Gaming Headsets & Audiophile Headphones Thread

bluesclues

Re: Gaming Headsets & Audiophile Headphones Thread

Postby bluesclues » October 21st, 2014, 3:28 pm

creative labs tactic 3d rage wireless. good range, goes days without needing to recharge, great sound no problems and solid design unlike others that just built to break. can double as a corded headphone to 3.5mm jack via the mic input. bought it for gaming but getting fedup of wearing bulky headset for gaming/chat etc so you might see it up for sale again soon.

Postby gastly369 » December 12th, 2014, 9:52 pm

Postby 16 cycles » December 13th, 2014, 7:11 am

Klipsch s4 in ear went for 50usd recently

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 13th, 2014, 4:33 pm

Recently upgraded to this setup... (Used a Logitech G930 and Sharkoon Xtatic Pro before)

FiiO E07K DAC
FiiO E09K amp
Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

ModMic 4.0

Not an audiophile by any means, but this setup sounds way better and a lot more balanced than the aforementioned gaming headsets I've been using before.

The M50x is a real winner.

I was never a proponent of 'high-end' audio, but this setup is certainly a step up.

Postby DVSTT » December 13th, 2014, 7:07 pm

Nicely done ^^^^

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 14th, 2014, 9:55 pm

DVSTT wrote:Nicely done ^^^^

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2015, 10:25 am

http://www.cnet.com/news/new-lightning- ... cessories/

New Lightning-powered headphones offer sneak peek at next generation of iPhone accessories
Headphones that plug into the the Lightning port of your iPhone, iPad or iPod and draw power from it are due to hit the market soon. Here's a preview of the JBL Reflect Aware, the Philips Fidelio M2L and the Fidelio NC1L.

One of the advantages of Apple's Lightning port is that it's bidirectional, meaning that it can be used for charging its host device or have the host device power an accessory connected to it. Until now most of the charging has been one-way, with iPhones, iPods and iPads receiving energy not giving it.

That's soon about to change as last year Apple quietly added a spec for Lightning headphones to its Made for iPhone/iPad/iPod (MFi) Program last year and a few headphone makers -- Philips and Harman JBL -- get set to release new models that connect directly to the Lightning port on your device rather than the headphone jack.

What are the benefits? Well, not only are you getting a direct digital connection, but the headphones can draw juice from your device to power components in the headphone, which could include an internal DAC (digital to analog converter) and amplifier that bypass the internal DAC of the iPhone and/or active noise-cancellation circuitry.

In the future, headphones with health-related sensors could potentially get their juice via the Lightning port, but presently we're seeing features such as heart-rate monitors, integrated into wireless Bluetooth headphone rather than wired models.

Philips' on-ear Fidelio M2L (around $300, spring) has a built-in DAC and amplifier and can play high resolution 24-bit audio, while its Fidelio NC1L, another on-ear model announced at CES last week, adds active noise cancellation. It's due to hit stores in April for $299.

As I write this article, I'm listening to a standard Fidelio NC1, which I like a lot, though it, too, is pricey at $300. (The standard version is due to be available a little earlier -- in late February or March).

Of course, the big drawback to these types of Lightning headphones is that you can't use them with non-iOS devices. But if you're someone who doesn't like having to charge your noise-canceling headphones every few days, this battery-free solution certainly seems appealing.

Postby stev » February 18th, 2015, 1:51 pm

my apologies if it was mentioned before,

do u guys know anywhere locally that sells either sennheiser or audio technica?

Postby DVSTT » February 18th, 2015, 1:52 pm

stev wrote:im not sure if it was asked before,

do u guys know anywhere locally that sells either sennheiser or audio technica?

Saw someone advertising m50 online on fb, but they were ridiculous, somewhere around 1500 a pair.

Postby pioneer » February 18th, 2015, 5:55 pm

CET Maritime Plaza has Audio Technica I believe.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 20th, 2015, 10:43 pm

i dont use my headset anymore. if anyone want it lemme know. creative tactic 3d rage wireless. its a great headset. i just dont wear bulky headfones anymore.

