WTF - Snake!

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby mero » December 11th, 2020, 9:19 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:Legless lizard that color? Anything that crawls in yard by mums gonna get it..

yes, it's a legless lizard, and it's harmless to humans but important to the ecology. they eat insects and grubs and worms etc.
No reason to kill it, next time just pick it up and throw it in the bush.
Evolution wasn't so nice for Mr legless lizard, especially in tdad.

Bounce up one 5 in the morning,blade him up sad to say.

Didn't get time to fire up Google to verify.

Maybe his sacrifice will lead to the preservation of many more.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 11th, 2020, 1:19 pm

I'll send him by the neighbour next time

VII

Postby VII » December 13th, 2020, 11:22 pm

Ratonel...nice snake...is that blood next to it,you killed it ?

killercow wrote:Just found this inside the house. What kind is it?_20201126_191758.JPG

VII

Postby VII » December 13th, 2020, 11:23 pm

Allyuh kill dat bhai? Allyuh go kill anything yes..that thing totally harmless and it blind too...spends most of it's time underground in the dirt like a worm..

Allyuh wicked..

nismotrinidappa wrote:20201210_173220.jpg
What is this??????

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 15th, 2020, 1:32 pm

You like snakes.. other people don't. You like evos. Others like Subaru. That's by my mom's and she's scared of snakes. As I said earlier next time I will deport him.

abbow

Postby abbow » December 15th, 2020, 1:52 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:You like snakes.. other people don't. You like evos. Others like Subaru. That's by my mom's and she's scared of snakes. As I said earlier next time I will deport him.

my neighbor say he dont have a problem with snakes....man have bush up to his windows..
couple weeks back a 4 foot non venomous snake bit him twice on his foot in his living room...(cant recall the type it was)

Man cut even hibiscus growing in his yard, mango tree older than him get blade too...

VII

Postby VII » December 15th, 2020, 2:33 pm

That wasn't a snake..

nismotrinidappa wrote:You like snakes.. other people don't. You like evos. Others like Subaru. That's by my mom's and she's scared of snakes. As I said earlier next time I will deport him.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 16th, 2020, 1:31 am

You are right.. anybody can tell it wasn't a snake. It more resembles a giraffe.

rebound

Postby rebound » December 16th, 2020, 9:14 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:You are right.. anybody can tell it wasn't a snake. It more resembles a giraffe.

Postby nervewrecker » December 21st, 2020, 7:33 pm

First time I see one like this. Image

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2020, 6:08 am

nervewrecker wrote:First time I see one like this. Image

another legless lizard

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 22nd, 2020, 9:16 am

Men killing legless lizard and boasting about it too?

So much information out there about the different type of snakes in Trinidad and ppl still can't tell mapepire from earthworm?

Even legless lizard meeting blade.

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2020, 6:59 pm

I know the black and white legless lizard. Never seen this yellow fellow before. He had some size too. The cats were rather perplexed. He went off into nearby vegetation.

Postby shogun » December 22nd, 2020, 7:12 pm

^Had no idea we even had those here.

Saw it here: http://www.ttnaturelink.com/ttnaturetri ... s-catshill

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2020, 8:06 pm

Very informative link.

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2020, 8:13 pm

Quick tips to tell the difference between a legless lizard and a true snake.
Snakes generally have a well defined and easily seen neck area that separates their head and body, in legless lizards the neck is practically indistinguishable.
They don't move as easily or as quickly as snakes do, and it takes them a long time to move away when seen.

If in doubt you always have the option to back away from it and leave it alone, and it will go on it's way.

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2020, 8:36 pm

Anything long and slender is a snake to most trinis. That one especially is a 2 head snake.

I think I read these have eyelids and snakes dont.

Saw someone say that venemous snakes have slits and non venomous have round pupil. you may be better able to advise on that.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » December 22nd, 2020, 8:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Anything long and slender is a snake to most trinis. That one especially is a 2 head snake.

I think I read these have eyelids and snakes dont.

Saw someone say that venomous snakes have slits and non venomous have round pupil. you may be better able to advise on that.

The cobra family like corals have round eyes, but since they are sometimes brightly coloured they are easy to spot so we only have to worry about the other two vipers, and even non venomous snakes could give a nasty bite with their teeth and mouth bacteria.

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2020, 9:25 pm

Yea, read about the bites.

And the matchet is a guy that won't hesitate to dish it out. Handled one in the zoo some years ago. Was kinda ackward handling a snake for the first time. But it sure as hell was an experience having a snake like that crawl all over you.
I think some of the boas will dish it out too. Had an experience with one maybe about 6 feet long. main thing is that it was moved from the road to safety

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2020, 10:46 pm

Considering getting back a snake to keep as a pet, had quite a few back when I was a much younger fella. If I do it will be either a cascabel or a red tailed boa or a rainbow boa. More leaning toward the rainbow boa tho, since they are a bit more laid back than the others.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 30th, 2020, 10:33 am

What sort of snake is this?
IMG-20201230-WA0002.jpeg

Postby bluefete » December 30th, 2020, 10:51 am

Looks like a macajuel.

But I will let the experts decide.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 30th, 2020, 10:56 am

I thought so
bluefete wrote:Looks like a macajuel.

But I will let the experts decide.

Postby 88sins » December 30th, 2020, 3:59 pm

PariaMan wrote:What sort of snake is this?IMG-20201230-WA0002.jpeg

Cribo. Non venomous, eats mice, lizards, and other snakes, including the venomous ones.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 30th, 2020, 6:29 pm

Big mofo

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 30th, 2020, 8:39 pm

In town too
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Big mofo

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » January 21st, 2021, 10:52 am

Found this the meh backyard.. Can anyone id?

[img]
WOZQ8285.JPG
[/img]
WOZQ8285.JPG

Postby SMc » January 21st, 2021, 11:08 am

Trinidad Black-Backed Snake- endemic to T&T. harmless unless you are a lizard or frog.

VII

Postby VII » January 21st, 2021, 11:25 am

That's a rainbow boa...they live around humans and are very common in and around suburban areas...one was even found in parliament at the waterfront..

Theyre very aggressive with that classic boa strike and bite..

Last edited by VII on January 21st, 2021, 6:05 pm, edited 5 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » January 21st, 2021, 11:28 am

Yeah well mind how you pulling out yuh piggy some other ignoramus may take it for a short tail boa,and is chap..

nismotrinidappa wrote:You are right.. anybody can tell it wasn't a snake. It more resembles a giraffe.
Last edited by VII on January 21st, 2021, 11:53 am, edited 2 times in total.