WTF - Snake!

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2012, 8:46 am

Really glad they didn't kill it

cudos to the people that saved that majestic creature

A BEAUTIFUL 200-pound, 16-foot-long anaconda snake was spotted by two private security guards, employed by Executive Bodyguard Services Limited, sunning itself along a private road opposite the Caroni cremation site yesterday.

Rather than killing the animal or raising an alarm which may have caused other persons to visit the area and harm the snake, the security guards contacted the Emperor Valley Zoo, an act which drew much praise from the Zoo’s curator, well-known conservationist Gupte Lutchmedial.

“Instead of attempting to kill the snake, they called the zoo. That was a very good thing they did. I wish more people would call us rather than attempt to kill a wild animal. The guards were on patrol at 4 pm when they saw the snake on the road, so they used a rope to lasso it in place and kept watch over it until we arrived in the evening,” Lutchmedial said.

He said it took a couple hours to arrange for three qualified zookeepers to report for duty at the Zoo before heading to Caroni to collect the animal. “It’s a beautiful specimen, the largest I’ve seen in 12 years,” Lutchmedial remarked when asked about how rare such a find was in TT.

“These are water-based snakes, so you find them more in the Nariva Swamp and places like that, but hardly on dry land, especially one this size.” By the time the zookeepers arrived on site after 6 pm yesterday, three more security guards had joined their colleagues, as well as a couple of police officers stationed at the Caroni Police Station.

En route to the zoo yesterday evening, Lutchmedial and crew were flagged down by Newsday who were told the zookeepers were carrying a special passenger to the zoo. As the zookeepers struggled to display the creature, several persons gawked at the 16-footer.

“I have to play big snake tomorrow (today). I going and put down a hundred dollars now that I see that huge snake,” a man muttered as he took photos of the snake with his cellular phone. Upon arrival at the zoo last night, the female snake was placed in an enclosure which contained a pool to, “allow her to relax in as close to her natural environment as possible,” Lutchmedial stated.

A veterinarian is due to examine the anaconda sometime today to determine if she has any infection or if she sustained any injuries while being restrained. “My goal is to return her to the wild, once we have determined she has no debilitating injuries or infections. How long that will take depends on what the vet says,” Lutchmedial declared.

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,171352.html

-Roach-

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby -Roach- » December 31st, 2012, 8:58 am

Good Work On Placing The Lasso!...

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » December 31st, 2012, 8:58 am

well done.

Postby foss » December 31st, 2012, 8:59 am

more shocked the security guards didn't kill it..

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2012, 9:01 am

did big snake play?

Postby foss » December 31st, 2012, 9:01 am

MG Man wrote:did big snake play?

mine did :angel:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » December 31st, 2012, 9:11 am

“My goal is to return her to the wild, once we have determined she has no debilitating injuries or infections. How long that will take depends on what the vet says,” Lutchmedial declared.

very admiral, but this snake is between a rock and a hard place, because it wont survive at the zoo, and sadly if released to the wild some ignoramus is sure to stumble upon it and end its life for show.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 31st, 2012, 9:19 am

foss wrote:

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2012, 9:21 am

foss wrote:

you cuttin me deep Foss....real deep :(

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 31st, 2012, 9:23 am

On news a man said that the snakes of this size are common in the Nariva swamp and that is where they want to release this one after examining it.

And d ting pregnant too eh

Postby Dizzy28 » December 31st, 2012, 9:24 am

That giving real trouble that such a big snake was so close to populated areas.

Postby ismithx » December 31st, 2012, 9:32 am

wow, dais right where i live..... nice!

Postby Mark! » December 31st, 2012, 9:44 am

niceeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 31st, 2012, 9:46 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
“My goal is to return her to the wild, once we have determined she has no debilitating injuries or infections. How long that will take depends on what the vet says,” Lutchmedial declared.

very admiral, but this snake is between a rock and a hard place, because it wont survive at the zoo, and sadly if released to the wild some ignoramus is sure to stumble upon it and end its life for show.

why u say that?

devrat

Postby devrat » December 31st, 2012, 10:02 am

foss wrote:

Postby Rooki3 » December 31st, 2012, 10:08 am

nothing wrong wid killin a snake of this size prowlin a populated area, that cude easily swallow a small child

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2012, 10:10 am

So it could never be that humans encroaching on wetlands...

brb logic

Postby Rooki3 » December 31st, 2012, 10:11 am

snake does pay land tax? & have deed for land?

brb rights

trent

Postby trent » December 31st, 2012, 10:12 am

Halfbreed07, y won't it survive @ the zoo???

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2012, 10:14 am

Most people "living" in that area are squatting....

Other than that the closest legit livety is a few km away which still in wetlands anyway

Oh yeah, snakes were there before us.

brb nature

Postby Hook » December 31st, 2012, 10:18 am

foss wrote:

you cuttin me deep Foss....real deep :(

Postby Rooki3 » December 31st, 2012, 10:19 am

snake wud survive, but it def wont be comfortable.

i wud be brutally honest, jus the thought if knowing creatures of this size alive & prowling areas, leaves u to wonder, what about the ones we havent seen yet

i wud have drove over it, reversed & do it again

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2012, 10:21 am

cuz you're a sissy phaggot

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 31st, 2012, 10:22 am

Rooki3 wrote:nothing wrong wid killin a snake of this size prowlin a populated area, that cude easily swallow a small child

Except that they are protected by Law .

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2012, 10:25 am

thread kinda boring though........ plenty talk, little pics

Postby Rooki3 » December 31st, 2012, 10:28 am

human well being > snake worthless life

Postby shogun » December 31st, 2012, 10:29 am

From the "WTF" ched

Yodins wrote:it is very alive. is kept at the emperor valley zoo. on display from tomorrow

moar pics

this is how the security guard who spotted it caught it

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 31st, 2012, 10:29 am

pioneer wrote:cuz you're a sissy phaggot

don't play up eh you would have screamed and run away with ur arms in the air

Postby shogun » December 31st, 2012, 10:31 am

Yodins wrote:15 foot Anaconda caught in Caroni river today (by the bridge I believe). That guy in the picture is 6ft tall and is a big guy, just to put things into perspective.

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2012, 10:32 am

Yeah but i eh go kill it

Actually i held those bigger snakes already....the small fast-moving ones does fret meh