Re: UWI VS UTT Engineering

Postby bassotronics » August 18th, 2012, 11:01 pm

utt offers job placement to...

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » August 18th, 2012, 11:16 pm

uwi is 3 yrs n u have ur degree utt is 5yrs full time n 7-8yrs part time when u come out of uwi u will be a engineer in training then a engineer n then u will be considered first before a person with utt diplome or degree, when u come out of utt most likely u wud be a technician then after 2 yrs dependin on ur performance u will be considered a engineering position MAYBE i learned this the hard way because i did my stuff in utt cuz i didn wana leave wrk n go uwi full time so nw i kinda regret it this is just my 2 cents

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2012, 11:22 pm

isnt it obvious which one u should choose?

sigh

Postby nervewrecker » August 18th, 2012, 11:31 pm

no, do tell.

I wanna know where to go too.

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2012, 11:35 pm

search and u shall find.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 18th, 2012, 11:43 pm

not this again. Here's the pros and cons of each.

Also, if you don't mind, I have three questions.

1. What is your current educational level?
2. What do you think engineering is?
3. What do you want or expect to do after completing your degree?

UWI Pros
- Real Engineering BSc accredited by international engineering bodies. http://sta.uwi.edu/eng/Accreditation.asp
- Has produced hundreds if not thousands of engineers who have went on to achieve greatness. Ivy league schools and others such as Cambridge, Oxford & Imperial, easily accept first and upper second class honor degree holders into their post grad programs.
- 95% of companies that need a real engineer will hire you over any UTT graduate.
- Strong and reputable history with UWI Engineering. It's surprisingly well known in the international academic circles.
- Some pretty good world known lectures (some piss poor as well)
- Teaches you to be a "real" engineer, but is more oriented to research and design rather than the practical/maintenance/operational type.
- Students in most Engineering programs are pretty intelligent (not all mind you!) and as such, the academic level is relatively high. You really need to be above average intelligence to get a first or upper second class honor degree.

UWI Cons
- Teaches you too much theory and not enough practical knowledge thus making you feel very inexperienced upon graduating. Also makes you look kinda stupid when a can't follow a electricians wiring diagram...but hey at least you know linear time-invariant systems.
- Lots of arrogant and piss poor lectures who don't treat the under grads with respect or priority
- Teaches you a lot of foundational theory which is great, but not really useful for 99% of trinidad'd engineering job market.
- Too much man, and some of the women in Eng are more manly than you.

UTT Pros
- Good balance between practical and theoretical
- Not difficult, exams are easy to pass
- You are usually first in line for low end engineering jobs or technician jobs.
- More campuses...UWI only has STA
- Lower entry level requirements
- Some really good lectures (cough *myself* cough)

UTT Cons
- I'll be frank with you. A UTT engineering degree is NOT a real engineering degree. It is a glorified technicians degree. It is not recognized anywhere in the world expect in CARICOM states (not all even). No top tier international university will give a UTT grad time of day. That said, we are trying to improve every year and programs are fairly good.
- Lower entry level requirements + free entry (GATE) = 70% of the class being a bunch of slackers who will try to distract and derail you. Not a good atmosphere for excelling.
- Most local companies who need a 'real' engineer will not hire you for that job. I'll give you an example with Digicel, they will hire a new UTT graduate to do dog work, make you work from 7:30am to 6pm and pay you $6,000 a month. Meanwhile a new UWI engineer will get closer to $15K with more responsibility, more respect, more room to grow and more training opportunities.

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2012, 11:47 pm

Daran said it all there. If u can get in uwi Eng go uwi. If not go abroad. UTT is crap IMO.

Postby nervewrecker » August 18th, 2012, 11:52 pm

noted.

Olivia425

Postby Olivia425 » August 18th, 2012, 11:54 pm

i stumbled upon this recently:

UTT Receives Chartered Engineering Status and Specialised Accreditation from Energy Institute, UK

http://u.tt/index.php?articles=1&articl ... ncements=1

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2012, 11:55 pm

Nick. U got paper to pay for a foreign college and/or family abroad? Are u a Canadian or American citizen?

Asking because if u really wanna do mech. U can go abroad. Sky is the limit bro.

Postby Gladiator » August 19th, 2012, 12:02 am

nick639 wrote:1. What is your current educational level?
Finished CAPE an UWI pre-engineering course but missed acceptance into mech by a little but got into geomatics :(...so i was wondering if to take the chance of doing that 1st year and transferring over or just go UTT,
I have a fair knowledge about the engineering degree, i want to do the mech eng to hopefully someday be a qualified diver and do mig welding

after completing i will work and do my diving courses part time

You don't need a Mech Eng degree to do that... geomatics is a good field. Lots of offshore potential.

