OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

viedcht

Re: OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Postby viedcht » January 1st, 2023, 9:02 am

eliteauto wrote:
viedcht wrote:angostura site have nothing worthy enough to call information I dunno what so secretive.

Anybody try this as yet? Saw solera/ 'stura got it for 260.00 want to stock a bottle or two for xmas visitors, any reviews welcomed
Screenshot_20221203_070936_com.facebook.katana_edit_4402928351131274.jpg
Don't know if you bought it already but I was invited to a tasting at Solera and found it harsh, definitely not for sipping neat, would have to use in cocktails or mixed. I wouldn't buy but would keep a free bottle in the cupboard for at least 10 years before revisiting. Do like the bottle and label though
Thanks for the review @elite

Nah I doh have the heart to pretend 'stura have quality standards in their products. End up getting two ElDo 8yr from Naughty Grape... 209.00 each, imagine that. Was better received by guests too.
Last edited by viedcht on January 1st, 2023, 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 1st, 2023, 9:10 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Was going to open this on NY's Day however ended up opening it for Old Years. Not bad at all.
Have a bottle of Clyneish 14 for today instead.
IMG_20230101_005051.jpg
Nice man... Only saw the 750ml available locally. Try the Double Oak if you get your hands on it. Got mine from Sookhoos, Marabella.

Trinis don't consider bourbon, I dunno why. Only JD, probably because of the marketing

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 1st, 2023, 9:15 am

Tried the Singleton single malt scotch for Xmas. Me and guests found it to be a good sipper. At 405.00 from Brydens/The Whisky Store @C3 it was decent. No big profile, though. Just average.

Postby De Dragon » January 1st, 2023, 9:16 pm

eliteauto wrote:
viedcht wrote:angostura site have nothing worthy enough to call information I dunno what so secretive.

Anybody try this as yet? Saw solera/ 'stura got it for 260.00 want to stock a bottle or two for xmas visitors, any reviews welcomed Screenshot_20221203_070936_com.facebook.katana_edit_4402928351131274.jpg
Don't know if you bought it already but I was invited to a tasting at Solera and found it harsh, definitely not for sipping neat, would have to use in cocktails or mixed. I wouldn't buy but would keep a free bottle in the cupboard for at least 10 years before revisiting. Do like the bottle and label though

Why?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 2nd, 2023, 7:33 am

eliteauto wrote:

Anybody try this as yet? Saw solera/ 'stura got it for 260.00 want to stock a bottle or two for xmas visitors, any reviews welcomed Screenshot_20221203_070936_com.facebook.katana_edit_4402928351131274.jpg

Why?
Sometimes the master distiller cut-off points off and some of the 'heads' or 'tails' taint the alco. Leaving it for some time can let evaporation remove unsavoury odours and tastes. Though minimal it can have a change compared to first impression. And knowing angostura they probably always squeezing out the most from distillation

Postby skylinechild » January 2nd, 2023, 2:28 pm

So for Christmas I got 3 bottles of alcohol -

First bottle is Ron abuelo 7 years -
It’s a rum from Panama

Second bottle is Jose Cuervo traditional tequila - limited edition 2021 bottle
Tequila from Mexico

Third bottle is Elijah Craig whiskey -
It’s burbon whiskey from USA

Will update the thread with actual pics of items -

Any tuners ever sampled these ?

How is the taste / flavor ?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 2nd, 2023, 4:57 pm

Have had two Ron Abuelos before. Not the 7 yr but they were both solid. If the 7 in the same vein you should be ok.

Elijah Craig is well reviewed so you should also be pretty ok there.

Never was a tequila person so have no clue there.
skylinechild wrote:So for Christmas I got 3 bottles of alcohol -

First bottle is Ron abuelo 7 years -
It’s a rum from Panama

Tequila from Mexico

Third bottle is Elijah Craig whiskey -
It’s burbon whiskey from USA

Will update the thread with actual pics of items -

Any tuners ever sampled these ?

How is the taste / flavor ?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 2nd, 2023, 6:31 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Tequila from Mexico

Once José Cuervo says 100 percent agave . If not that ent no true Tequila (that brand famous for using about 50% agave spirit mixing with 50% grain/ neutral spirit)

Postby De Dragon » January 3rd, 2023, 12:54 am

viedcht wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Why?
Sometimes the master distiller cut-off points off and some of the 'heads' or 'tails' taint the alco. Leaving it for some time can let evaporation remove unsavoury odours and tastes. Though minimal it can have a change compared to first impression. And knowing angostura they probably always squeezing out the most from distillation

Yes, but you would have to open it, and pour some out wouldn't you?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 3rd, 2023, 8:05 am

^some alcohols evaporate quicker because of the higher percentage, and usually they have some separation when undisturbed.

