Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby DMan7 » April 22nd, 2023, 11:04 am

Aye that man steal meh chow and post a pic on tuner yes. :D

death365

Postby death365 » April 27th, 2023, 10:31 am

For those who ent kno ...

The small fruit is balata and its in season.
20230427_082939.jpg

matix

Postby matix » April 27th, 2023, 9:54 pm

death365 wrote:For those who ent kno ...

The small fruit is balata and its in season.
20230427_082939.jpg

Oh gosh, link some balata nah

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2023, 8:53 am

Morning, ceramic pot sets or Teflon sets...where to buy?

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2023, 12:23 pm

aye doh buy no Teflon again eh. Use the newer non-stick ceramic coatings (like Blue Diamond) or a ceramic glazed iron pot with a wood spoon.

PFAs remain forever.

Price Club Chaguanas had some Red Copper pans. Also buy known brand names and not cheap crap from variety stores which have no manufacturer's regulations for safety.

Postby eliteauto » May 11th, 2023, 10:03 pm

I bought an Ekco set over 18 years ago and still use them daily, Don't see that brand locally anymore

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 12th, 2023, 8:38 am

maj. tom wrote:aye doh buy no Teflon again eh. Use the newer non-stick ceramic coatings (like Blue Diamond) or a ceramic glazed iron pot with a wood spoon.

PFAs remain forever.

Price Club Chaguanas had some Red Copper pans. Also buy known brand names and not cheap crap from variety stores which have no manufacturer's regulations for safety.

fax

Or a good ole fashioned iron pan that's seasoned aka carbonized aka it never scrub out good

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 12th, 2023, 10:59 pm

yea, I need a fresh set of the old school local cast iron cookware with covers.

10, 12, 18, and 24 regular depth
Plus a 15" shallow

I think I saw a place in felicity selling them.
There's also a dude in Couva selling out the back of a pickup by Roops Junction

hindian

Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby hindian » May 13th, 2023, 4:45 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:yea, I need a fresh set of the old school local cast iron cookware with covers.

Plus a 15" shallow

Cast aluminum you mean right? Cuz if you getting real iron pots from somewhere, please share the location thanks. I brought home a 15” cast iron skillet from London in 2018 about 2” deep and I do all my frying and some baking in it. Best £14 I spend…

Postby *KRONIK* » May 13th, 2023, 7:50 am

Correk,
Those silver "iron pot" made locally are cast aluminum

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2023, 8:39 am

wah on d menu for moms day?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 13th, 2023, 9:05 am

pugboy wrote:wah on d menu for moms day?
Hoping mom and MIL cook for me

Hahaiiiiiiiii

Postby *KRONIK* » May 13th, 2023, 9:06 am

Wah you cooking?

The usual favorite?

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2023, 9:31 am

yeah duck and strimps

*KRONIK* wrote:
Wah you cooking?

The usual favorite?

Postby adnj » May 13th, 2023, 9:46 am

hindian wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:yea, I need a fresh set of the old school local cast iron cookware with covers.

Plus a 15" shallow

Cast aluminum you mean right? Cuz if you getting real iron pots from somewhere, please share the location thanks. I brought home a 15” cast iron skillet from London in 2018 about 2” deep and I do all my frying and some baking in it. Best £14 I spend…

You can buy cast iron at Dwellings. They also have a 15% off sale right now.

https://www.dwellingstrinidad.com/

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2023, 10:34 am

boy cast iron too heavy

Postby eliteauto » May 13th, 2023, 3:39 pm

Dwellings the man say yuhnno, Allyuh men moving de economy forward oui

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 13th, 2023, 3:42 pm

maj. tom wrote:aye doh buy no Teflon again eh. Use the newer non-stick ceramic coatings (like Blue Diamond) or a ceramic glazed iron pot with a wood spoon.

PFAs remain forever.

https://pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/19663

Thoughts ?

Postby Chimera » May 13th, 2023, 3:49 pm

eliteauto wrote:Dwellings the man say yuhnno, Allyuh men moving de economy forward oui
Fcb and jmmb does have a rep at the entrance of dwellings. They giving 20 year loan packages

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2023, 4:24 pm

i ded yes

eliteauto wrote:Dwellings the man say yuhnno, Allyuh men moving de economy forward oui

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2023, 4:33 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
https://pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/19663

Thoughts ?

It looking ok, but when you dig a bit deeper (this is also called Member's Mark in Sam's Club USA) it says: "using PFOA-free Teflon platinum nonstick coating." Nice advertising making you think it's just anodized Aluminium, but it contains Teflon and PFAs.

