 25 passengers paying to reach a particular destination and then willingly disembarking at the halfway mark, only to complain about it AFTER they had a chance to take a stand.

Passengers like this are the reason it got out of hand. Same way passengers are the reason maxi drivers stop indiscriminately and sometimes literally 20ft apart.
The old "comply then complain" only works when the persons to whom you're complaining actually give a damn.
How about not complying?
What's the driver gonna do to all 12 or 25 of you?

Postby Habit7 » May 23rd, 2012, 6:46 am

It is the hypocrisy and lawlessness that goes on in this country. The maxi men cry out when PH were going to be legalised, yet they do this. If only Licensing Office had more officers it would be great to have them travel in these maxis and cease the PBR passes of anyone who does this.

But we are quickly outgrowing maxi taxi service, we need mass transit.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 23rd, 2012, 7:14 am

Habit7 wrote:It is the hypocrisy and lawlessness that goes on in this country. The maxi men cry out when PH were going to be legalised, yet they do this. If only Licensing Office had more officers it would be great to have them travel in these maxis and cease the PBR passes of anyone who does this.

That happens on a daily basis.... and it so happens to accommodate the purchase of new 25 seater maxis... as MOWT is not issuing new Maxis PBR passes.... also LO has stopped issuing OWNERS permit for a maxi...

jus a matter of time now...

Postby sharkman121 » May 23rd, 2012, 7:54 am

ray786 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It is the hypocrisy and lawlessness that goes on in this country. The maxi men cry out when PH were going to be legalised, yet they do this. If only Licensing Office had more officers it would be great to have them travel in these maxis and cease the PBR passes of anyone who does this.

That happens on a daily basis.... and it so happens to accommodate the purchase of new 25 seater maxis... as MOWT is not issuing new Maxis PBR passes.... also LO has stopped issuing OWNERS permit for a maxi...

jus a matter of time now...

been hearing this BS for years now yet i see new maxis on the PBR everyday. its all about who you know.