Evaporation losses happen more in bottles with corks than with the metal/plastic caps with sealing liners, unless they not tightened properly, so sometimes you may notice it will taste different after some time.

Postby skylinechild » January 3rd, 2023, 9:19 am

viedcht wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
Tequila from Mexico

Once José Cuervo says 100 percent agave . If not that ent no true Tequila (that brand famous for using about 50% agave spirit mixing with 50% grain/ neutral spirit)

Good info - so the bottle was checked -

It does indeed say 100 % agave - only thing it doesn’t specify is the variety of agave used …lol

Will load up pics -….. soon

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 3rd, 2023, 8:35 pm

skylinechild wrote:
viedcht wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
Tequila from Mexico

It does indeed say 100 % agave - only thing it doesn’t specify is the variety of agave used …lol

Yuh good to go

Enjoy!

Postby skylinechild » January 4th, 2023, 11:06 am

viedcht wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
viedcht wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
Tequila from Mexico

Yuh good to go

Enjoy!

The thing is I doh really drink … lol

Just collecting it for the timing ..

Will let yuh know when it eventually open

Postby bluefete » January 4th, 2023, 1:26 pm

Bestest, bestest t'ing - TT$1,900.00 (1.75L)

Anthony C United States | 213 ratings
Posted 12 months ago
This can be used for cleaner or to start fires when trapped in the wilderness.

Beukeboom | 304 ratings
This is a sipping rum for only the most hearty of rum aficionados and even then it's going to be rough. In my opinion you have to be a real bad-ass to have this as your choice for a sipping rum. You would be better off using this as a mixer or a floater. Or perhaps use a substitute for lighter fluid.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 10th, 2023, 5:26 pm

Google 'caroni rum prices'. Tell mih if it offends you.
Then realise it shouldn't.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 13th, 2023, 5:59 pm

Got this bottle for Christmas from a friend. Looking forward to trying it.

Has anyone ever had this or the Doublewood 12 from their line up?

Postby eliteauto » January 13th, 2023, 6:03 pm

Anyone here into wine? Looking for a nice sparkling wine for next weekend What's your favorite Prosecco or Cava?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 14th, 2023, 11:57 am

eliteauto wrote:Anyone here into wine? Looking for a nice sparkling wine for next weekend What's your favorite Prosecco or Cava?
Not a big wine enthusiast, but If you and the squad not purists, get a good pocket friendly prosecco (Naughty Grape have a somm that can help) and maybe add a slug of madiera. But for first tasting just the bubbly could work. Expect any prosecco/sparklies available down here to be reputable, can't go wrong

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 14th, 2023, 12:01 pm

Anybody ever see Glenturret whisky around?

Mih pops had a Glenturret bottle that was repurposed as a decanter for the Christmas season ever since I was about 9/10yrs old... Was just wondering if that scotch available down here

Postby skylinechild » January 19th, 2023, 11:10 am

Guys I’m seriously contemplating selling my alcohol collection

The collection stands as is

Johnny Walker red - X1 750ml
Johnny Walker island green -X1 - 1liter
Johnny Walker double black-X1 - 1 liter
Johnny Walker gold label reserve -x1- 1 liter
Johnny Walker white - game of thrones -X1 -750 ml
Jim beam Kentucky burbon X2 -1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon - honey X2 - 1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon apple X2 - 1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon - black extra aged - X1- 750 ml
Makers mark -X1- 1 liter
Jack Daniels Tennessee X1- 1 liter
Jack Daniels honey X2 - one (1) liter and one (1) 750ml
Jack Daniels fire ( cinnamon) X1 - 1 liter
Ron abuelo rum X1- 1 liter
Elijah Craig small batch burbon -X1 -750 ml
Jose Cuervo 2021 special edition tequila X1 - 1 liter

Thoughts .???

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 19th, 2023, 4:08 pm

They seem like the usual suspects at most liquor stores, except for a few 1litre bottles.
The JW White GOT might get some attention I guessing.
If the JW gold is a (Gold 18 statement) that might bring some interests.

Could put it up, as is the Fete Season yuh might pull ah sale.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 19th, 2023, 4:56 pm

viedcht wrote:Google 'caroni rum prices'. Tell mih if it offends you.

Didn't that Italian dude buy it almost sight unseen at a rock bottom price after getting like one sample because he knew the actual value of what was there and made out like Ali Baba.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 19th, 2023, 5:47 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
viedcht wrote:Google 'caroni rum prices'. Tell mih if it offends you.

