NEW RBC CREDIT CARD FEE FOR FOREIGN PURCHASES?!?!?!

siner69

NEW RBC CREDIT CARD FEE FOR FOREIGN PURCHASES?!?!?!

Postby siner69 » October 4th, 2012, 11:34 pm

Hmm, in the midst of the the crazy that everybody want ah piece of, RBC decide to jump in too. I'm sure there are RBC credit card holders that got a notice stating that they would be implementing a NEW fee where there will be a 1% charge on all foreign transactions!! So in an age where people actually buy more on the internet than locally, it means business bad!!!

Apart from my fee increasing from TT140 to TT165 (would have settled for that increase), with a reward program where you get 1% cashback, tell me what is the sense of having a credit card when your 1% cashback goes out the window in paying the fee?!?!?!

Can anyone suggest a good credit card package?? I checked RBL, but I'm not impressed with their credit card packages...What about Scotia and First Citizens?? What are their fees and rewards programs like??

flyer 1.JPG
Last edited by siner69 on October 5th, 2012, 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: NEW RBC CREDIT CARD FEE FOR FOREIGN PURCHASES?!?!?!

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 12:38 am

wtf, didn know about this :shock:

Postby RBphoto » October 5th, 2012, 12:57 am

Do you have the flier? I am affected :shock:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 5th, 2012, 5:09 am

In this day and age ,you need to have accounts with every bank and simply use whichever service one provides that's better than the other.

Loyalty is a thing of the past.

Maybe its like a fraud insurance thing? Online purchases only?

Postby 1UZFE » October 5th, 2012, 6:20 am

I got a flier with my statement yesterday seeing this $165...
We really need more competition in Tnt for these kinda sheit services 1% reward thats an insult, give with 1 hand and take bak with 2.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » October 5th, 2012, 6:48 am

Scotia FTW!

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2012, 7:04 am

Bareback wrote:Scotia FTW!

Ew.....

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 5th, 2012, 7:18 am

found out about this late last month.
Took my RBC credit card and locked it away home,
REP CC will be in use from now on, RBC can take their 1% and stick it where the sun dont shine.

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2012, 7:21 am

I have an RBC card which I used online and they had benefits that I didn't get with RBL so I'm gonna stick with them. When I tried to add another name on my RBL cc it had a few combinations and with RBC I got through faster. RBL would remain my main bank tough, scotia would continue to be driven past without acknowledgement.

Postby sharkman121 » October 5th, 2012, 7:24 am

especially with my Magna rewards points that comes in the mail

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 5th, 2012, 8:47 am

sharkman121 wrote:

especially with my Magna rewards points that comes in the mail

x3

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 5th, 2012, 9:08 am

rbc frequent flyer went up to $275 this year and every year increasing since i've been with them ... I hear fcb has a good program , take a look into that op ...

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 5th, 2012, 9:53 am

I deal with RBC mainly.
but recently started with scotia and rbl. If I had to rate now I would say Scotia, then RBL then RBC.

Postby hydroep » October 5th, 2012, 10:55 am

Thanks for pointing this out. I just looked at the flyer and yes, it says:

International transaction fee - 1%

This is a new fee charged on the dollar value of each transaction and/ or fee incurred when a credit
card is used in a foreign country or in a foreign currency.

Wow...these #$!% already make a premium on currency transactions, charge you an annual user fee for the card, charge 25.2% interest on the unpaid balance and now this.

Leave it up to RBC to find uniquely creative ways to piss-off their customers.

Postby RBphoto » October 5th, 2012, 11:00 am

Scotia is truly progressive. Signed up for the pricemart mastercard to get 3% back on pricesmart purchases. Banking there and online with them is really a pleasure... wihth your scotia card giving the teller your information instantly instead of them having to search for your info every time.

W2J

Postby W2J » October 5th, 2012, 12:24 pm

does this apply for RBC Visa Business Card?

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » October 5th, 2012, 12:45 pm

RBL cards are the best for USD transactions. the TTD and USD are charged separately. So when you are paying your card, u have to pay twice (one for the TTD side and one for the USD side)...
advantage?... You can pay the USD side on a day where the USD exchange rate is low. typically one day for the week its 6.41ish while the rest of the week is 6.44ish.

If you do a lot of medium to large transactions it definitely pays off

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2012, 1:50 pm

I don't use my RBL credit card because their US VS TT bills confuse me lol

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 5th, 2012, 3:11 pm

I'm with RBC but cc expiring December.

May have to switch to another bank.

Who has better rewards?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 5th, 2012, 4:19 pm

White CZ4A wrote:If I had to rate now I would say Scotia, then RBL then RBC.

agreed 100%

no problems organizing flights with Scotia aero rewards card....even in high season

rbl USD CC with AAdvantage rewards is great for online shopping....and MasterCard security is top-of-the-line

RBC cud go suck an egg......

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 5th, 2012, 4:31 pm

^^Good info there thanks

siner69

Postby siner69 » October 5th, 2012, 5:51 pm

flyer 1.JPG

Well I went in today and cancelled my CC with RBC. The CSR was trying to convince me to keep the card, because they didn't charge the 1% for 6 years, and was trying to tell me I would still benefit. I told her this new strategy is ridiculous, and even though they WERE my main bank, I would now take my business elsewhere. She told me that no one was complaining abt the new 1% charge, but frm this post alone, I've realised there are alot of ppl that support RBC. My advice to you, let them know that the customers are unhappy abt this senseless new strategy and cancel your cards.

