Business places writing down your ID info with credit card p

crazychinee

Business places writing down your ID info with credit card p

Postby crazychinee » February 17th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Spoke to a colleague of mine who had it done at a price plaza restaurant today.

Can a business legitimately tell you after they swipe your card, and you sign the front that they are now copying your ID/DP info for 'security'/ on the bank of the merchant copy?

I had this happen to me at a Trincity Mall Supermarket a few months ago and made a huge stink about it. They suddenly 'changed their procedure' after this.

Re: Business places writing down your ID info with credit ca

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 8:59 pm

tell dem no

If dey rate up

Ask dem if dey enno who you is, take yuh ting and walk out like ah dan

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2013, 9:12 pm

maybe it's proof of due diligence that they checked the persons id with the CC transaction?

Postby r3iXmann » February 17th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Happened to me at a restaurant in price plaza on Tuesday as well.

VexXx Dogg wrote:maybe it's proof of due diligence that they checked the persons id with the CC transaction?

Could be. I noted that everyone is more diligent about cc checks these days

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 9:44 pm

They can ask for ID but never copy it.

Report them to your credit card company.

Postby wagonrunner » February 17th, 2013, 10:48 pm

all they copy is the # on whatever ID. be it DP / ID / etc.

Postby javishm » February 17th, 2013, 11:34 pm

idk if its some sheit from the bank :S

saw it a couple of places recently (royal bank machines)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2013, 11:38 pm

I've had the cashier ask for ID and then write down the DP, PP or ID number alone on the merchant copy of the bill. Not only in T&T but other countries too. No worries there. Not like it's super difficult to get that info on me elsewhere and it won't help them with much.

If they ask to make a photocopy of your ID then that could be cause for real concern.

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » February 18th, 2013, 12:02 am

Had the same experience today in pricemart! Cashier wrote the dp # on d merchant copy of the reciept.

Postby equipped2ripp » February 18th, 2013, 12:09 am

SuperPharm does it as well

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 18th, 2013, 12:47 am

neocyst wrote:Had the same experience today in pricemart! Cashier wrote the dp # on d merchant copy of the reciept.

thats a usual thing...

where allyuh living?....SOUTH?....

nyways i dont have a problem with it cause they are simply ensuring that the user of the cc is the owner of it...

its just a security procedure......

those slips are thrown away after a while as well.......

who cares about your DP # anyway......

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » February 18th, 2013, 12:58 am

and the South jokes continue........

Postby eliteauto » February 18th, 2013, 1:03 am

neocyst wrote:and the South jokes continue........

U South Brah?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 18th, 2013, 5:43 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've had the cashier ask for ID and then write down the DP, PP or ID number alone on the merchant copy of the bill. Not only in T&T but other countries too. No worries there. Not like it's super difficult to get that info on me elsewhere and it won't help them with much.

If they ask to make a photocopy of your ID then that could be cause for real concern.
I've never had any merchant , anywhere in the world copy down my ID/PP/DP information for a CC purchase.Actually..I can rarely ever remember being asked to show my identification when making purchases.

What is of concern for me, is that if someone copies down your ID # they now have your date of birth.
that's name..ID #, DOB , and address if they remember well.

I had it done to me at a certain merchant that terminated 5 workers a week before for CC fraud on clients accounts. When I asked the manager how is copying down my ID information on the back of my receipt going to prevent their workers from stealing my information..he couldn't answer.

From what I understand, once the back of your CC is signed, and it matches the signature on the receipt there is no need for ID, far less to write it down.Mastercard/visa will honor any fraudulent claim by the bank...once the signatures match.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 18th, 2013, 5:46 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
neocyst wrote:Had the same experience today in pricemart! Cashier wrote the dp # on d merchant copy of the reciept.

thats a usual thing...

where allyuh living?....SOUTH?....

nyways i dont have a problem with it cause they are simply ensuring that the user of the cc is the owner of it...

its just a security procedure......

those slips are thrown away after a while as well.......

who cares about your DP # anyway......