Didn't that Italian dude buy it almost sight unseen at a rock bottom price after getting like one sample because he knew the actual value of what was there and made out like Ali Baba.
Imagine Angostura scorn it enough to sell it out. The thing is, they blending it with other distilleries eh, not only caroni. Most rum sommeliers say they get burnt rubber and diesel and burnt bramble, along some other bad and good flavours. I dunno if it was poorly stored in caroni days

Postby eliteauto » January 19th, 2023, 7:36 pm

Those rums were from the era of dark heavy rums when the focus was drinking to relax and get drunk vs the nose, the palate and all the properties of rums that people pay attention to now, it wasn't about cocktails then except rum and coke/soda water.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 20th, 2023, 7:06 am

I could see that being the case. Was caroni dark rum really that bad? Compared to the current lineups Appleton, Foursquare, Demerara El Dorado etc i don't expect any contest...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 20th, 2023, 7:12 am

Shoulda post this up with the whisky Colour gate issue

https://whiskipedia.com/myths/sherry-casks/

https://vinepair.com/articles/the-actua ... rel-aging/

I confess most of my stock have sherry finish on the labelling.
Bess I buy double dog and chuck ah 20ml of good sherry in the glass

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2023, 7:58 am

skylinechild wrote:Guys I’m seriously contemplating selling my alcohol collection

The collection stands as is

Johnny Walker red - X1 750ml
Johnny Walker island green -X1 - 1liter
Johnny Walker double black-X1 - 1 liter
Johnny Walker gold label reserve -x1- 1 liter
Johnny Walker white - game of thrones -X1 -750 ml
Jim beam Kentucky burbon X2 -1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon - honey X2 - 1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon apple X2 - 1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon - black extra aged - X1- 750 ml
Makers mark -X1- 1 liter
Jack Daniels Tennessee X1- 1 liter
Jack Daniels honey X2 - one (1) liter and one (1) 750ml
Jack Daniels fire ( cinnamon) X1 - 1 liter
Ron abuelo rum X1- 1 liter
Elijah Craig small batch burbon -X1 -750 ml
Jose Cuervo 2021 special edition tequila X1 - 1 liter

Thoughts .???
Have a big lime and invite all of us.

Add some black and white if you inviting me tho

Postby Dizzy28 » January 20th, 2023, 9:02 am

viedcht wrote:Shoulda post this up with the whisky Colour gate issue

https://whiskipedia.com/myths/sherry-casks/

https://vinepair.com/articles/the-actua ... rel-aging/

I confess most of my stock have sherry finish on the labelling.
Bess I buy double dog and chuck ah 20ml of good sherry in the glass

I'm getting kinna fed up of this trend of sherry finish to scotches.
Limed by a pardner Saturday and he had Maccallan and Glen Livet aged in sherry casks.
Took a taste of each but to me I prefer a nice 18yr old Glen than the Sherry one. Ended up drinking JWB the rest of the night.

I also noticed most of these sherry scotches lack an age statement.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 20th, 2023, 9:49 am

The no age statement is because Scotch seeing a revival after the vodka flood over the last 3, 4 decades, aged stocks running out.

Although the sherry casks was really something always there, like with the bourbon casks, it is a new marketing appeal, probably aimed at the younger crowd . Virgin oak scotches really show why used barrels is a good thing. That woody taste really a lil unappealing especially when it hit you on the finish, even if it is blended with other cask finishes.

The glenmorangie nectar d'Or wine finish interesting, and have a nice flavour I can taste, different from the whisky.

Rum on the uprising now... The ones who stand with Quality getting the deserved attention (no colouring, no sweetening, genuinely aged and labelled, by scotch whisky standards). Not like 'Stura dumping sugar in everything and scraping the old muck to colour the products.

Postby timelapse » January 20th, 2023, 11:13 am

viedcht wrote:I could see that being the case. Was caroni dark rum really that bad? Compared to the current lineups Appleton, Foursquare, Demerara El Dorado etc i don't expect any contest...
Caroni was good.
Here's the issue for most people in those days.
Caroni Rum had colonial blood on its hands.
The owners used to short pay workers and give them rum instead.They created a workforce of alcoholics and were thus able to control their workforce.In those days,rum was perceived as cheap alcohol for poor people.This is why you find old injuns were mostly into whiskey.It was a status thing.Puncheon was for vagrants.All about value and status perception.I am old enough to remember before Puncheon became mainstream.If you drank that, you were perceived as a drunkard.
Nowadays, everybody is a connoisseur of something or the other,so the game has changed.