T&T in top ten unfriendly tourist destinations

IdleMind2504

T&T in top ten unfriendly tourist destinations

Postby IdleMind2504 » March 15th, 2013, 8:43 am

TRINIDAD and Tobago has been named among the top ten least tourist-friendly nations in the world, according to the World Economic Forum's "Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Report" for 2013.

This country was ranked the eighth least-tourist-friendly destination on the planet.

Under the theme "Reducing Barriers to Economic Growth and Job Creation", The Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report 2013 assessed 140 economies worldwide, based on the extent to which they are putting in place the factors and policies to make it attractive to develop the travel and tourism sector, the World Economic Forum's website, www.weforum.org, stated on Wednesday.

The countries were ranked according to 14 pillars, including safety and security, health and hygiene, and natural resources.

"The WEF's Travel and Tourism Report tosses around a lot of numbers as it tries to rank the success of the tourist industry in every nation on Earth, but the numbers that prove most interesting are the measures of "affinity for travel and tourism", which chart various peoples' attitudes toward foreigners within the context of tourism's economic impact on their countries," an article in the Huffington Post website stated on Wednesday.

"By levelling the playing ground—the "affinity" score doesn't take into account whether there is anything in a country actually worth visiting— the report gives a rare view into which countries actually care about the tourists they attract," the article stated.

"And the countries that rank at the bottom for "affinity" aren't all war-torn or sub-Saharan. A Caribbean beach destination and a European power are among the 20 worst performers," the Huffington Post observed.

The "Caribbean beach destination" referred to was Trinidad and Tobago.

Out of the 140 countries ranked, Trinidad and Tobago placed 133.

On the other end of the spectrum, Barbados placed second in the same category. Jamaica was 27th. Lebanon was ranked number one while Venezuela ranked last.

Haiti was ranked 135 in the affinity for travel and tourism category and was therefore the sixth least tourist-friendly nation in the world.

The top ten least tourist-friendly nations were: Venezuela, Bolivia, the Russian Federation, Algeria, Pakistan, Haiti, Chad, Trinidad and Tobago, Kuwait and Sierra Leone.

Of the 14 categories considered, this country's highest placing was 13 out of 140 for "price competitiveness in the travel and tourism industry".

In terms of "safety and security", the country ranked 105 out of 140.

The Express was unable to reach Tourism Minster Stephen Cadiz for a comment on the country's top-ten ranking for being a least tourist-friendly nation on Wednesday.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/T_T_in_top_ten_unfriendly_tourist_destinations-198379621.html

Re: T&T in top ten unfriendly tourist destinations

Postby turbosingh » March 15th, 2013, 9:14 am

Yuh don't say!

ztune

Postby ztune » March 15th, 2013, 9:17 am

this is so obvious, it can be called a repost.

Postby black start » March 15th, 2013, 9:20 am

remember the white dude who was robbed for the carnival?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 15th, 2013, 9:22 am

i would say only Trinidad unfreiendly. i dus recommend ppl to visit tobago instead of sh!tidad. bago ppl so nice n laid back

xtech

Postby xtech » March 15th, 2013, 9:42 am

If we had friendly women we would have ranked higher

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 15th, 2013, 9:48 am

EXODUS wrote:i would say only Trinidad unfreiendly. i dus recommend ppl to visit tobago instead of sh!tidad. bago ppl so nice n laid back

Sat M, zoom rader, UML, tk! frowns upon your shenanigans

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » March 15th, 2013, 10:27 am

xtech wrote:If we had friendly women we would have ranked higher

and now 75 of these friendlier women are facing trial :(

Postby black start » March 15th, 2013, 10:29 am

IdleMind2504 wrote:
xtech wrote:If we had friendly women we would have ranked higher

and now 75 of these friendlier women are facing trial :(

he meant local women :|

Postby Les Bain » March 15th, 2013, 10:31 am

black start wrote:remember the white dude who was robbed for the carnival?

Which one?