Postby S_2NR » August 19th, 2012, 12:06 am

Well. U can either do SATS and do really really good and get a schol to an American university.

Or

Take a student loan and go to a canadian uni but I won't advise that. Lots of debt.

Or

Bring up ur grades and try again at Uwi.

Or

Start geomatics and maintain a b+ average and after a year do an inter faculty transfer to mech. This is not as easy as it sounds considering your grades weren't that hot.

Either way u have lots of work to do.
Good luck

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 19th, 2012, 6:57 am

Daran wrote:not this again. Here's the pros and cons of each.

Also, if you don't mind, I have three questions.

1. What is your current educational level?

UWI Pros
- Real Engineering BSc accredited by international engineering bodies. http://sta.uwi.edu/eng/Accreditation.asp
- Has produced hundreds if not thousands of engineers who have went on to achieve greatness. Ivy league schools and others such as Cambridge, Oxford & Imperial, easily accept first and upper second class honor degree holders into their post grad programs.
- 95% of companies that need a real engineer will hire you over any UTT graduate.
- Strong and reputable history with UWI Engineering. It's surprisingly well known in the international academic circles.
- Some pretty good world known lectures (some piss poor as well)
- Teaches you to be a "real" engineer, but is more oriented to research and design rather than the practical/maintenance/operational type.
- Students in most Engineering programs are pretty intelligent (not all mind you!) and as such, the academic level is relatively high. You really need to be above average intelligence to get a first or upper second class honor degree.

UWI Cons
- Teaches you too much theory and not enough practical knowledge thus making you feel very inexperienced upon graduating. Also makes you look kinda stupid when a can't follow a electricians wiring diagram...but hey at least you know linear time-invariant systems.
- Lots of arrogant and piss poor lectures who don't treat the under grads with respect or priority
- Teaches you a lot of foundational theory which is great, but not really useful for 99% of trinidad'd engineering job market.
- Too much man, and some of the women in Eng are more manly than you.

UTT Pros
- Good balance between practical and theoretical
- You are usually first in line for low end engineering jobs or technician jobs.
- More campuses...UWI only has STA
- Some really good lectures (cough *myself* cough)

UTT Cons
- I'll be frank with you. A UTT engineering degree is NOT a real engineering degree. It is a glorified technicians degree. It is not recognized anywhere in the world expect in CARICOM states (not all even). No top tier international university will give a UTT grad time of day. That said, we are trying to improve every year and programs are fairly good.
- Lower entry level requirements + free entry (GATE) = 70% of the class being a bunch of slackers who will try to distract and derail you. Not a good atmosphere for excelling.
- Most local companies who need a 'real' engineer will not hire you for that job. I'll give you an example with Digicel, they will hire a new UTT graduate to do dog work, make you work from 7:30am to 6pm and pay you $6,000 a month. Meanwhile a new UWI engineer will get closer to $15K with more responsibility, more respect, more room to grow and more training opportunities.

If you are a lecturer at UTT you should know this

http://u.tt/index.php?articles=1&articl ... 1t04gt+95N

How can you say that "A UTT engineering degree is NOT a real engineering degree. It is a glorified technicians degree". Utt petroleum just got accredited from the Energy Institute from the UK :) .

Some of your comments are not correct imo

1) You are quite ignorant of UTT accredited programmes because not all the programmes are not accredited (as yet).

2) First UTT ENg Programmes is geared towards and prepares the student for industry

3) UWI BSC-3yrs, UTT BASc-3yrs, UTT MEng-4yrs, UTT MSc-1year (after successful completion of MEng)

4) In UTT deg prog there are smaller number of student in a classroom environment which gives the student more time with the lecturer and more attention.

5) I do agree that UTT has some trash lecturers, but some are very good and are willing to help.

6) UWI has more distraction IMO like uwi fete and other fetes

7) UTT degrees courses has more projects and presentations which is needed in industry. UWI is more theory than pratical..theory is good if you want to do phd.

8) With all said I would recommend UWI but UTT is geared and prepares you better for industry.It is up to the student to learn not really the institution. :P
Last edited by salvation4U on August 19th, 2012, 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Grudge

Re: UWI VS UTT Engineering *decision made*

Postby Grudge » August 19th, 2012, 7:45 am

Daran: " (cough *myself* cough)"

Well please be informed of the Institution where you lecture. I can speak of the Maritime Programs which are ALL internationally accredited from the British MCA and IMaREST. 100% of our Engineers passed the international exams 2 months ago.

