How much you like wild meat?

netsket

How much you like wild meat?

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 9:14 am

As an informed community and a nation as a whole, I think we need to stop patronizing these hunters to save our wildlife for future generations to enjoy. I have stopped eating wild meat on a conservation basis for some time now. I hope more people can as well. There are so many other types of meat I cant see why a person would want to risk the future existence of our natural wildlife for one meal.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ganga__Wildlife_on_the_brink_of_extinction-188770341.html
Ganga: Wildlife on the brink of extinction
By Innis Francis innis.francis@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 28, 2013 at 9:55 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 29, 2013 at 7:58 AM ECT

MORE than 10,000 hunters purchase hunting permits from the Forestry Division's Wildlife Section each year and the estimated value of the game meat is in the tens of millions of dollars.

This was one of the disclosures made in the Draft National Wildlife Policy that is now out for comment.

Yesterday, a public consultation on the policy was held at the National Academy for the Performing Arts south campus, in San Fernando.

The function was addressed by Environment and Water Resources Minister Ganga Singh who said despite superficial amendments to the Conservation of Wildlife Act, there continues to be a deterioration of the country's wildlife resources.

He said, "growing population pressures, industrialisation and unsustainable utilisation of the country's biological resources have resulted in the significant deterioration of the natural environment."

Singh said because of the high biological diversity of the country within a small geographic area, relatively small incremental losses in natural areas can have serious impacts on the ecosystem.

He said that many have noted the decline in some wildlife species, and it was now imperative that a policy be developed to sustainably manage the country's wildlife resources.

Yesterday's discussion included the protection of threatened wildlife species and the maintaining of viable populations of native wildlife species.

Join me we can make a difference together.

Re: How much you like wild meat?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2013, 9:16 am

cyah help yuh dey nah op...love d meat

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 9:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:cyah help yuh dey nah op...love d meat

k i understand. but when asked what it tastes like, what do you say? chicken? lamb? beef? :wink:

u really cant like something sooo much that you would wish it extinct :|
Last edited by netsket on January 29th, 2013, 9:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 29th, 2013, 9:21 am

A lot but won't be buying any. the local wildlife population is too small to recover in the closed season.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2013, 9:23 am

netsket wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:cyah help yuh dey nah op...love d meat

k i understand. but when asked what it tastes like, what do you say? chicken? lamb? beef? :wink:

u really cant like something sooo much that you would wish it extinct :|

would agree with you here though.yes the meat does tatse good,but to the point of extinction,nah boy.

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 9:24 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:A lot but won't be buying any. the local wildlife population is too small to recover in the closed season.

what closed season? people hunt normal during this period. and this has been going on for years.

so you can only imagine what happening to our wildlife numbers.

please stand up and protect the dwindling numbers.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2013, 9:25 am

netsket wrote:
.:PROZAC:.. wrote:A lot but won't be buying any. the local wildlife population is too small to recover in the closed season.

what closed season? people hunt normal during this period. and this has been going on for years.

so you can only imagine what happening to our wildlife numbers.

as far as I know men hunt manicou outa season.I don't think it's classed as wild meat,it's a pest.

please stand up and protect the dwindling numbers.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2013, 9:25 am

Ah Neva Eat ah Wild Meat Yet!!! :mrgreen:

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 9:27 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Ah Neva Eat ah Wild Meat Yet!!! :mrgreen:

congrats, I wish I could say that as well :(

but honestly yea i does see it and want to eat it too but I does tell myself I need to stand up for something that I really believe in. even worse is the guilt I feel after eating it. :oops:

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 29th, 2013, 9:30 am

Buddy I grew up in Barrackpore, generations of hunters. wild meat was pretty normal but I can say for fact there are hunters that follow the season rules. Then there are those that hunt throughout. The high price of meat and scarcity is a vicious cycle. What's the local ministry whose purview this falls under, fisheries? Well they really need to do something. Almost enforce a tag system as to how much you;re allowed to and a much shorter season.

Postby rfari » January 29th, 2013, 9:32 am

OP, as with everything, there needs to be moderation. And it will go a long way to enforce existing laws.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 29th, 2013, 9:33 am

i never eat wild meat and never plan to

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 9:40 am

I appreciate the comments. Although they may be true, the fact remains that we are a lawlesss society and enforcement is little to non-existent look at our police force and crime. My appeal is based on simple supply and demand economics. The less we demand the greater the supply. Those who can and are willing to take a stand please do cause there are many who won't :(

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 9:43 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:i never eat wild meat and never plan to

Great. So that makes only 3 of us. Not too late to make a new year resolution :mrgreen:

Postby turbosingh » January 29th, 2013, 9:46 am

BTW most off the wild meat you see on sale are actually from Venezuela!Very few are from our Forests

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 29th, 2013, 9:50 am

Is that because , they can't literally find game locally any more?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » January 29th, 2013, 9:52 am

netsket wrote:I appreciate the comments. Although they may be true, the fact remains that we are a lawlesss society and enforcement is little to non-existent look at our police force and crime. My appeal is based on simple supply and demand economics. The less we demand the greater the supply. Those who can and are willing to take a stand please do cause there are many who won't :(

Are you going to any of the public consultations on the new Draft Wildlife Policy? This would be the correct forum to voice your concerns and suggestions. As another member indicated there are people that hunt throughout the year and with the little or no enforcement it is in fact a free for all. I think the hunting season should be closed for at least three to five years but if the illegal hunting is not curtailed somehow it will be a waste of time to be honest. As for the "dwindling" wildlife theory, this country has seen its fair decline in certain species but the main ones that are hunted i.e. agouti, lappe and deer are very abundant in certain areas. A ban on the hunting would only serve to increase the numbers further.