Anna J

Postby Anna J » March 15th, 2013, 10:32 am

EXODUS wrote:i would say only Trinidad unfreiendly. i dus recommend ppl to visit tobago instead of sh!tidad. bago ppl so nice n laid back

A Canadian businessman and traveller who fled Tobago last year has created a Web site warning foreigners to stay away from the island. In an article in the Canadian daily newspaper, Metro, 61-year-old Phil Noonan claimed in March 2012 he was attacked by two Tobagonians while staying at a guest house in Buccoo, Tobago.

He said it occurred after he intervened in a fight between a young Tobagonian man and the owner of a restaurant and bar which he often visited. Later that day, Noonan told the paper, the young man and his brother appeared outside his door shouting angrily and threatening to kill him. Three weeks after the incident, Noonan said, he fled the island in fear and frustration.

Since then, he has created a Web site —tntwarning.com—which outlines his many negative experiences on the island and warns tourists about the dangers there. Among issues he outlined were violent crime, poor customer service, high levels of government corruption and inefficiency and indifference among the police.

http://tntwarning.com/

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 15th, 2013, 12:14 pm

He wait three weeks to flee the island.......folly

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2013, 2:03 pm

[UsualDefenders]WELL WORLD ECONOMIC FORUMS IF YUH EH LIKE IT HERE DEN LEAVE[/UsualDefenders]

Postby nemisis » March 15th, 2013, 2:09 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:He wait three weeks to flee the island.......folly

ent

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Meanwhile in Canada

dcom23

Postby dcom23 » March 15th, 2013, 2:24 pm

......where in that report says bottom 10....t&t ranked 84th

*83rd
Last edited by dcom23 on March 15th, 2013, 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nemisis » March 15th, 2013, 2:25 pm

But you on vacation and jumping in altercation with the locals...

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2013, 2:28 pm

nemisis wrote:But you on vacation and jumping in altercation with the locals...

This. I normally find locals are a bunch of animals but snow flake look for whatever he get :lol: Go Switzerland and do dat!

Postby pete » March 15th, 2013, 2:57 pm

*edited*

I didn't read through all the categories, the "affinity" they refer to we did actually rank 133rd, even though overall on our Tourism and Travel competitiveness we were 83rd.

We were actually also second to last on CO2 production per capita.

Postby black start » March 15th, 2013, 3:26 pm

theonly thing good in the express is the comics and classifieds...and that starting to lack too

Postby nemisis » March 15th, 2013, 3:30 pm

Yeah boy the classifieds real disappointing as of recent or I spend too much time in the tuner misc..

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2013, 3:46 pm

but being 80 something eh nothing to talk about :lol:

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2013, 5:44 pm

One guy play fass and mine another mans business,when he get rough up he go put up a site to bad talk the country,well other travellers should do the same when they get rough up in other countries then??

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 15th, 2013, 6:37 pm

this is understandable.....not surprising too...

Postby pete » March 15th, 2013, 6:48 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:this is understandable.....not surprising too...

What's that? The express printing lies to make the government look bad?

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2013, 6:58 pm

I thought the gubment have express house on the lock? How this slip through the cracks?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 15th, 2013, 7:32 pm

pete wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:this is understandable.....not surprising too...

What's that? The express printing lies to make the government look bad?

:roll: errr....guess I should have quoted the original post...dais wah I was concerned with....not surprising that T&T is in top ten etc.....ppl too damn discourteous in this place and I fully agree with the findings......no political thoughts whatsoever except that it damn good for dem woft.......no need to go looking for sheep in this field.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 15th, 2013, 7:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:but being 80 something eh nothing to talk about :lol:

Oh and tell us how well your country did honey booboo?

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2013, 8:23 pm

Probably not that low,
But I think we are a lot lower than we think.

The avg Trini thinks they are friendly, polite people which is totally false.

Go to any fast food place and see if you are greeted with a smile or any form of nice salutation,
Worse yet for any public officer. Excuses will abound for this of course.

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2013, 8:49 pm

pugboy wrote:Probably not that low,
But I think we are a lot lower than we think.

The avg Trini thinks they are friendly, polite people which is totally false.

Go to any fast food place and see if you are greeted with a smile or any form of nice salutation,
Worse yet for any public officer. Excuses will abound for this of course.

How ur expect oui to smile when oui vex we have to work for a living boi