Should fireworks use be properly regulated?

Yes
87%
No
13%

Total votes: 71

Halfbreed07

The abuse or misue of fireworks

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 14th, 2012, 7:21 am

Give trini an inch and they take a mile and a half,
After 11pm last night I still hearing fireworks going off right behind my wall.
Oh gorm, i am not against having fun but i think 8pm may be a reasonable time to stop that annoyance. Besides, since when is Divali to tied to fireworks?
One of my dogs had to stay inside all night because she was scared, she didn't even eat.
I kept jumping out of my sleep because of this noise, I guess last night would have been a good night to shoot someone.

Re: The abuse or misue of fireworks

Postby hydroep » November 14th, 2012, 7:34 am

Lack of enforcement...especially within the city limits.

The police should've rounded up a few perpetrators and locked their arse up for the night.

Do the same for Old Year's Night as well...after all we don't want anyone playing the 'discrimination' card...do we?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 14th, 2012, 7:39 am

hydroep wrote:Lack of enforcement...especially within the city limits.

The police should've rounded up a few perpetrators and locked their arse up for the night.

Do the same for Old Year's Night as well...after all we don't want anyone playing the 'discrimination' card...do we?

ya quite right, but we ring in the new year at midnight, we doh ring in davali.
that being said, my dog is still scared at new years and i still cant get a good night's rest post midnight. They should monitor the types they sell, I sear it was like small bombs going off behind meh wall, I was only waiting for one to end up over meh wall for an excuse to go out the road and act like a #$%@.
i mustbe getting old or yutes getting more annoying.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 14th, 2012, 7:43 am

Had a jackarse member of the TTDF along with a group of little boys bursting bamboo on my street for the past couple nights. The police actually came but I guess they don't know about actually getting out of the van and issuing warnings or rounding up children and sending them home. There needs to be an outright BAN on fireworks in residential areas, anybody who wants to set off fireworks designate an area in the neighbourhood savannah and let them do it there. I think more people need to lose limbs or get burned up from the indiscriminate use for this sheit to be taken seriously

Centric

Postby Centric » November 14th, 2012, 7:45 am

There should be a law about this..

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 14th, 2012, 7:48 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Had a jackarse member of the TTDF along with a group of little boys bursting bamboo on my street for the past couple nights. The police actually came but I guess they don't know about actually getting out of the van and issuing warnings or rounding up children and sending them home. There needs to be an outright BAN on fireworks in residential areas, anybody who wants to set off fireworks designate an area in the neighbourhood savannah and let them do it there. I think more people need to lose limbs or get burned up from the indiscriminate use for this sheit to be taken seriously

Think also about the older folks and little babies trying to catch a lil rest.
Many dogs have ran away and gotten killed/damaged because of this, i know the average trini doh care bout animals eh but if happens to yours you will know.

Postby Les Bain » November 14th, 2012, 7:48 am

Don't appreciate that stupidness in the least. I was still hearing fireworks and "fireworks" after midnight.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 14th, 2012, 7:52 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Had a jackarse member of the TTDF along with a group of little boys bursting bamboo on my street for the past couple nights. The police actually came but I guess they don't know about actually getting out of the van and issuing warnings or rounding up children and sending them home. There needs to be an outright BAN on fireworks in residential areas, anybody who wants to set off fireworks designate an area in the neighbourhood savannah and let them do it there. I think more people need to lose limbs or get burned up from the indiscriminate use for this sheit to be taken seriously

Think also about the older folks and little babies trying to catch a lil rest.
Many dogs have ran away and gotten killed/damaged because of this, i know the average trini doh care bout animals eh but if happens to yours you will know.

Years ago when my pops was still alive, that sheit used to mess him up, high blood pressure/ heart disease patient :x , the sad thing is if I went out with cutlass and start sharing planass and chop, I would be in the wrong. Up to today there is a spent rocket from when one of those little criminals in training was playing the fool on Independence night.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 14th, 2012, 8:20 am

i blame the parents...

Postby sharkman121 » November 14th, 2012, 8:26 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:i mustbe getting old or yutes getting more annoying.

thought this same thing about myself last night.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 14th, 2012, 8:27 am

worst is some of them is deliberately doing it to scare people and animals , saw in prysal last night a group throwing scratch bombs in traffic. When i stopped and jump out they scatter.

