The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

SRASC

Re: Google MapMaker/OpenStreetMaps/Waze Map Editor | Mapping

Postby SRASC » November 18th, 2015, 7:15 pm

stev wrote:anyone else seeing traffic information in Google maps?

Confirmed. Nice. Though as was pointed out since they own Waze, it was just a matter of time. Even if they didn't it was still just a matter of time, but I think the Waze acquisition sped things up.

Postby stev » November 18th, 2015, 7:28 pm

driving times seem accurate(ish)

normally at 6.30pm, Google Now tells me I am 25mins from home....now its telling me I'm 47mins away from home...that's usually how long i take to get home if i leave at 6.30pm (approximately).

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 18th, 2015, 7:30 pm

I'd compare with Waze and see. Of course neither would be 100% but no harm in checking.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2015, 8:28 pm

It has to get the info from somewhere, and since we do not have a traffic alert or status system in T&T, the only way to get traffic data would be from Waze.

One very useful recent addition to Waze is the ability to read your calendar and notify you when is a good time for you leave to be able to make your appointment based on the traffic conditions. It has proven to be super helpful to me.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 18th, 2015, 8:49 pm

Apple Maps has the same thing...if it ever was to end up working in Trinidad.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2015, 11:33 pm

SRASC wrote:Apple Maps has the same thing...if it ever was to end up working in Trinidad.
they probably check usual speeds on a particular road using GPS and when it slows drastically down they report it as traffic?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 19th, 2015, 7:45 am

Likely

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 15th, 2016, 3:39 pm

Have a bit of an issue. Seems some user "trevorr5" has been going around deleting street names from the Waze map.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2016, 4:10 pm

SRASC wrote:Have a bit of an issue. Seems some user "trevorr5" has been going around deleting street names from the Waze map.
can you report him to Waze?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 15th, 2016, 4:24 pm

Sent a PM to an admin/mod there. Still waiting for an answer. He did it to a lot of the roads in south Trinidad already though.

...as well as in the north.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 16th, 2016, 8:52 am

Probably would need some south based Waze map editors to undo the damage

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 16th, 2016, 6:43 pm

TrinbagoMan

Re: The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Postby TrinbagoMan » June 20th, 2016, 8:02 am

Waze giving plenty problems in recent times. First no roads on map, and now after i fix that, waze not finding routes for anywhere.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2016, 8:26 am

try the new app mapsme...yuh doh even need wifi...it working bessss

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 20th, 2016, 12:15 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:Waze giving plenty problems in recent times. First no roads on map, and now after i fix that, waze not finding routes for anywhere.

I realized this for real..passed me through a ridiculously lonely 'field' road after 10 the other night..thus and other various glitches..is the Trinituner group on Waze still functional though? How do I go about joining?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 20th, 2016, 6:09 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
TrinbagoMan wrote:Waze giving plenty problems in recent times. First no roads on map, and now after i fix that, waze not finding routes for anywhere.

I realized this for real..passed me through a ridiculously lonely 'field' road after 10 the other night..thus and other various glitches..is the Trinituner group on Waze still functional though? How do I go about joining?
Waze discontinued groups and added social sharing and the ability to add friends from your contacts

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 20th, 2016, 6:40 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Waze discontinued groups and added social sharing and the ability to add friends from your contacts

Understood. Thanks for the info.

Postby pete » June 20th, 2016, 7:00 pm

If the route is looking questionable hit "routes" and switch to map view. Really nice feature to decide which other route would be better.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 20th, 2016, 7:25 pm

pete wrote:If the route is looking questionable hit "routes" and switch to map view. Really nice feature to decide which other route would be better.
correct. Waze also tells you the time for each route so you can compare and decide. Usually those strange routes are just shorter by a few minutes because of traffic and not really worth all the unknown backroads and traces.

Postby Morpheus » June 20th, 2016, 7:25 pm

Working fine for me

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2016, 7:36 pm

Maps.me people....it working good..

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » June 20th, 2016, 8:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Maps.me people....it working good..

Thanks. I downloaded it. Works really good. If it only had live traffic/road reports like waze. Why can't waze work as good as mapsme.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 21st, 2016, 7:28 am

pete wrote:If the route is looking questionable hit "routes" and switch to map view. Really nice feature to decide which other route would be better.
correct. Waze also tells you the time for each route so you can compare and decide. Usually those strange routes are just shorter by a few minutes because of traffic and not really worth all the unknown backroads and traces.

Even here Waze isn't always efficient.
When I went to the MK car show in Mayaro, coming from St. Joseph at the time, waze sent me through Preysal. Long ass winding drive. When I selected "routes" it didn't even show passing through Grande as an option. Needless to say, passing through Grande on my way back was much quicker and relaxing of a drive.

Nexus

Re: Google MapMaker/OpenStreetMaps/Waze Map Editor | Mapping T&T

Postby Nexus » October 6th, 2016, 9:57 am

Hey Guys, morning.
I was wondering if there is a way to export the point data from open maps? Doing some research and the only comprehensive data on the locations of community centres/ places of worship I am finding is from open maps.
Thanks

Postby The_Honourable » February 23rd, 2017, 4:13 pm

Anybody knows when we can resume editing on Google Maps? Such as the naming of roads? I see that they are migrating Map Maker fully into Google Maps next month.

Postby desifemlove » March 9th, 2017, 2:31 am

I'm on level 3 of the Google Maps local guide. About time Google had a contract for Street View, plenty of firms down here who could do it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 3rd, 2017, 3:59 pm

Postby 74847758 » February 9th, 2019, 9:17 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiCRM2c4T84&feature=youtu.be

Waze Carpool is enabled in USA, Brazil and Israel. I hope that Waze will take notice in the forum below if there becomes many more votes added to the present voices there already.

Vote Here https://waze.uservoice.com/forums/59223-waze-suggestion-box/suggestions/36391621-open-up-waze-carpool-for-trinidad-and-tobago-to-re

Open up Waze Carpool for Trinidad and Tobago to reduce Traffic
Big benefits to bring Carpool to Trinidad and Tobago to:-
-- reduce the number of cars on the road during rush hour traffic (5am-9am) & (3pm-7pm). It is grid-lock at these times and can take up to 3 hours to get into and out of the capital (Port of Spain)
-- car ownership is prohibitively expensive
-- public transportation is risky
-- public transportation is unreliable
-- be environmentally conscious to the earth by being more economical moving people

Help our Twin Island to become more efficient at moving people from A to B and help the environment by removing unnecessary cars from our contested roads. Help to bring Waze Carpool to Trinidad and Tobago

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2020, 11:42 am

Apple Maps navigation working in now.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 1st, 2020, 3:18 pm

SRASC wrote:Image

Apple Maps navigation working in now.

Nice, how does it compare to Google Maps?