So they can't do it just by looking?When they do that I tell them show me a sign that tells me they can copy down my personal information, bring their manager and refund my transaction.
SOmeone need to explain to me how doing this not encouraging more potential fraud.

https://www.privacyrights.org/ar/Alert-FS15.htm

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 18th, 2013, 5:51 am

equipped2ripp wrote:SuperPharm does it as well

Looks like all these things are branch specific, never happened to me there.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 18th, 2013, 6:13 am

crazychinee wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've had the cashier ask for ID and then write down the DP, PP or ID number alone on the merchant copy of the bill. Not only in T&T but other countries too. No worries there. Not like it's super difficult to get that info on me elsewhere and it won't help them with much.

I've never had any merchant , anywhere in the world copy down my ID/PP/DP information for a CC purchase.Actually..I can rarely ever remember being asked to show my identification when making purchases.

What is of concern for me, is that if someone copies down your ID # they now have your date of birth.
that's name..ID #, DOB , and address if they remember well.

I had it done to me at a certain merchant that terminated 5 workers a week before for CC fraud on clients accounts. When I asked the manager how is copying down my ID information on the back of my receipt going to prevent their workers from stealing my information..he couldn't answer.

From what I understand, once the back of your CC is signed, and it matches the signature on the receipt there is no need for ID, far less to write it down.Mastercard/visa will honor any fraudulent claim by the bank...once the signatures match.

Well clearly their not doing their job, most merchants/businesses have signs up stating that ID must be presented when making CC purchases

Postby pioneer » February 18th, 2013, 6:32 am

not affected really, I never use my card locally.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » February 18th, 2013, 6:38 am

My only concern with the photocopying of driving licenses with regard to CC transactions is that anyone with access to the information collected could very easily call the corresponding bank's credit card center and pose as the card holder.

abbow

Postby abbow » February 18th, 2013, 7:02 am

identity theft is very real...its only a matter of time, if not already, that it starts happening here...

and everyone knows how well informed and helpful our protective service providers can be....

be smart, the less information (esp electronic) you give anyone in this day and age the better off you are..

cashier at XX store knows bank teller, bank teller knows your transactions, security guard at the bank knows your movements....

put the pieces together

snatman

Postby snatman » February 18th, 2013, 7:43 am

like is only now you have credit card or what?
is decades now merchants writing down id#
if it making cc transactions safer, wot the hell there is to complain about? you making a stink cuz d ppl trying to protect u and dem?

crazychinee wrote:Spoke to a colleague of mine who had it done at a price plaza restaurant today.

Can a business legitimately tell you after they swipe your card, and you sign the front that they are now copying your ID/DP info for 'security'/ on the bank of the merchant copy?

I had this happen to me at a Trincity Mall Supermarket a few months ago and made a huge stink about it. They suddenly 'changed their procedure' after this.

Postby nemisis » February 18th, 2013, 9:25 am

All this beat up, if it bothering you and they try too do it tell them no, and pay with linx..

Postby S_2NR » February 18th, 2013, 9:28 am

notsureifOPreach

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2013, 10:02 am

you are worried about a cashier but you are giving your entire identity AND access to your money to a teller working in the bank without batting an eyelid

that teller could have been a cashier yesterday.

If you're going to be paranoid then don't use banks or credit cards and keep your money at home.

Postby crazybalhead » February 18th, 2013, 10:04 am

Wow! I'm not sure if I should get a Credit Card now.

Postby r3iXmann » February 18th, 2013, 10:50 am

snatman wrote:like is only now you have credit card or what?
is decades now merchants writing down id#

nope...i only noted this happening recently

some places before didnt even use to check the ID

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » February 18th, 2013, 11:07 am

but what is the risk of this being done? i understand identity theft but its not a social security number which discloses bank account information of an individual
at most i see only personal information name address DOB being obtained from an ID number

Postby toyolink » February 18th, 2013, 11:07 am

If you think requests for ID infor. is bad,I remember in the early days merchants used to take an imprint of CC.
Seriously,request for ID verification is not only to protect merchant but also card owner (observe I didn't say card holder) against fraud/stolen card sit.
Now with the new cards requiring pins these requests should be lessening.

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2013, 12:15 pm

pricesmart always does this tho, they write down the id card/dp number on their copy of the receipt

i guess its if you turn around and say that you didn't make a purchase, they would have a copy of the id card/dp number that was presented with the purchase was made.

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2013, 12:25 pm

toyolink wrote:If you think requests for ID infor. is bad,I remember in the early days merchants used to take an imprint of CC..

they still do this abroad though, had it done in perfumania in miami and different stores in panama/china