Do I really need a thermostat?

JEEZANAGES

Do I really need a thermostat?

Postby JEEZANAGES » September 8th, 2012, 12:10 pm

Do I really need to run a thermostat since we dont have winter down here or is there another purpose for it besides quick warm ups?

Re: Do I really need a thermostat?

Postby rollingstock » September 8th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Yes you do need one, do a search topic been beat out already.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 8th, 2012, 12:24 pm

Dai wasting time fadda.

Yuh goh hole back the fyaz with them thing so

Postby sliderz1 » September 8th, 2012, 12:25 pm

have no regard for optimum operating temperature and carbon build up as such?

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 8th, 2012, 12:28 pm

sliderz1 wrote:have no regard for optimum operating temperature and carbon build up as such?

Use ah fuel treatment Orr ah korkfull ah pitchoil tuh a gyallan an yuh good tuh go

Postby sliderz1 » September 8th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Leary tell mih he does use 3 zero in the charmant

rel fyazzz

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 8th, 2012, 1:58 pm

some replies posted bring to mind the exasperating utterance, "jeezanages!"

Postby AllTrac » September 8th, 2012, 2:36 pm

is your vehicle FI or carburated?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » September 8th, 2012, 3:17 pm

car is lighter without thermostat :lol:

Postby RBphoto » September 8th, 2012, 4:09 pm

No.. if you use premium in a tiida it will run cooler. Tek it out and give your child to play with it..... as a pacifier.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 8th, 2012, 4:17 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Dai wasting time fadda.

Yuh goh hole back the fyaz with them thing so

quoted for truth

Postby wagonrunner » September 8th, 2012, 4:20 pm

Termostat affi di dunce dem. Only dem lef dat wasatime ting in dey cyar.

Postby Damien » September 8th, 2012, 8:42 pm

take out that hoss more watah affi flow

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » September 8th, 2012, 11:29 pm

crossdrilled wrote:No.. if you use premium in a tiida it will run cooler.

Not sure if srs

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » September 8th, 2012, 11:40 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:some replies posted bring to mind the exasperating utterance, "jeezanages!"

Fitting, given the OP name

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 9th, 2012, 11:09 am

i gut them -- got 3 almeras minus thermo all going on 260,000km-
pajero ''gutted ''stat at 280,000km
either remove the mechanism or jsut remove them according to vehicle type....
same engine on all
stuck thermo has destroyed alot of cylinder heads /gaskets in our biz....

and yes been warned against this but so far has proven effective ...

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » September 9th, 2012, 1:00 pm

This is the simplest and most accurate discription that i can offer

water has a high specific heat capacity meaning it takes alot of energy to to raise the temp of water by 1 degree celcius.

water has to circulate around the cylinder block and head to absorbe the heat from the engine. if you remove the thermostat the water would just flow past and not get eneough time to accmulate the heat from the block to release it in the radiator.

you can have a situation where the engine is running hot and the guage (which checks water temp) shows normal.

All that being said leave ur thermostat in. if you are afraid of it failing closed and over heating, change it every 160 000 km or 100 000 miles and replace it with one that fails in the open position.

an example can be found here http://www.motoradusa.com

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 9th, 2012, 4:25 pm

I think the temp gauge on the IP is for the purpose of detecting a failed thermostat.......just saying

Postby bushwakka » September 9th, 2012, 5:26 pm

steups lock this thread nah....wrong forum and been discussed so many times

Postby black start » September 9th, 2012, 6:26 pm

Your mechanic attended the prestigious cowen hamilton high, the guys that designed the engine; imperial, mit etc...