Mr Kalipersad,
I write these few lines as a citizen of T&T and as a silent observer of all things in the media.
These words are not official Government positions, but just vibes of an ‘Insignificant Muslim Cooli-e’ from San Juan.
I respect your role in the media and the years of effort and sacrifice you have carved in the media fraternity in our country. I may not always agree with your point of views and feelings expressed but you have the freedom to express yourself . I know the importance of the free press and have seen for myself what happens when the media is used and abused.
Something seems to be going on at Tv6 and the Express and its not too nice. A blind man can see that there is total bias at both Tv6 and Express.
On the one hand, items and reports are being presented in the name of investigative journalism and the only rationale for these reports are to embarrass certain individuals. Perceptions are being encouraged, and these perceptions are based on lies and half truths.
It is clear to me that there is a specific agenda to discredit the Prime Minister and members of her Government. Since may 2010 I have seen for myself the deliberate and targeted barrage of accusations and misrepresentations about the People’s Partnership, as if there is an ultimate objective to make the Government fall.
Not withstanding the fact that the Partnership received an overwhelming mandate from the people, Tv6 and the Express have embarked on a journey to discredit and destroy.
To make matters worst, a deliberate programme has appeared on Tv6 and the Express, where the PNM is being re-branded, refreshed and realigned so that it will become a new PNM rhythm for governance in the fall of the People’s Partnership. I have learnt that without exception, there is a perceived problem concerning the People’s Partnership Government , there is always a PNM official ready, willing and able to make a comment. This is most unfortunate.
May I remind you Mr Kalipersad, that I respect the views of Tv6 and Express. If it is the wish of the editorial board to see the removal of the People’s Partnership I have no problem with that. That is their right and privilege to do, as a private company, you have every right to go in any direction. All I wish is that you be fair. Stop the mudslinging and speculation against members of the Government and be willing to let people defend decisions that have been made.
Within the PNM there is a view that no one else has the right to govern this land, and up to today, you often hear that this is a PNM country. There are many other citizens, not of the PNM who are quite capable of offering leadership in this country. We should be willing to change and encourage change. For too long, we have been caught in the backward and dangerous mode of maintaining stupid ways of dealing with others.
Whether we like you or not, the People’s Partnership has given its mandate to change the way we do business in this country. Those who fight to maintain the ‘status quo’ must now give way to meaningful change. Let it not be what we traffic for the PNM or an orgy of embarrassment for the partnership.
The theory of the free press is not that the truth will be presented completely or perfectly in any one instance, but the truth will emerge from free discussion.
Breathe easy brother! There is room for all of us… Jamal
is in poor taste. Once you're a minister all of your actions are a representation of your administration.. The public is watching you and has expectations of you.vibes of an ‘Insignificant Muslim Cooli-e’ from San Juan
VexXx Dogg wrote:*BS*
They were giving the PNM administration even more heat.
It's what media houses do. Be the watchdog. Keep an eye on the administration and call it as they see it.
rfari wrote:So i have a question. Is mamoo a derogatory word? I always tort it was a bad word until the head of the law association wrote a letter where he mentioned that he can't call hudson-philip a mammo affectionately anymore. Whats the translation of the word?
kurpal_v2 wrote:rfari wrote:So i have a question. Is mamoo a derogatory word? I always tort it was a bad word until the head of the law association wrote a letter where he mentioned that he can't call hudson-philip a mammo affectionately anymore. Whats the translation of the word?
I think it loosely translate to uncle.
Actually surprised when I hear people say they thought it was bad as I use to to address most elderly folk.
rfari wrote:kurpal_v2 wrote:rfari wrote:So i have a question. Is mamoo a derogatory word? I always tort it was a bad word until the head of the law association wrote a letter where he mentioned that he can't call hudson-philip a mammo affectionately anymore. Whats the translation of the word?
I think it loosely translate to uncle.
Actually surprised when I hear people say they thought it was bad as I use to to address most elderly folk.
Scn scn. The first couple times i heard it, it was mostly guntas referring to the doubles man in curepe so i say tht it was a bad word. Didnt.want to ask anyone just to avoid longtalk incase it was racist
crossdrilled wrote:Nothing wrong with mamooo... it is uncle. I call both my brother and bro in law that in front of my son. It took a derogatory slant when east indian cricketers on the WI team were refeered to as such to say "mamoo cyah stan up in hot sun" etc. when they were playing crap. Some people use it as a racial slurr in that context, but the word is not bad initself.
zoom rader wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Nothing wrong with mamooo... it is uncle. I call both my brother and bro in law that in front of my son. It took a derogatory slant when east indian cricketers on the WI team were refeered to as such to say "mamoo cyah stan up in hot sun" etc. when they were playing crap. Some people use it as a racial slurr in that context, but the word is not bad initself.
It is used everyday in trini, but to think we have so-called trinis that dont know what it is used for. It is used as sign of respect for elders in hindi rather that "yo, opps,eah, boss"
pioneer wrote:. . . .I would have had a fatwar declared on my head and my inbox would have been flooded with infidel messages. . . .
5onDfloor wrote:i never seen a bunch of thin skin people like this PP government....
shogun wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:*BS*
They were giving the PNM administration even more heat.
It's what media houses do. Be the watchdog. Keep an eye on the administration and call it as they see it.
As a matter of fact, this administration got a nice long honeymoon. Just funny that this administration and people that sheepishly support it, all of a sudden have a problem with the media.
Truth is a bitter pill.
zoom rader wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Nothing wrong with mamooo... it is uncle. I call both my brother and bro in law that in front of my son. It took a derogatory slant when east indian cricketers on the WI team were refeered to as such to say "mamoo cyah stan up in hot sun" etc. when they were playing crap. Some people use it as a racial slurr in that context, but the word is not bad initself.
It is used everyday in trini, but to think we have so-called trinis that dont know what it is used for. It is used as sign of respect for elders in hindi rather that "yo, opps,eah, boss"
This Electronic Monitoring Bill and this facility, the electronic monitor, we should snap it on all of those we suspect, so we can monitor them 24 hours of every day, so we know exactly where they are," said Mohammed.
Mohammed responded, "Serious! For example...if the police have a suspicion that there is a possibility that a person might be involved in untoward activity...we have to be able to provide the opportunity to monitor and to take a closer look at these people who we might feel, or the intelligence officers in the community might feel, that they have to look at."
"There is an idea out there of where these people are and what they are doing. So we have to be able to be in a position to at least look at them and monitor them, and find some way to find out what we can do to stop them," he continued.
Mohammed volunteered to give the electronic monitoring bracelet a trial run.
"I am willing; I as an ordinary citizen, I am not in any legal problems or anything; I am willing to wear it to try it out to see how it will work because we have to make sure we have it in place and see how it is working. Try it out on ordinary citizens; let us see what will happen," he said.
"I mentioned at the beginning that I happened to join the Cabinet the same time as Mr Howai did, the same time as Mr Ganga Singh did, and the same time as Mrs Marlene Coudray did, and we had a recent addition of Mrs Christlyn Moore as Minister of Justice. Forget about me, I am a nobody, I am stupid," said Mohammed. The four Ministers joined the Cabinet during a reshuffle announced in June.
Opposition Senator Penelope Beckles pointed out to Mohammed that his statement will be recorded in Hansard.
Unfazed, Mohammed went on: "I am stupid and I admit that openly even if it is recorded in the Hansard."
vibes of an ‘Insignificant Muslim Cooli-e’ from San Juan