Postby turbosingh » November 14th, 2012, 8:28 am

Always thought Divali supposed to be a peaceful time!

Postby AllTrac » November 14th, 2012, 8:30 am

sharkman121 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:i mustbe getting old or yutes getting more annoying.

thought this same thing about myself last night.

same here

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 14th, 2012, 8:32 am

only time it was peaceful was during the SoE when fireworks was banned - that was the best divali ever

Postby pioneer » November 14th, 2012, 8:41 am

I wish these fools could blow themselves up, the papers need some funny headlines.

I saw some place on fire lastnight though, in the tacariqua/eldorado area.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 14th, 2012, 8:48 am

Strangely in my hood, by 10pm thing lock off and errrbody just chilling.

Postby DVSTT » November 14th, 2012, 9:18 am

scratch bomb getting thrown on the pavement where people and children walking. Idk why these chiren so dotish! Police should lock them in a cell n throw scratch bomb on them!

Postby foss » November 14th, 2012, 9:22 am

civic minded wrote:worst is some of them is deliberately doing it to scare people and animals , saw in prysal last night a group throwing scratch bombs in traffic. When i stopped and jump out they scatter.

Postby sharkman121 » November 14th, 2012, 9:23 am

scratch bomb thrown under my car while driving...swear i woulda clout up somebody chile last nite.

Have some bomb now bussin 10 times louder than them regular scratch bomb i know.

Postby rfari » November 14th, 2012, 9:29 am

I was driving thru malabar last night and see a hoodrat almost bun up she weave with a dollar rocket. It end up falling on the drive way and shoot off across the road. And it was a big gleb gleb for dem

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » November 14th, 2012, 9:34 am

as OP said....give an inch...

when we were young...errr younger, lil fun snaps, starlight and scratch bomb was the thing, even that was highly irritating and scary to older folks and animals, no one policed these things till it get to the point where for years now we have tents set up on the streets selling fireworks of who knows what strength...and I believe these are still illegal

the sad thing is that when someone's child dies from home used fireworks gone wrong and they "suddenly" realize it gone out of hand then they'll decide to enforce the laws...a la squatting, speeding, animal owner responsibility etc etc etc

Postby cinco » November 14th, 2012, 9:40 am

are fireworks even LEGAL???

Postby turbosingh » November 14th, 2012, 9:46 am

cinco wrote:are fireworks even LEGAL???

I believe anything under 500grams are legal for consumer fireworks!

Postby nemisis » November 14th, 2012, 10:01 am

What you need to do is hire a lil hooligan to scratch bomb all youth in your street after 10. You can find a box of scratch bomb at most Chinese groceries around that time of the year

Postby eliteauto » November 14th, 2012, 10:10 am

do you all know residents in POS had almost 2 weeks of nightly fireworks courtesy of the Gov't during the weeks leading up to Independence Day? If it's condoned at the highest levels and sold at the lowest levels what do you expect? The ease of accessibility means that from now till prob Jan 2 we're gonna get it

Postby sliderz1 » November 14th, 2012, 10:35 am

dogs were in a bad state yesterday. will need to prepare for old/new year's noisefest :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 14th, 2012, 10:37 am

sliderz1 wrote:dogs were in a bad state yesterday. will need to prepare for old/new year's noisefest :|

So wait, you didn't prepare your dogs for yesterday?

Postby TRAE » November 14th, 2012, 10:50 am

yeah i think they yutes getting stupider... saw one throw a scratch bomb in a man van, homeboy do a handbrake stop and jump out on the youths who btw were already running up di road

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 14th, 2012, 10:52 am

And yet Everynight there are Ignorant idiots who drive up and down residential neighbourhoods at ALL hours, even after 1 AM with their stereo systems BASS just as friggign loud as fireworks, and police are clueless and dumbfounded as to how to effectively deal with them.
I swear all these kants that driving with their stereo so loudly have Gonorrhea in their mouths and ears.
They are a frigging nuisance to neighbourhoods and i would welcome the day when the average citizen can uphold the law and stop them with, police and judgment enforcing on the side of policing Resident.

Postby stev » November 14th, 2012, 10:54 am

there is no way on hell you getting people to stop d noise making at 8pm....it is just impossible

both Divali and Old years.