The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Adam95

Re: The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Postby Adam95 » December 7th, 2022, 3:32 pm

st7 wrote:rarely use waze but it's good to know a man like you moderating maps locally. great job!

We have a whole team out there! Avid users and editors all over the country. So any changes we try to be on top of things! :D

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 7th, 2022, 4:20 pm

Adam95 wrote:
st7 wrote:rarely use waze but it's good to know a man like you moderating maps locally. great job!

We have a whole team out there! Avid users and editors all over the country. So any changes we try to be on top of things! :D

Allya hiring people?

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » December 7th, 2022, 4:21 pm

Adam95 wrote:
Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
Adam95 wrote:Just incase people still read this thread. I am the country manager for Waze here in T&T managing the editors and keeping the map up to date. Before when the app launched and was available here in T&T, there were no regulated edits. Now with the current system we have in place, things are much more accurate than it was a few years ago.

Please visit our Facebook page @ http://www.facebook.com/wazetrinidad

Any issues or concerns, feel free to send us a message and we will sort you out!
Manzanilla road is impassible/closed due to structural damage from recent floods, yet waze still routes through there.

The closure expired. I renewed it so no one will be routed there from now.
Thanks for this

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » December 22nd, 2022, 2:08 pm

Adam95 wrote:
VJTEK wrote:Adam95, I just saw this thread today :)

I use Waze daily and do find it to be very accurate with ETA on or about a couple minutes difference.

My only criticism is that my suggested routes to work (From Trincity to Central) on the app often factor in the bus route.

Not sure why this happens, perhaps many Wazers use the bus route illegally.

I just ignore it and it will often just add 3 minutes to the ETA which definitely isn't worth the ticket.

Overall, still prefer this app to others and will continue to use it.

Hey we have implemented a PBR pass. Please check your settings to make sure you do not have this pass activated. (Settings > Toll & HOV Pass). If you don't have this activated and still get the PBR, then I will have to check on this bug. But only people who activate the pass are suppose to be routed on it.

Thanks much!

Don't recall activating that feature but will look into it!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2023, 10:13 am

Roads closed today for the Presidential Inauguration

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2023, 6:25 am

To the guys that update Waze locally - the Bailey bridge on Jerningham Railway Rd had been closed. The bridge is now physically removed.

Use Waze to drive to Jerningham Railway Rd, Chaguanas: https://waze.com/ul/hd9uk568z0

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2023, 6:54 am

how does one become a local waze map updater?

Postby redmanjp » December 13th, 2023, 10:30 am

yesterday late afternoon had a airport run to make to pick up my sis - was coming from POS and got Southern main Rd as the quickest route- waze route me to Caroni North Bank Rd to a closed off entrance to the airport oui. it was night time by then -had to search for bhagwansingh's instead to get back on track. reach 15 mins late.

I message Waze Trinidad on FB - looks like he fixed it.

Postby gastly369 » December 13th, 2023, 12:06 pm

I stop using waze years tbh worst directions

Google maps works best
IMG_20231213_120558.jpg

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2023, 12:21 pm

Google owns Waze and will slowly apply enshifitication to it. But Google/Apple Maps will always be better because everyone has either phone and it's always logging data and location to build their live maps, current traffic and routes. Who does really use Waze and contribute to their database when Google Maps completely integrated into your usage constantly? It even detects when you're traveling and turns on Android Auto. Locally obviously Google Maps has won that race, even with Apple solely because of the amount of data they can log from everyone who is mostly using Android here. USA will probably be more of Apple Maps.

Drop Waze you're wasting your time.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 13th, 2023, 12:36 pm

I use Waze and I update the maps when I can.

Both apps have their questionable moments.
I still wish I could red zone certain locations or roads for personal use though

Postby j.o.e » December 13th, 2023, 12:59 pm

Waze user. No complaints really. I have it running constantly with CarPlay, I use it even when I know where I’m going just to get faster routes /leave on time for meetings etc

The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Postby MaxPower » December 13th, 2023, 4:11 pm

Waze user and Google here.

Both work fine, i usually maintain situational awareness and always have an idea where i’m going, i.e with back up streets and landmarks etc to look out for from looking at the map prior to commencing my journey. Some of allyuh glued to the screen and depending on “you have arrived” and gone past the place.

Yuh follow technology 100% and could find yourselves in trouble some day especially all the hacking that going on.

Stay safe and be alert young kings.