Postby pioneer » April 11th, 2015, 1:20 am

What it have for PS4 these days?

Postby stev » December 12th, 2015, 12:18 pm

HELP!

can someone recommend some earbuds for me?

I've been researching a while now and get confused by all the different brands :(

budget is about $500TT and it will be used strictly for watching movies / videos from a tablet.

was looking at the Bose SoundTrue line but then i saw sennheiser has some good ones as well.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2015, 12:33 pm

^ Bose is overpriced rubbish, just take a look on head fi forums and you will see what I mean the sound is also trash with muddy bass aswell.

http://www.amazon.com/Symphonized-Noise ... ymphonized

Consider these they will set you back at $250 TT and I read very good things about them. Note spending more does not guarantee a ear buds won't stop working on one side I have had $50 US sony ear buds that quit on the left side and $28 Klipsch that worked for years and never failed so price does not equal longevity in ear buds its hit or miss in this market.

Sennheiser makes good stuff, lacks in bass but again can fail on one side such is the world of ear buds. I bought the Denon D340 for black friday deal and its a great portable on ear headphone may be too big for some. But I hate in ear headphones anyways.

the link I posted is genuine wood cups for $25, the build material is better than even $100 USD earbuds.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2015, 12:39 pm

This one also seems to be of exceptional quality for only $400 TT

http://www.amazon.com/Brainwavz-Isolati ... ex+earbuds

Check that 5 star rating by customers who bought it. Can't go wrong!!

Postby stev » December 12th, 2015, 1:07 pm

thanks a lot man! that Brainwavz one looking great! i think i gonna order it one time

u really got me thinking there....spend rel money on earbuds and then one side stop working :(

aidan

Postby aidan » December 12th, 2015, 1:24 pm

^^i have a pair of brainwavz delta, does sound reall bess imo. Bought it to replace a pair of Sennheiser Momentums. The momentum was excellent sounding, but like effectic said, one side stopped working, and I decided to not spend so much on an in ear headphone again.
I also have a pair of cheap Panasonic RPTCM125K that I keep on me all the time, had them since Jan 2015 and they working good still. Sound quality is pretty good as well.

Postby stev » December 12th, 2015, 4:44 pm

brainwavz for it den!!!

thanks guys

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2015, 4:58 pm

stev wrote:thanks a lot man! that Brainwavz one looking great! i think i gonna order it one time

u really got me thinking there....spend rel money on earbuds and then one side stop working :(

Yup if you read all the 1 star reviews you will see how even $200 USD earbuds stop working on one side.

And FYI just so you know the ability of the human ear tops out at around $100 USD. Beyond that you aren't talking about frequency anymore or how much bass etc or things you might hear in more expensive headphones that you won't hear in cheaper ones. Nope I have the Sennheiser HD 555 and also had the Denon D2000 which cost $3300 back then. And I can say there was little difference in either the 555 and D2000.

The differences were in things like sound stage, (Headphones that sound more like boxed speaker instead of sound trapped in your head) and other audiophile jargons. Coloring of sound etc.

So I can say that brainwavz judging from the actual customer reviews, the quality is like any $100+ USD headphone best bang for the buck.

AND most importantly 1000 times better than any Beats dogshit that noobs buy because Dr Dre is soo cool even though he is rebranding $14 and selling for $200

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... -make.html

^ see link to understand how stupid the beats consumer really is.

Postby ismithx » December 12th, 2015, 7:54 pm

stev wrote:HELP!

can someone recommend some earbuds for me?

I've been researching a while now and get confused by all the different brands :(

budget is about $500TT and it will be used strictly for watching movies / videos from a tablet.

was looking at the Bose SoundTrue line but then i saw sennheiser has some good ones as well.

yes the SoundMagic E10. Awesome clarity and excellent but subtle bass

http://www.amazon.com/SoundMAGIC-Isolat ... B005HP3OB0

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2015, 9:54 pm

^ Not worth it since it has a high failure rate.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2015, 9:57 pm

Arcmanov how does your music on your phone sound without any amp when compared to your PC using the fiio usb amp?

