Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby SMc » October 19th, 2022, 6:29 am

Maybe- colour wise they look similar but the smell and taste is completely different.

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2022, 6:41 am

its a great secret ingredient to add to many things
just a slight hint needed

SMc wrote:Maybe- colour wise they look similar but the smell and taste is completely different.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 19th, 2022, 9:57 am

SMc wrote:^^not that i know of- I have two different bottles and neither of them have a salty finish/taste. Ingredients list on the bottle state water, rice & wheat only.

nah, some people sell "cooking wine" that's basically a cheap wine with salt added.
Not sure if this market has the same issues.
I was just curious if I pick up a bottle of Shaoxing if I could tell if it's low or high quality since I'm not familiar with it.

death365

Postby death365 » October 19th, 2022, 12:44 pm

No real food just salad
20221019_124344.jpg

dogg

Postby dogg » October 19th, 2022, 1:14 pm

death365 wrote:No real food just salad 20221019_124344.jpg

add some parmesan, basil leaves, and a dash of balsamic and yuh good.

You know... I really dislike black olives, but I could eat a jar of green in one sitting.
I also dislike capers with something of a passion.

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2022, 1:20 pm

add chopped boil egg, anchovies and balsamic olive oil dressing and you have a nicoise salad
a bigshot salad found in high end restaurants

dogg wrote:

add some parmesan, basil leaves, and a dash of balsamic and yuh good.

You know... I really dislike black olives, but I could eat a jar of green in one sitting.
I also dislike capers with something of a passion.

Postby eliteauto » October 19th, 2022, 2:39 pm

The fact that he has tomatoes and lettuce in there is big boy and high end enough oui

Postby De Dragon » October 22nd, 2022, 12:33 am

Aye, dais real food!

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2022, 5:58 pm

i bought a bottle today in a chinese grocery in diego martin main road today just after la puerta

dogg wrote:Folks, anyone can direct me to where I can purchase Shaoxing wine?

I was able to buy some a Chinese run grocery a couple yrs ago, but have had no luck finding it since.

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2022, 6:06 pm

after much trials, satisfied with results and ready for the xmas production run of real panettone

641FA848-571B-4518-87F4-CBD9DAB12107.jpeg

Postby shogun » November 1st, 2022, 7:18 pm

Thaz some of the realest of food there buddy.

Still wrapping my head around someone screen named "death365" has some of the healthier eating habits.

dogg

Postby dogg » November 1st, 2022, 7:49 pm

pugboy wrote:i bought a bottle today in a chinese grocery in diego martin main road today just after la puerta

I was able to buy some a Chinese run grocery a couple yrs ago, but have had no luck finding it since.

Nice, can I see the label?

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2022, 8:06 pm

it’s the same one as what i posted earlier that i got from wing sing but smaller for $40

dogg wrote:
pugboy wrote:i bought a bottle today by in a chinese grocery in diego martin main road today just after la puerta

Nice, can I see the label?

death365

Postby death365 » November 2nd, 2022, 11:09 am

ole age firetrucking sucks !!!!

shogun wrote:

Thaz some of the realest of food there buddy.

Still wrapping my head around someone screen named "death365" has some of the healthier eating habits.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 17th, 2022, 3:10 pm

pugboy wrote:after much trials, satisfied with results and ready for the xmas production run of real panettone

Nice. You ever tried biscotti? Want to make an attempt on that, and Dundee cake this year.

Postby pugboy » November 17th, 2022, 4:27 pm

no, it is a deliberate dry product for longeivity

viedcht wrote:
pugboy wrote:after much trials, satisfied with results and ready for the xmas production run of real panettone

Nice. You ever tried biscotti? Want to make an attempt on that, and Dundee cake this year.

Postby timelapse » November 17th, 2022, 5:04 pm

Allyuh ever eat ah good dhal dumpling?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 17th, 2022, 5:41 pm

timelapse wrote:Allyuh ever eat ah good dhal dumpling?

Nope, tried corn meal dumpling already, bess.

Postby timelapse » November 17th, 2022, 5:57 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Nope, tried corn meal dumpling already, bess.
Boil your dhal, season it up good with level budd peppa ,gyalic and whatever you like.
When it comes to a rolling boil, add your flour dumpling dough to the pot:rolled properly and cut, random, however,just make sure they bite sized.When those float up and the dhal thickening up,add some geera on top.
Real easy one pot meal.Serve hot
If anybody tries it , let me know how it went.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 18th, 2022, 8:37 am

I make it all the time. Easy midweek meal and it's quite filling.
I have two versions, but I've seen them both referred to as dhal dumpling.

One is a simple dhal soup with dhal base, dumplings, carrot and maybe potato.

The other is dhal dumpling, cooked dhal like you said, lots of garlic, pimento and whatever pepper you like. Add dumpling, either bite sized or roll type. But then I do the whole geera chunkay at the very end and top with finely chopped bandania and chives. No other vegetables.

And this is my classic chunkay technique: https://www.instagram.com/p/CkV7HLjDUG3 ... e9iTGQ8U0/

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 18th, 2022, 8:39 am

fellas allyuh like food awa? I like food too

Postby maj. tom » November 18th, 2022, 9:43 am

Instagram link didn't go through.

The dhal dumpling is just the kneaded flour boiled in dhal?

I was thinking something like the cooked seasoned grind dhal (with a mill so it smooth) and mixed with some flour to bind it and then kneaded into a dough for the dumplings. I really not sure if these two will bind and come out good.

Then if that works you can add those to dhal or any other food in the last 10 minutes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 18th, 2022, 9:47 am

maj. tom wrote:Instagram link didn't go through.

The dhal dumpling is just the kneaded flour boiled in dhal?

I was thinking something like the cooked seasoned grind dhal (with a mill so it smooth) and mixed with some flour to bind it and then kneaded into a dough for the dumplings. I really not sure if these two will bind and come out good.

Then if that works you can add those to dhal or any other food in the last 10 minutes.

hard luck dey dunno what happen to my IG link.
Yea, the dumpling is normal flour dumpling.

I once made soup with stuffed dumplings (re-purposed some dhalupuri dhal from freezer). That was an interesting experiment. had about a 25% failure rate on my seals but the ones that remained together was quite an experience. Too much work though, just wanted to play with an idea

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 4th, 2022, 10:19 am

Who have a dhalpourie dough recipe?

Postby timelapse » December 4th, 2022, 6:04 pm

playerskrew wrote:Who have a dhalpourie dough recipe?
Naps girls cookbook?

Postby MaxPower » December 4th, 2022, 6:11 pm

How yuh mean!

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 5th, 2022, 10:44 am

timelapse wrote:
playerskrew wrote:Who have a dhalpourie dough recipe?
Naps girls cookbook?

The undisputed cooking bible of T&T!

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 5th, 2022, 11:54 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:fellas allyuh like food awa? I like food too

yeah dawg I rell like food, leh we get together and make some food nah? u kinda cute teehee

Postby timelapse » December 6th, 2022, 7:46 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:

yeah dawg I rell like food, leh we get together and make some food nah? u kinda cute teehee
Like you forget to switch profiles?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 6th, 2022, 10:10 am

timelapse wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:

Like you forget to switch profiles?
ROFL