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 9:54 am

turbosingh wrote:BTW most off the wild meat you see on sale are actually from Venezuela!Very few are from our Forests

Yea das what the hunters & buyers say :|

Sabot wrote:
netsket wrote:I appreciate the comments. Although they may be true, the fact remains that we are a lawlesss society and enforcement is little to non-existent look at our police force and crime. My appeal is based on simple supply and demand economics. The less we demand the greater the supply. Those who can and are willing to take a stand please do cause there are many who won't :(

Are you going to any of the public consultations on the new Draft Wildlife Policy? This would be the correct forum to voice your concerns and suggestions. As another member indicated there are people that hunt throughout the year and with the little or no enforcement it is in fact a free for all. I think the hunting season should be closed for at least three to five years but if the illegal hunting is not curtailed somehow it will be a waste of time to be honest. As for the "dwindling" wildlife theory, this country has seen its fair decline in certain species but the main ones that are hunted i.e. agouti, lappe and deer are very abundant in certain areas. A ban on the hunting would only serve to increase the numbers further.

my point exactly :|

Wat is the saying about fishermen and their fish again?

Maybe you can request some type of genetic testing before purchasing.
Last edited by netsket on January 29th, 2013, 10:01 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby nemisis » January 29th, 2013, 9:54 am

how much of your peeps eat wild meat net?? alluh so does abuse the resource till it ready to collapse then cry conservation after alluh belly full. i don't know anyone who hunts off season so i can't say they do, you stated it as fact so i assume for years you have been reporting the individuals you know off to the relevant authorities ent?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 29th, 2013, 9:58 am

I don't eat it....I don't support it.

Postby Greypatch » January 29th, 2013, 10:00 am

what is needed is proper enforcement of the law by rangers (some are more corrupt than out of season hunters)

Also a 2-3 year ban on hunting to let the stock grow and build back.

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 10:01 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I don't eat it....I don't support it.

That makes 4 of us :grouphug:

nemisis wrote:how much of your peeps eat wild meat net?? alluh so does abuse the resource till it ready to collapse then cry conservation after alluh belly full. i don't know anyone who hunts off season so i can't say they do, you stated it as fact so i assume for years you have been reporting the individuals you know off to the relevant authorities ent?

i can speak for myself. I dont. My friends do and they respect that I dont and know why. As I said I have been doing it for some time. Personal attacks and your tone demonstrates that you are not willing to, so just dont. We who are willing will protect it for you and your future to enjoy.

you really think the people you know will tell you they breaking the law and hunting off season? google and enlighten yourself of the facts.

Greypatch wrote:what is needed is proper enforcement of the law by rangers (some are more corrupt than out of season hunters)

Also a 2-3 year ban on hunting to let the stock grow and build back.

sadly there will still be hunters and buyers

Postby TRAE » January 29th, 2013, 10:17 am

netsket upfr with you sir, it have hunting season ---- we go blaze pot normal normal

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 29th, 2013, 10:24 am

What really grinds my gears is what they do to those poor iguanas they tie up alive and sell at the side of the road.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 29th, 2013, 10:33 am

Wild Meat Could Never Be Extinct... Thats Why There Is A Hunting Season... After The Season Close The Animals Have Time To Mate etc.. Plus, Real Hunters Go For The Males NOT The Females... One Time Me And My Cousin Saw A Manicou Up A Mango Tree But When We Flash The Light It Had A Pouch With Babies Inside So We Left It... Iguana On The Other Hand Does Have Eggs Inside Of It And I Hear Alot Of People Talking About How The Eggs Does Taste Good... I Never Had It Though...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » January 29th, 2013, 10:38 am

The thing is that there are nine game wardens to serve the entire country. They recently hired 300 or so honorary game wardens (they get a stipend). I am yet to see one game warden in the forest in my last 14 years of hunting. Also we have hunters both legal and otherwise who abuse the sport by really pressuring the animals. What will you do with 14 agouti? Some men catch that and more in a day. Ive seen it first hand. Then there are others who go the entire season with only three animals and are quite content with that. The key is to strike a balance.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 29th, 2013, 10:42 am

alota people dont abide by the hunting rules hunting animals like if a maching spitting out a thousand every minute all the time without giving wildlife proper time to reproduce obv that can lead to extinction..sad thing is action would only be taken when a species is at an all time low and at that point it might be too late also agree with skanky i mean is one thing to hunt but no need to make wateva it is suffer like that

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » January 29th, 2013, 10:46 am

poor animal blood ah runnnn.....

Postby Dizzy28 » January 29th, 2013, 10:59 am

-Roach- wrote:Wild Meat Could Never Be Extinct... Thats Why There Is A Hunting Season... After The Season Close The Animals Have Time To Mate etc.. Plus, Real Hunters Go For The Males NOT The Females... One Time Me And My Cousin Saw A Manicou Up A Mango Tree But When We Flash The Light It Had A Pouch With Babies Inside So We Left It... Iguana On The Other Hand Does Have Eggs Inside Of It And I Hear Alot Of People Talking About How The Eggs Does Taste Good... I Never Had It Though...

Tell that to the Dodo bird, Caribbean Monk seal etc.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2013, 11:03 am

-Roach- wrote:Wild Meat Could Never Be Extinct... Thats Why There Is A Hunting Season... After The Season Close The Animals Have Time To Mate etc.. Plus, Real Hunters Go For The Males NOT The Females... One Time Me And My Cousin Saw A Manicou Up A Mango Tree But When We Flash The Light It Had A Pouch With Babies Inside So We Left It... Iguana On The Other Hand Does Have Eggs Inside Of It And I Hear Alot Of People Talking About How The Eggs Does Taste Good... I Never Had It Though...

when curried,it does 8-)