Postby ismithx » December 12th, 2015, 10:17 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Not worth it since it has a high failure rate.

mine working good, my padna have one and that working too...

very few products in this world have no defective units

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 21st, 2015, 6:22 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Arcmanov how does your music on your phone sound without any amp when compared to your PC using the fiio usb amp?

There's no comparison really. I normally listen to music on phone with a LG Tone Pro bluetooth headset anyway.

I recently got my hands on another headset that I now use on my PS4/Xbone...the Steelseries H Wireless...hands down the BEST wireless gaming headset you can get right now.

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM v2.0 (KitKat 4.4.4) | SwiftKey | Tapatalk Pro

Postby Chimera » December 21st, 2015, 9:51 am

i looking for a good COMFORTABLE headphones that wont hurt my ears

have some dotish popclick one there....it annoying

flying plenty these days so need something to use

max i wanna spend is $150 US
any suggestions

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 21st, 2015, 5:41 pm

AYSN wrote:i looking for a good COMFORTABLE headphones that wont hurt my ears

any suggestions

man i dunno but i say they all hurt ears and other places after hrs of use..

some good quality earbuds for it. really easier on the ears. bulky headfones became too tedious for me.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 21st, 2015, 8:01 pm

AYSN wrote:i looking for a good COMFORTABLE headphones that wont hurt my ears

any suggestions

Over the ear headphones don't hurt your ears.

I have what is arguably the most comfortable on ear headphones in the world the Denon D340 with memory foam and leather, a real beauty they retail for $150 on Amazon and MSRP is $320. I bought it a few weeks ago. Has memory foam under the leather etc its really high quality but like any on ear headphone they can hurt the ears after a few hours of use. Plus side is they aren't as bulky as over the ear.

Right now I have 2 pairs, the Sennheiser HD 555 but the ear pads deteriorated so you got to hold it while you clamp it on your ears for the pad to stay on. And well the Denon D340.

I am thinking of which one to sell because I don't need 2 Audiophile headphone. If you want I can sell you the Denon for a good price, its $1500 TT after shipping but I got it on black friday sale I can sell you for $900. Research it and see if you like it, it comes in luxury box packaging etc. And you can just wipe the ear pads with rubbing alcohol since its leather. The 340 is designed to be portable has volume control on the cord for iphones. Or I could sell the Sennheiser HD 555 for $300.

Postby skylinechild » December 22nd, 2015, 10:33 am

Arcmanov wrote:There's no comparison really. I normally listen to music on phone with a LG Tone Pro bluetooth headset anyway.

I recently got my hands on another headset that I now use on my PS4/Xbone...the Steelseries H Wireless...hands down the BEST wireless gaming headset you can get right now.

Arcmanov where did you get the headphone amp to buy. looking to buy one new.

Postby Chimera » December 22nd, 2015, 10:49 am

found this on amazon

looks good enough for me

http://www.amazon.com/Sentey-Bluetooth- ... headphones

Sentey Bluetooth Headphones with Microphone B-trek H9 Ls-4560, Listening to Music and Talk Over the Phone or Tablet, Travel Headphones, Up to 8 Hours of Battery Life, Audiophile High End Wireless Gaming or Music Headset Headphones, Hard Carrying Case Included
by Sentey
4.2 out of 5 stars 3,181 customer reviews | 217 answered questions
List Price: $89.99
Price: $69.99
Sale: $59.99 Free Prime shipping after order is processed

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 22nd, 2015, 8:06 pm

^ thats very low quality stuff, people who reviewing it never heard anything better. You need to check head fi forums for recommendations

If you want bluetooth go no less than sony cause u go be wondering why this chinese headphones stop working on the left side.