Male tea drinkers 'at greater risk of prostate cancer'

dineshb316

Male tea drinkers 'at greater risk of prostate cancer'

Postby dineshb316 » June 19th, 2012, 12:05 pm

Men who are heavy tea drinkers may be more likely to develop prostate cancer, according to new research.

A team from Glasgow University tracked the health of more than 6,000 male volunteers over a period of 37 years.

They found men who drank over seven cups of tea per day had a 50% higher risk of developing prostate cancer than moderate and non tea drinkers.

The team said it did not know if tea was a risk factor or if drinkers lived to ages where cancer was more common.

Prostate cancer is the most common cancer amongst men in Scotland and diagnosed cases increased by 7.4% between 2000 and 2010.

Screening examination
The Midspan Collaborative study began in Scotland in 1970 and gathered data from 6,016 male volunteers, all aged between 21 and 75.

Volunteers were asked to complete a questionnaire about their usual consumption of tea, coffee, alcohol, smoking habits and general health, and attended a screening examination.

Just under a quarter of the men included in the study were heavy tea drinkers.

Of these, 6.4% developed prostate cancer during a follow-up of up to 37 years.

Researchers found that men who drank more than seven cups of tea per day had a significantly increased risk of prostate cancer compared to those who drank no tea or less than four cups per day.

The study was led by Dr Kashif Shafique of Glasgow University's Institute of Health and Wellbeing.

He said: "Most previous research has shown either no relationship with prostate cancer for black tea or some preventive effect of green tea.

"We don't know whether tea itself is a risk factor or if tea drinkers are generally healthier and live to an older age when prostate cancer is more common anyway."

"We found that heavy tea drinkers were more likely not to be overweight, be non alcohol-drinkers and have healthy cholesterol levels.

"However, we did adjust for these differences in our analysis and still found that men who drank the most tea were at greater risk of prostate cancer."

Green tea
Chris Garner, a member of Edinburgh and Lothian Prostate Cancer Support Group, said the research would not stop him drinking tea.

He has adopted a healthier diet since being diagnosed with prostate cancer 10 years ago and drinks green tea.

Mr Garner said: "As usual you get evidence on one side and you get evidence on the other and you're left in the middle trying to decide who's right but I have to say, I don't think tea is very high on the agenda if you're looking at diet, lifestyle and so on.

"There are other things which come well above tea."

Dr Kate Holmes, head of research at the Prostate Cancer Charity, said: "Whilst it does appear that - of the 6,000 men who took part in this study - those who drank seven or more cups of tea each day had an increased risk of developing prostate cancer, this did not take into consideration family history or any other dietary elements other than tea, coffee and alcohol intake.

"We would therefore not wish any man to be concerned that drinking a moderate amount of tea as part of a healthy diet will put them at an increased risk of developing prostate cancer."

The findings of the study have been published in the journal Nutrition and Cancer.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-g ... t-18494725

Re: Male tea drinkers 'at greater risk of prostate cancer'

Postby Stephon. » June 19th, 2012, 12:56 pm

rip England

maZdaspeed6

Postby maZdaspeed6 » June 19th, 2012, 12:56 pm

WTA ah hadda stop drink tea now! Lol

Postby Stephon. » June 19th, 2012, 12:58 pm

I drink red bull in the morning lol
Every morning, if I don't get it then I'd be in a bad mood for the rest of the day.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 19th, 2012, 1:05 pm

WHo drinks over 7 cups of tea a day??????

Postby Stephon. » June 19th, 2012, 1:10 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:WHo drinks over 7 cups of tea a day??????

People in England lol

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » June 19th, 2012, 1:16 pm

7 cups a day?

next research project will find that men who drink 30 glasses of water a day tend to piss a lot

thats what you call a waste of a research grant. :lol:

konartis

Postby konartis » June 19th, 2012, 1:35 pm

The team said it did not know if tea was a risk factor or if drinkers lived to ages where cancer was more common.

this...

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 19th, 2012, 1:58 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:WHo drinks over 7 cups of tea a day??????

The Chinese.

Postby Damien » June 19th, 2012, 2:29 pm

Anyone know where selling lipton chamomile I am down to my last box and I checked three hi lo so far and nothing also them researchers aint have one phoq to do dey coulda spend the yrs trying to figure out a way to decrease the cancer setta kants

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 19th, 2012, 4:32 pm

Damien wrote:Anyone know where selling lipton chamomile I am down to my last box and I checked three hi lo so far and nothing also them researchers aint have one phoq to do dey coulda spend the yrs trying to figure out a way to decrease the cancer setta kants

Stop going to Hilo ... simple. Just saw a box in food basket chag.Only rembered this cuz i was looking for chai tea .

Postby shogun » June 19th, 2012, 4:53 pm

Too much of anything....

Seriously though, with all the antioxidants touted to be contained in tea, i wouldn't think it would promote cancer, so kinda shocked by these results.

Postby AllTrac » June 19th, 2012, 7:14 pm

so 7 cups a day MAY increase your risk APPROX. 50%?

not relevant to my interest.

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2012, 8:07 pm

last time they tell meh "drink tea!...drink ALL!..antioxidants cyah done!!"...now apparently its the devil's juice :|

all this scientific tomfoolery is a waste of good research monies yes. send some for postgrad students who actually have beneficial research to do nah? wtf.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 19th, 2012, 8:20 pm

7 cups of tea a day is real plenty. I does drink ah cup of coffee once every morning LOL

Postby AllTrac » June 19th, 2012, 8:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS, did you really "LOL"? i mean be truthful here, after you typed that did you guffaw uncontrollably? we need to bring back honesty to internet forums.

konartis

Postby konartis » June 19th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Damien wrote:Anyone know where selling lipton chamomile I am down to my last box and I checked three hi lo so far and nothing also them researchers aint have one phoq to do dey coulda spend the yrs trying to figure out a way to decrease the cancer setta kants

harris grocery in princes town sells them...i always buy there, the big one before the gas station opp king st...

Postby foss » June 19th, 2012, 8:37 pm

AllTrac wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS, did you really "LOL"? i mean be truthful here, after you typed that did you guffaw uncontrollably? we need to bring back honesty to internet forums.

ikr...

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2012, 8:43 pm

:rofl: @ trac!!

ok... you know what? i chuckled lightly at your amusing request for honesty. there was no rolling on any terrain.

Postby Stephon. » June 19th, 2012, 8:48 pm

AllTrac wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS, did you really "LOL"? i mean be truthful here, after you typed that did you guffaw uncontrollably? we need to bring back honesty to internet forums.

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » June 19th, 2012, 10:20 pm

Harney & Sons........just finished my first tin........mint chocolate is the best around

Postby shogun » June 19th, 2012, 10:44 pm

^They've got decaf teas in all their flavours, right?

Postby rfari » June 19th, 2012, 10:54 pm

untitled.jpg

YOLO

Postby foss » June 19th, 2012, 10:57 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Stephon. » June 19th, 2012, 11:01 pm

rfari wrote:
untitled.jpg

YOLO

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » June 20th, 2012, 5:57 am

Tea greediness causing cancer now :? Waiting to hear what the study on energy drinks will reveal.

Postby UML » June 20th, 2012, 6:42 am

damn long time me eh see an enamel cup...hadda get one to drink in when i liming 8-)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2012, 9:00 am

I does only drink one cup ah milo ah day,small thing.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 20th, 2012, 9:39 am

At least I won't get kidney stones, right?

Postby shogun » June 20th, 2012, 10:00 am

Anyone else drink black tea?.... I never put milk. Heard it's bad for the lining of your stomach though, so i really should stop.