So please not because your department not working hard enough to get the international accreditation do not discredit the men and women working hard on the other campuses to get and keep their accreditation.

Check the facts before misleading the guys on tuner.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 19th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Alright, should have been more specific....did not consider the Maritime Programs to fall under engineering in my post.

salvation4U wrote:Some of your comments are not correct imo

1) You are quite ignorant of UTT accredited programmes because not all the programmes are not accredited (as yet).
A lot of UTT's accreditation is really "partnerships" from a specific university (not all) or accreditation by a less stringent body. While this is a good step, it doesn't mean that the degree is internationally accredited. And again, for students looking to onto post grad studies abroad UWI has a big advantage. UTT Petro MEng is finally accredited which a tremendous achievement.

2) First UTT ENg Programmes is geared towards and prepares the student for industry
Yes and I do agree with this as well. This is also a bad thing since our students do not have the theoretical knowledge (and I'll be honest that most don't have the capacity) to further their studies abroad. Also, given that UTT's graduates have a lot more practical knowledge, employers (like myself, I run a company as well as lecture part time) look to hire UTT studends for more maintenance field work while the UWI grads get the more office type design jobs....typically the office guys move up the corporate ladder faster and are treated better.

3) UWI BSC-3yrs, UTT BASc-3yrs, UTT MEng-4yrs, UTT MSc-1year (after successful completion of MEng)
Don't see the point of this, UWI's BSc is very intensive compared to UTT's MEng. You can do a UWI BSC & MSC in 4 years as well.

4) In UTT deg prog there are smaller number of student in a classroom environment which gives the student more time with the lecturer and more attention.
Yes, in more specific courses, some classes are as big as UWI's and I agree that is a big problem with UWI.

5) I do agree that UTT has some trash lecturers, but some are very good and are willing to help.
Same as UWI. UTT I'd say has better lecturers for teaching students how to function in our local industry. UWI is not as good at properly preparing students for their future local roles.

6) UWI has more distraction IMO like uwi fete and other fetes
lawd, that is an advange if any. One ting UTT lacks is the campus feel of UWI...at least for now

7) UTT degrees courses has more projects and presentations which is needed in industry. UWI is more theory than pratical..theory is good if you want to do phd.
Honestly, I don't know if this is true.....this is depends more on the teaching methods of the individual lecturers. However, UWI's final year project is much more intensive that what most UTT degrees require.

8) With all said I would recommend UWI but UTT is geared and prepares you better for industry.It is up to the student to learn not really the institution. :P
Very true. This is why I asked the OP what is his goals for the future. You can make bank either way. UTT can allow you to get into more field work which often times pay big overtime. UWI's engineers a lot of times don't get that opportunity, but they have opportunities getting high paying engineering jobs and are preferred for job promotions to managerial positions. Again, this all comes down to how an individual prepares themself.

nick639 wrote:1. What is your current educational level?
Finished CAPE an UWI pre-engineering course but missed acceptance into mech by a little but got into geomatics ...so i was wondering if to take the chance of doing that 1st year and transferring over or just go UTT,
I have a fair knowledge about the engineering degree, i want to do the mech eng to hopefully someday be a qualified diver and do mig welding

after completing i will work and do my diving courses part time

nick639,

If your goal is Mig Welding, you can go to either UTT and do the NETD and become a certified Mig welder afterward.

Or you can wait it out and try again for UWI's Mech Eng and do the mig welding course afterward.

I advise you go the UWI route, but that will take your 2 years longer.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 19th, 2012, 3:35 pm

Nothing is wrong with Geomatics. Start off working with a company, get your licence, save up enough money to get a Total Station or GPS and go out on your own. You just need two, maybe three assistants/chainmen for your crew. Provided you are properly qualified, a day rate for a survey crew is $7,500.

Postby sMASH » August 19th, 2012, 10:22 pm

the company i am in hires utt people because they can pay them less. they take on the uwi persons for the GiT program (graduates in training) because it is a short term contract where they can get uwi graduates-to-be to do the work with a fraction of the pay.