Also did some checking around, RBL and Scotia are ok, but I find they rob customers. RBL charges $12/mth for "maintaince fees" for savings account. Thas like $144/yr but with free withdrawals from their ATM's,plus personally I find their CC rates are unnecessarily high without much varity of rewards, while with RBC, its simply $0.50/withdrawal and no fees. Scoita, last time I checked into them, they have fee's for everything....

It seems FCB is the new bank that I would now be banking with.....
Last edited by siner69 on October 5th, 2012, 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 5th, 2012, 6:01 pm

"they didn't charge the 1% for 6 years" how is that relevant to what they charging NOW?

That RBL 12$/month fee sounding ridiculous.

Please post how FCB works out.

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2012, 6:03 pm

my scotia mastercard gives 1% cashback
rbtt and rbl are some of the worse banks to go into
you see the whole of town inside there

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 5th, 2012, 6:17 pm

ZeroOne wrote:"they didn't charge the 1% for 6 years" how is that relevant to what they charging NOW?

That RBL 12$/month fee sounding ridiculous.

Please post how FCB works out.

FCB has the lowest fees but it is the government bank so politicians have influence how the bank is run which is an area of concern.

RBL is one of the best run and conservative banks but they too are under government control but hopefully not for much longer.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 5th, 2012, 7:26 pm

biggy82 wrote:

agreed 100%

no problems organizing flights with Scotia aero rewards card....even in high season

rbl USD CC with AAdvantage rewards is great for online shopping....and MasterCard security is top-of-the-line

I would disagree with top of the line security. I had a Gold masterCard with RBL and would of literally found myself stranded in Edinburgh a few years ago if not for my measly Scotia Card. Someone made a large fraudulent transaction, and RBL 3 of their CSR and 2 supervisors in a 24 hour period could do nothing to help me but 'launch an investigation'.
It took several weeks for them to reactivate my account.

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » October 6th, 2012, 2:58 am

I only use my credit card for online purchases so this will really affect me. It expiring this December. I guess it's time to look for another bank for my credit card.

I guess I always stuck with Royal/RBTT/RBC because many years ago when I had accounts in RBL and Scotia, those other banks took out money out of my savings account every month, while Royal was the only one that didn't thief my savings and they still don't. Only a ATM withdrawal fee which is less than other banks debit card fees. I closed RBL account, and left Scotia account with a few dollars which went down to zero and they couldn't take any more.

I really scared to try other banks. They go thief more money from my savings account than that 1% cc fee from RBC. The only bank I didn't try yet is FCB, but I heard from two friends who experienced discrepancies in their account balances and the bank gave then real horrors to get back their money. So I fraid them too. Plus I don't like how every time I went to do a transaction in FCB that you can normally just pop into any bank and do just so, like exchange currency, FCB will refuse to deal with me unless I have an account with them. That's poor customer service.

I guess I will be following this thread for the best suggestions.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 6th, 2012, 5:07 am

pseudorandom wrote:I only use my credit card for online purchases so this will really affect me. It expiring this December. I guess it's time to look for another bank for my credit card.

I guess I always stuck with Royal/RBTT/RBC because many years ago when I had accounts in RBL and Scotia, those other banks took out money out of my savings account every month, while Royal was the only one that didn't thief my savings and they still don't. Only a ATM withdrawal fee which is less than other banks debit card fees. I closed RBL account, and left Scotia account with a few dollars which went down to zero and they couldn't take any more.

I really scared to try other banks. They go thief more money from my savings account than that 1% cc fee from RBC. The only bank I didn't try yet is FCB, but I heard from two friends who experienced discrepancies in their account balances and the bank gave then real horrors to get back their money. So I fraid them too. Plus I don't like how every time I went to do a transaction in FCB that you can normally just pop into any bank and do just so, like exchange currency, FCB will refuse to deal with me unless I have an account with them. That's poor customer service.

I guess I will be following this thread for the best suggestions.

Scotia has account where once you maintain a minimum balance there are no fees. I opened up my accounts there like that. I actually get fairly decent interest, after a year I could probably buy a box of kfc.

one is a Minimum of $5000 I think. I think it's always safer with banks that have a higher body to account to vs local.

Many times you just need a good banker. I live in the east, but have all my accounts in south Trinidad. The branch i deal with goes the extra mile to help me and keep me happy!
If you're terminating, only terminate after you have a commitment from the new bank to give you the same limit or higher.Bargin.

Postby De Dragon » October 6th, 2012, 5:33 am

crazychinee wrote:
biggy82 wrote:

agreed 100%

I would disagree with top of the line security. I had a Gold masterCard with RBL and would of literally found myself stranded in Edinburgh a few years ago if not for my measly Scotia Card. Someone made a large fraudulent transaction, and RBL 3 of their CSR and 2 supervisors in a 24 hour period could do nothing to help me but 'launch an investigation'.
It took several weeks for them to reactivate my account.

All that to say yuh went Edinburgh? :lol: Seriously,these banks getting away with real sheit now. Charge fuh dis,charge fuh dat, no washrooms,incompetent staff, no hat, no shades. WTMC it go stop?

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » October 6th, 2012, 7:14 am

Time to cancel my RBC CC, oui - after I clear off card. Getting My Republic VTM card recently was a good choice.