students using gate are screwed

Postby davymaraj » October 3rd, 2012, 8:49 am

It look like dollar for dollar is back

Re: students using gate are screwed

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2012, 8:54 am

As someone who never benefited from Gate or Dollar for Dollar for my undergrad degree(yes I'm an old fart) a selfish side of me would be glad.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 3rd, 2012, 8:57 am

Too many well off people take advantage of the system, let them earn their opportunity!

Postby Les Bain » October 3rd, 2012, 8:59 am

Just means the people like myself who already een need to appreciate the program, apply themselves and pass by much more than the skin off they lazy bamsee.

Although GATE benefited a lot of thankful people for whom the cost of education was prohibitive, it also flooded classrooms with slackers and people that either disappeared or walked out in a huff without informing either the educational institution or ministry.

You recognize the value of things more and treat them better when you have to part with some, most or all your money.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 3rd, 2012, 9:01 am

Please OP, tell me more.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 9:03 am

Dizzy28 wrote:As someone who never benefited from Gate or Dollar for Dollar for my undergrad degree(yes I'm an old fart) a selfish side of me would be glad.

As someone who benefitting from it, I am also gald if they remove it or part of it self.

Too much people in school who dont deserve to be there.

Postby S_2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 9:03 am

what is dollar for dollar?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 3rd, 2012, 9:05 am

S_2NR wrote:what is dollar for dollar?

Every dollar you put, govt matches it.

Basically 50% tuition, like what they do for MSc programmes.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:06 am

As a person who benefitted from GATE, I say cut it too, too much people including myself wasted time playing the fool, drinking liming and bare passing, if I had to pay I would have done a lot better. I paid for a few summer courses and I didn't dare fail. Also we now have a large portion of degree holders who are stuck either home or in menial jobs.

Restructure GATE and reintroduce the means test where you have to prove you would be unable to pay and anything below lower second class make them pay.

Postby Damien » October 3rd, 2012, 9:14 am

well at least the gate halfway open and not fully closed

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 3rd, 2012, 9:14 am

this is the best move ever. GATE needs to be managed better. Hopefully this may take UWI out of the "junior sec" status it is...........too many damn slackers getting to go through the system and tax payers footing the bill

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 3rd, 2012, 9:23 am

source?

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 9:28 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:Too many well off people take advantage of the system, let them earn their opportunity!

Access to GATE funding should be based on academic merit and not your financial capacity. What about the students whose parents have to still make a big financial sacrifice to send them to UWI yet they outside rituals or in sac knocking 'cyard' and failing all dey courses? It would be unfair to the student that can afford it and chooses to put in the hard work.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 9:37 am

rfari wrote:
mitsu_chick941 wrote:Too many well off people take advantage of the system, let them earn their opportunity!

Access to GATE funding should be based on academic merit and not your financial capacity. What about the students whose parents have to still make a big financial sacrifice to send them to UWI yet they outside rituals or in sac knocking 'cyard' and failing all dey courses? It would be unfair to the student that can afford it and chooses to put in the hard work.

buh fari, just so you reach on pios case?

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 9:39 am

rfari wrote:

Meee??!! He is a past uwi all fours champ orwha?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:42 am

rfari wrote:

I say this because i have seen first hand the crap that so called 'rich people' dish out while on the programme......besides generally EVERYONE should earn their opportunity.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 9:43 am

rfari wrote:

nah, refer to part in bold. :drinking: :lol:

Postby pete » October 3rd, 2012, 9:44 am

Can I edit the thread title to students ABusing gate are screwed?

Postby Greypatch » October 3rd, 2012, 9:47 am

what is the concern ?

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 9:50 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:
rfari wrote:

I say this because i have seen first hand the crap that so called 'rich people' dish out while on the programme......besides generally EVERYONE should earn their opportunity.

Crap like what?

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 9:51 am

rfari wrote:

nah, refer to part in bold. :drinking: :lol:

Not me nah. U eh find the place lil peaceful of late?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:52 am

Afaik that's what was said about gate in the budget.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 9:55 am

Place quiet cuz gas price raise so everyone in a corner crying.

You eh notice as they lego the budget troll mod tarantula who appeared out of thin air recently has now gone back into the woodwork?

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 10:25 am

:rofl: men plotting the next step on this

geodude

Postby geodude » October 3rd, 2012, 10:31 am

i was gonna post the same thing fari said, i think that all should have an opportunity to access gate, it is unfair that you work your ass off, pay taxes then have to pay for your child to go to uwi, when other persons who may have contributed nothing to the system getting a free pass yet again,
all should be entitled to receive the tuition based on academic merit,
if you do it according to financial status then what prevents the lazy ass ppl that doh wanna work, from abusing the system? thus making it into another gimme gimme handout program.

Postby RBphoto » October 3rd, 2012, 10:40 am

"Re: students using gate are screwed"

I tort this was a ched about UWI chicks cutting good... I am dissapoint :|

Postby ismithx » October 3rd, 2012, 10:43 am

rfari wrote:

THIS...... le them only touch Gate eh..... i alone go raise a big stink.... then again I only have one course left...

Postby Stephon. » October 3rd, 2012, 10:46 am

Nah they should keep gate. "People that can afford to go to collage, don't need a college education" -Lady GaGa

altec

Postby altec » October 3rd, 2012, 10:53 am

i think that the minimum requirement of grades should increase in order to continue funding. I saw someones transcript with mostly C grades and they were over two gpa points. How bad can a person be for one point gpa?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 3rd, 2012, 11:04 am

Stephon. wrote:Nah they should keep gate. "People that can afford to go to collage, don't need a college education" -Lady GaGa