Postby Mark! » August 19th, 2012, 10:44 pm

even though s_2ner comes off as a douche bag. he is right. UTT ainnt recognized as much as uwi. however, utt may provide job placement once you are at the top of the class

Postby UML » August 19th, 2012, 11:00 pm

Daran wrote:UTT Pros

honestly i think these are Cons and not Pros

Postby S_2NR » August 19th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Mark! wrote:even though s_2ner comes off as a douche bag. he is right. UTT ainnt recognized as much as uwi. however, utt may provide job placement once you are at the top of the class

thx bro 8-)

Postby nervewrecker » August 19th, 2012, 11:15 pm

sMASH wrote:the company i am in hires utt people because they can pay them less. they take on the uwi persons for the GiT program (graduates in training) because it is a short term contract where they can get uwi graduates-to-be to do the work with a fraction of the pay.

sounds IPSL-ish :lol:

Postby S_2NR » August 19th, 2012, 11:17 pm

sMASH wrote:the company i am in hires utt people because they can pay them less. they take on the uwi persons for the GiT program (graduates in training) because it is a short term contract where they can get uwi graduates-to-be to do the work with a fraction of the pay.

sounds IPSL-ish :lol:

im sure it is.
cheap mofos. :|

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 19th, 2012, 11:48 pm

You can argue from now till you retire or when Trinidad get another gold medal at the Olympics......it all depends on the student when he/she graduates and is looking for a job. How that person do in an interview will determine if they will get the job!

How I know that? I've seen it myself. How a student present himself in front of his prospective employers, using the right techniques, knowing what to say and when. Remember you are trying to sell yourself and skill.

You not going to an interview and say well I have a UWI degree and that makes me better than anybody from UTT :| .

Do you think you actually use those derivation and long formulas your UWI lecturer tell you to memorise for exams in industry? Most of the classroom work is almost never used...you learn as you work on the job!

As I said before it is all up to the student and his/her mentality and selfesteem and willingness to learn.

These days a person with a degree is common since everyone literally gets a scholarship (GATE). So the employer has to choose between UWI vs UTT grads. A good work would be hard to get unless you know some one.

What I know from employers is that when they hire grads for internship not sure from utt or uwi they get tax breaks which is good for them and you benefit because you get experience and not really much cash but who cares? What you want is experience.

If you know that you want to further your career abroad and want to get your MSc, phd etc ...UWI no doubt...If you just want a degree to get a better paying job than your dipl and to show the world that you have a degree no matter where it comes from UTT is your answer.

Postby De Dragon » August 20th, 2012, 12:24 am

salvation4U wrote:You can argue from now till you retire or when Trinidad get another gold medal at the Olympics......it all depends on the student when he/she graduates and is looking for a job. How that person do in an interview will determine if they will get the job!

How I know that? I've seen it myself. How a student present himself in front of his prospective employers, using the right techniques, knowing what to say and when. Remember you are trying to sell yourself and skill.

You not going to an interview and say well I have a UWI degree and that makes me better than anybody from UTT :| .

Do you think you actually use those derivation and long formulas your UWI lecturer tell you to memorise for exams in industry? Most of the classroom work is almost never used...you learn as you work on the job!

As I said before it is all up to the student and his/her mentality and selfesteem and willingness to learn.

These days a person with a degree is common since everyone literally gets a scholarship (GATE). So the employer has to choose between UWI vs UTT grads. [b]A good work would be hard to get unless you know some one.[/b]What I know from employers is that when they hire grads for internship not sure from utt or uwi they get tax breaks which is good for them and you benefit because you get experience and not really much cash but who cares? What you want is experience.

If you know that you want to further your career abroad and want to get your MSc, phd etc ...UWI no doubt...If you just want a degree to get a better paying job than your dipl and to show the world that you have a degree no matter where it comes from UTT is your answer.

Why do people insist on saying this every single time? I interviewed some youngish guys recently for a vacancy and at the end of it all, the guy with ZERO work experience impressed me more than the others, and of course I'd never seen him before in my life.

Postby sMASH » August 20th, 2012, 7:20 am

allyuh cyar get no prizes... no room in the budget.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 20th, 2012, 8:23 am

What you guys think about the offshore production operator training course at kenson? is it worth it?

deecedes

Postby deecedes » April 9th, 2013, 10:16 pm

any1 knws about m.sc in petro eng in uwi and utt,,would like sum insights on the programmes

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 10th, 2013, 12:44 pm

UML wrote:
Daran wrote:UTT Pros

honestly i think these are Cons and not Pros

cons fo sho
Last edited by ruffneck_12 on April 1st, 2014, 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » April 10th, 2013, 1:31 pm

the top engineering firms in the oil and gas industry in trinidad dnt really hire utt students simply bcuz the exams are way easier to pass that uwi exams. and if dey do hire utt engineers they are hired under a technician status not an engineer

Postby black start » April 10th, 2013, 11:33 pm

UTT is chit, uwi is chit too...

trade school muthaforkers.....

on a serious note, M Sc in Petro at UTT?like really?lol....