Same as this: https://pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/715939

Tramontina is a good, well known brand from Brazil, and their website says "Reinforced nonstick interior coating is made without PFOA, lead, or cadmium." https://www.tramontina.com/11-pc-nonstick-cookware-set--blue_80143031/p

But dig deeper and it says:

This product contains:
- Perfluoroalkoxy alkane Polymer (PFA) (CECBP -Priority Chemicals)
- Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (CECBP -Priority Chemicals)
- Fluorinated Ethylene and Propylene (FEP) (CECBP -Priority Chemicals)

╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾
Check this: I know it's not non-stick, but it's really good stainless steel and would be like non-stick if you cared for it well. Lifetime thing.
Tramontina Stainless Steel Cookware
https://pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/22695
╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾╾

This is the Blue Diamond enamel coating I was talking about. https://bluediamondshopping.com/pages/faqs
I bought one from Amazon and it's exactly like the ads seen on TV, tested by quite a few on YouTube. No advertising gimmick, oddly enough. It's holding up for me daily use. Wood/silicone spoon only and sponge side of scrubber, no abrasive detergents.

Postby 88sins » May 13th, 2023, 5:38 pm

Whatever d madam wants, at whatever restaurant it's available from :D

dis year I eh have the time to go all out like previous years.
Between wuk, construction, and the start up, if it wasn't for the fact that it's on a Sunday, the only day I got more than an hour free time, she woulda hadda do whatever wrt food/going out without me, and I know for a fact, she eh want that.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2023, 7:23 pm

Maj Tom studying PFAS in pots but all them new fangled food packaging containers food vendors using now contain PFAS especially the "compostable" ones. People buy food so often that's probably an even bigger risk.

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2023, 7:45 pm

Unfortunately PFAS are everywhere and has been in everything for a long time because we thought it was unquestionably safe. It's only recently it was discovered that they were "forever chemicals" and are probably causing a lot of adverse effects on human health and development, like perhaps the noted increase of cancers everywhere in the industrial world, as well as brain development syndromes for babies in such environments. (just my personal speculation, especially after reading about the potential link of tire micro-plastics pollution to autism).

As you mentioned it's really prevalent in food containers now, and we can address that if we become aware of it. https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2023/apr/17/pfas-forever-chemicals-food-containers-study

Just trying to get people aware of that one major source of PFAS in pots that we took for granted as safe and we need to get rid of it. There are safe options now because of that understanding. And locally we need to spread this awareness and get it into local legislation and regulation. Fabric Softener is another big source of PFAS that I want to mention. Use 1/4 cup white vinegar in your laundry instead.

death365

Postby death365 » May 14th, 2023, 10:12 am

Ah have some yellow cherry and local bird pepper .... and I want to soak them to preserve/ make pepper sauce with it.

What's the best mixture to soak them whole, or the cherry pepper halved?

Postby gastly369 » May 14th, 2023, 10:23 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Wah you cooking?

The usual favorite?
Ah making hotdog

Postby *KRONIK* » May 14th, 2023, 10:24 am

death365 wrote:Ah have some yellow cherry and local bird pepper .... and I want to soak them to preserve/ make pepper sauce with it.

Personally, i wont soak or preserve those
I prefer freeze those types of peppers
If you have access to a vacuum sealer will be even better
Last edited by *KRONIK* on May 14th, 2023, 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 14th, 2023, 10:25 am

gastly369 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Wah you cooking?

The usual favorite?
Ah making hotdog
Yuh men does rel lie boi

I sure is bigggggg bbq zess by you

Postby maj. tom » May 14th, 2023, 10:39 am

death365 wrote:Ah have some yellow cherry and local bird pepper .... and I want to soak them to preserve/ make pepper sauce with it.

Cut them in halves if you want, or at least stick the outside skin with a knife to get the acid to react with the capsaicin inside. Clean Nescafe glass bottle, rinsed with some vinegar. 5% White Vinegar and fresh squeezed lime/lemon juice. Don't dilute the vinegar at all.

Then add a small amount of chopped garlic/bandanya if you want that flavour, or roughly chopped vegetables like a carrot or radish. I also cut up the lime skins and add chunks because I love lime-flavour pepper sauce. Add enough salt to the mix to help open your taste buds. Marinate for about a week or two at room temperature before storing in the fridge (this is why don't dilute the vinegar).