LF: People to die on Mars

Postby stev » March 18th, 2013, 3:15 am

Wanted: People willing to die on Mars

Mars One co-founder tells CBC about its proposed one-way trip to the Red Planet

The man behind the private space project dubbed Mars One is looking for people to travel to Mars, but he's not offering a return ticket.

"The technology to get humans to Mars and keep them alive there exists," Bas Lansdorp told Day 6 host Brent Bambury in an interview that aired this week on CBC Radio.

"The technology to bring humans from Mars back to Earth simply does not exist yet."

Lansdorp said he's looking for people who are utterly dependable, good in groups and "at their best when things are at their worst."

The never-to-return explorers will require eight years of training, and the search starts this year.

The flight is scheduled to leave in Sept. 2022.

Complete Conversation (Audio Only) is at the source:

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/story/2013 ... binator%29

So would you go?

Re: LF: People to die on Mars

Postby joker » March 18th, 2013, 3:27 am

nah i did enough volunteer work for habitat for humanity ... no pun intended

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 18th, 2013, 3:32 am

The only thing this is missing is the reality show.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 18th, 2013, 7:47 am

where do i sign up?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 18th, 2013, 8:36 am

wha- why look opportunity
Last edited by RIPEBREDFRUIT on April 3rd, 2013, 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nemisis » March 18th, 2013, 9:08 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:quick, sign up the ENTIRE BEETHAM, id love to send them ALL and when conditions worsten on mars id like to see them try and light tyres and burn them there to protest.

you sound like a broken record, they on your mind so much and it have businessmen and politicians that screwing you over even worst....

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » March 18th, 2013, 9:26 am

Will there be internet?

Postby Sky » March 18th, 2013, 9:27 am

Anna J

Postby Anna J » March 18th, 2013, 9:45 am

RipeBreadfruit has a valid point though.

Why not send some prisoners like what they did to Australia?
They certainly wouldn't require 8 years of training, and who cares if they arrive safely or not?

Postby Sky » March 18th, 2013, 9:59 am

^^The man paying for their trip?
And what you think the training is for? It's to study mars more.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 18th, 2013, 10:04 am

Sky wrote:^^The man paying for their trip?
And what you think the training is for? It's to study mars more.

Doesnt an ALIEN lifeform deserve to be treated like an Alien?

im sure they would be much happier there anywayz

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 18th, 2013, 10:34 am

Anna J wrote:RipeBreadfruit has a valid point though.

Why not send some prisoners like what they did to Australia?
They certainly wouldn't require 8 years of training, and who cares if they arrive safely or not?

This is a good idea. maybe they should re-think the purpose of the trip

Postby nemisis » March 18th, 2013, 10:42 am

^^^So let me get this straight send them to mars to die is your solution when murder or death penalty right here cheaper, easier and chances are better.

When they start shipping out terrorists hide yo hijab

Postby noshownogo » March 18th, 2013, 10:45 am

Can't wait to learn the backgrounds of the people volunteering for this

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 18th, 2013, 11:20 am

nemisis wrote:^^^So let me get this straight send them to mars to die is your solution when murder or death penalty right here cheaper, easier and chances are better.

When they start shipping out terrorists hide yo hijab

Just thought it was a good option to deal with overcrowding issues. Sure its expensive but not for those facing death penalty obviously.

I'll still wear my hijab man..whatever happens, happens :)

SweeP

Postby SweeP » March 18th, 2013, 11:48 am

dey cud ah just put "free trip to mars" !!!

Postby Sky » March 18th, 2013, 12:24 pm

This is for science. Allyuh stop bein retarded nah...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2013, 12:58 pm

Sky wrote:This is for science. Allyuh stop bein retarded nah...
I was wondering when some common sense would enter the thread

this trip is for RESEARCH and setting up a colony that could one day accept life from earth moving back and forth as we do today regularly on the International Space Station.

If they sent prisoners to set up the space station what do you think would have happened to it?

besides you really want to spend Trillions of dollars on prisoners or as a solution to overcrowding?

common sense really not so common :lol:

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 18th, 2013, 1:02 pm

well duh....i know its for research. Just saying...space is good for criminals...i wasnt taking this thread seriously

Postby nemisis » March 18th, 2013, 1:07 pm

^^^ don't water it because it fall in your garden lol

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 18th, 2013, 1:10 pm

hey...this isnt twitter, stop following me around

Postby nemisis » March 18th, 2013, 1:13 pm

Don't make yourself such an easy target

Postby stev » March 18th, 2013, 1:15 pm

mars gravity is different and the radiation from the sun is deadly unless u living under the surface or in a radiation shielded hut (not designed as yet).

i doh know how d hell they gonna deal with these problems. lol

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » March 18th, 2013, 3:39 pm

Finally! An alternative for people who don't want to live on this planet anymore.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 18th, 2013, 3:55 pm

Hahahaha I will go ...get away from some of the ashhhole drivers and ignorant ppl on this planet

Postby crazybalhead » March 18th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Sky wrote:This is for science. Allyuh stop bein retarded nah...
I was wondering when some common sense would enter the thread

this trip is for RESEARCH and setting up a colony that could one day accept life from earth moving back and forth as we do today regularly on the International Space Station.

If they sent prisoners to set up the space station what do you think would have happened to it?

besides you really want to spend Trillions of dollars on prisoners or as a solution to overcrowding?

common sense really not so common :lol:

MARS!!! it's the new Australia!!!

Yew guise have such original ideas. Especially ripebredfruit.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 18th, 2013, 4:01 pm

are they paying ?......some ppl may sacrifice themselves so their family would benefit if the money is good.....

Postby black start » March 18th, 2013, 5:51 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:quick, sign up the ENTIRE BEETHAM, id love to send them ALL and when conditions worsten on mars id like to see them try and light tyres and burn them there to protest.

and then they would rob the entire country dry to get morney to go. I like your logic :lol:

Postby Sky » March 18th, 2013, 7:05 pm

black start wrote:

and then they would rob the entire country dry to get morney to go. I like your logic :lol:

And spend where? :?

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » March 18th, 2013, 7:14 pm

Tuner lime?